Libraries and future
89 views | +0 today
Follow
 
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Public Relations & Social Marketing Insight
onto Libraries and future
Scoop.it!

How to Create Picture Ebooks for Kids

How to Create Picture Ebooks for Kids | Libraries and future | Scoop.it

While the KDP Kids’ Book Creator still has a few rough spots (which Amazon is presumably ironing out in response to user feedback), it’s a good start. Those of us who have worked in children’s publishing for years recognized this move for what it was: a game changer.

Just how much has Amazon’s new free software changed the game?

With the release of the Kid’s Book Creator, as well as the Kindle Fire HD Kids Edition tablet, Amazon is investing in illustrated ebooks. And they need content.

So now comes the big question. Are you ready to ride this wave?...


Via Jeff Domansky
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

Something to do with visiting class? Start in the library and continue in the glassroom?

more...
Jill M Roberts's curator insight, March 19, 2015 7:01 PM

Perfect if you have ideas and want to publish children's lit!

Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Karttakeppi
Scoop.it!

Miten interaktiivisten kuvien luominen kehittää monilukutaitoa ja tieto- ja viestintäteknologista osaamista?

Miten interaktiivisten kuvien luominen kehittää monilukutaitoa ja tieto- ja viestintäteknologista osaamista? | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
Interaktiivisten kuvien luominen tukee monilukutaidon kehittymistä mahdollistamalla tekstin, kuvien, videoiden ja äänen yhdistämisen yhtenäiseksi vuorovaikutteiseksi tarinaksi luovuutta ja tvt-taitoja käyttäen.
Via Johanna Hankonen
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Future Ready School Libraries
Scoop.it!

18 Digital Tools and Strategies That Support Students’ Reading and Writing

18 Digital Tools and Strategies That Support Students’ Reading and Writing | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
The tech team in Littleton, Colorado is trying to build self-sufficiency in students by compiling digital tools for reading and writing that students can choose
Via Bookmarking Librarian
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Young Adult Novels
Scoop.it!

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon.

Via BJ Neary
more...
BJ Neary's curator insight, May 18, 2015 7:25 PM

Great fantasy titles like Game of Thrones:) 

Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Future Ready School Libraries
Scoop.it!

JK Rowling's life advice: ten quotes on the lessons of failure

JK Rowling's life advice: ten quotes on the lessons of failure | Libraries and future | Scoop.it

The Harry Potter author’s new book is based on an inspirational speech she gave to Harvard students. Here are some of the best quotes


Via Bookmarking Librarian
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from iGeneration - 21st Century Education (Pedagogy & Digital Innovation)
Scoop.it!

Everything Teachers Need to Know about Evernote (Great Tutorials)

Everything Teachers Need to Know about Evernote (Great Tutorials) | Libraries and future | Scoop.it

Via Tom D'Amico (@TDOttawa)
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Digital Delights - Digital Tribes
Scoop.it!

How to save a web page as a PDF in Safari on your iPad

How to save a web page as a PDF in Safari on your iPad | Libraries and future | Scoop.it

“ This article will show you how to easily convert any website into a PDF on your iPad using the bookmark tool.”


Via Ana Cristina Pratas
more...
Mayra.Loves.Books's curator insight, August 30, 2014 10:52 AM

I really want to learn how to do this.

 

Joaquín Ballester's curator insight, August 30, 2014 6:05 PM

Truco de Safar

Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Future Ready School Libraries
Scoop.it!

To Have Technology or Not Have Technology Is Not The Question | Tech Learning

To Have Technology or Not Have Technology Is Not The Question | Tech Learning | Libraries and future | Scoop.it

The Resource for Education Technology Leaders focusing on K-12 educators.


