Chapelle Saint-Quirin: The secrets of Luxembourg City's chapel in the rock | #Luxembourg #History #Europe | INTELIGENCIA GLOBAL | Scoop.it
Nestled in the Pétrusse Valley, behind leafy trees and in the shadow of the Viaduct lies the Chapelle Saint-Quirin, a small chapel carved into the rocky valley wall.

There are no signs, no brochures and no plaques on site to hint at the name or history of the chapel.

But, the layers of dust and cobwebs covering pews and statues locked inside the barred door and windows let passersby know that it probably hasn’t been used for a while.

Patron saint of Luxembourg

The chapel is named after Saint Quirin of Neuss who was, from 1544 to 1666, the patron saint of Luxembourg Ville. It has been an enclosed chapel since 1355, when the outer wall was built; the bell tower and rooftop were added during restorations in the late 19th Century. Religious uses of the chapel site can be traced back much further, however, as the Luxembourg City Tourist Office claims that the site was originally used by the Romans as an early Christian sanctuary.

 

Learn more / En savoir plus / Mehr erfahren:

 

http://www.scoop.it/t/luxembourg-europe/?&tag=History

 


Via Gust MEES