Via Bookmarking Librarian
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

OR: to have ebook or paper book is not issue -teach READING

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

Libraries.fi: Newsservice

Janika Puolitaival's insight:

What is happening libraries wise - worldwide. Here is comprehensive list for news sources

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

Helsinki Central Library

Helsinki Central Library | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

How to follow news about biggest library project in Finland - new central library in city - and central library for whole southern Finland in fact

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

▶ The Book With No Pictures by B.J. Novak - YouTube

At once perfectly simple and ingeniously imaginative, The Book With No Pictures inspires laughter every time it is opened, creating a warm and joyous experie...
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

This is amazing - how to get kids interested in STORY. Reading aloud matters! Something to try in children story hour - or different book telling for school class? Simple, effective and just amazing

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

YALSA plans Twitter Take Over with partners for 2015 Teen Tech Week™ | News & Press Center

CHICAGO — The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), will turn over its @yalsa Twitter account to a different partner each day of Teen Tech Week, March 8 – 14, 2015.
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

Something to do in Finland, too?

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from School Library Advocacy
Scoop.it!

QR codes – could you use them in your library? « serious fun

QR codes – could you use them in your library? « serious fun | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
Three opinionated school librarians explore library links so you don't have to ... So I've been collecting links for a while to sites with useful information for school libraries on QR codes and am inserting them below.

Via Karen Bonanno
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

Useful and fun tool, many ways to use in libraries too

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from iPads, MakerEd and More in Education
Scoop.it!

Primary pupils becoming video stars in online book reviews - Independent.ie

Primary pupils becoming video stars in online book reviews - Independent.ie | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
It is an innovative way to encourage children to read. Irish primary schoolchildren are becoming book-show presenters and are posting reviews of their favourite novels online.

Via John Evans
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

Children presenting favourite books for other children always always works better than librarians sharing book tips. This is something that should be done even more. Something to develop with local schools?

more...
Sharrock's curator insight, March 5, 2015 11:59 AM

This is a cool idea. 

Kobe Davis's curator insight, April 5, 2015 8:33 PM

This article explains the introduction of a FIS book club in British schools. This website encourages students to read through creation of online book reviews. Students are filmed talking about books they have read and critiquing their characters and plot lines.

 

This way of learning focuses on student learning where “students are active rather than passive recipients of knowledge” (Commander, Ward & Zabrucky, 2012, p. 395) and encourages them to “think more deeply about learning” (Commander, Ward & Zabrucky, 2012, p. 398).

 

I would use this technology in stages 1-3 with books that I have selected as well as books that the student has chosen. Students would be instructed to film their book reviews in pairs and then present these videos to the class. The class would then critically analyse the student’s presentation and perhaps take a vote whether or not they would like to read that book. This would allow students to demonstrate their proficiency in Talking and Listening. It would also allow me as a teacher to be aware of the types of books the students would be interested in.

 

References


Commander, N. E., Ward, T, E., Zabrucky, K, M. (2012). Theory and practice: How filming “learning in the real world” helps students make the connection. Retrieved April 5, 2015 from http://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1000691.pdf

TWCLibrary's curator insight, May 6, 2015 7:29 PM

What a great idea

Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

Helsingissä on suuri nuortenkirjojen hautausmaa – testaa, erotatko hylätyt kirjasarjat nykysuosikeista

Helsingissä on suuri nuortenkirjojen hautausmaa – testaa, erotatko hylätyt kirjasarjat nykysuosikeista | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
Lapset ja nuoret lukevat nykyisin ihan muuta kuin mummien ja kummien tuputtamia kirjoja.
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from iPads, MakerEd and More in Education
Scoop.it!

6 of The Best iPad Apps for Digital Storytelling ~ Educational Technology and Mobile Learning

6 of The Best iPad Apps for Digital Storytelling ~ Educational Technology and Mobile Learning | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
Here are some excellent iPad apps to enhance students creativity through digital storytelling. These are among the best apps teachers have been using with their students to create, narrate, and share stories. Using these apps students will be able to tell their own stories using a variety of multimedia materials that include: images, characters, avatars, photos, audio recordings, video clips and many more. The editing and creation functionalities differ from one app to the other but overall, the process is fairly simple and student friendly:

Via John Evans
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Public Relations & Social Marketing Insight
Scoop.it!

Poetweet: Create a poem from a Twitter name automatically - Fun and creativity

Poetweet: Create a poem from a Twitter name automatically - Fun and creativity | Libraries and future | Scoop.it

Find out if there is poetry in your tweets.


Via Jeff Domansky
more...
Jeff Domansky's curator insight, May 19, 2015 11:08 AM

Poetweet automatically creates a poem from any @Twitter name you enter. It's a whole lot of fun and creativity on your next coffee break. Highly recommended! 10/10

Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Children's Literature - Literatura para a infância
Scoop.it!

2015 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award goes to PRAESA - Radio Sweden

2015 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award goes to PRAESA - Radio Sweden | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
The 2015 laureate of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) for children's and young adult literature is the South African organisation Project for ...

Via Ana Margarida Ramos
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from Karttakeppi
Scoop.it!

OPS 2016 - Kirjastojen ja koulujen yhteistyölle ainutlaatuinen tilaisuus - Kirjastokaista

OPS 2016 - Kirjastojen ja koulujen yhteistyölle ainutlaatuinen tilaisuus - Kirjastokaista | Libraries and future | Scoop.it

“ Vuonna 2016 Suomen peruskouluissa opetetaan uusien suunnitelmien mukaan. Kunnissa ja kouluissa pohditaan parhaillaan, miten opetus tullaan toteuttamaan, mi”


Via Vesa Ilola, Johanna Hankonen
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

First Look Inside The Boston Library's Astonishing, Colorful Renovation

First Look Inside The Boston Library's Astonishing, Colorful Renovation | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
The renovated second floor is sleek, colorful, mod, with lots of sunlight streaming in.
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

How to renovate library space! There i much talk about school room spaces and how they should be changed. Also there some talk about library spaces - mostly related to ebook and no need for old fashioned paper books - but this case shows how much library is focus point for community. And it can look and feel like welcoming space!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

World Book Day: Expert tips to encourage your teens to read - Independent.ie

World Book Day: Expert tips to encourage your teens to read - Independent.ie | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
If you are keen for your children to become bookworms, lead by example and resist the urge to impose your own preferences on them. Invest a little time in helping a teenager find a book
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

OKM - Cross-European survey to measure users’ perceptions of the benefits of ICT in public libraries

OKM - Cross-European survey to measure users’ perceptions of the benefits of ICT in public libraries | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
Users’ perceptions of the benefits of ICT in public libraries in Finland. Final
report. March 2013.

Cross-European survey to measure users’ perceptions of the benefits of ICT in
public libraries. Final report. March 2013.
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

Survey in Europe level - Finland is still going strong but worrying trends in Europe level

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

School Libraries | News & Press Center

School Libraries | News & Press Center | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
The School Libraries section of the 2014 State of America's Libraries Report provides an overview of the top school library trends of the past year.
School libraries are at a critical point: Budget and testing pressures have led to decisions to eliminate or deprofessionalize school libraries, but the increased emphasis on college and career readiness and the integration of technology makes them more critical than ever. School librarians’ collaboration with other educators is key to literacy and imlementation of Common Core State Standards. The American Library Association (ALA) is undertaking an advocacy campaign for school libraries that sets goals in five critical areas.
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

School libraries are at critical point - this is US.  More discussion in Finland is needed about this issue. Libraries are facing cuts everywhere- what is our focus? Public libraries, school libraries or both? What is school library without professional librarian? Store room?

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

Site of the Week | Great Websites for Kids

Site of the Week | Great Websites for Kids | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

Great collection - something to remember when sharing tips for our customers

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janika Puolitaival
Scoop.it!

'It will be catastrophic': Libraries, youth services threatened in Cardiff cuts

'It will be catastrophic': Libraries, youth services threatened in Cardiff cuts | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
Seven libraries and number of youth services revealed to be in the crosshairs of significant cuts proposed by Cardiff council
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

Cuts in libraries seem to be major trend in US and UK. Worldwide, actually. Makes me sad - and mad - free public library is major factor in society: culture, education, business...

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Janika Puolitaival from School Library Advocacy
Scoop.it!

A library without a librarian…is a room

A library without a librarian…is a room | Libraries and future | Scoop.it
What do you think a library is without a librarian? This article looks at this idea in terms of school libraries http://t.co/fkkpvV1gdr

Via Karen Bonanno
Janika Puolitaival's insight:

Human connection is always needed

more...
No comment yet.