Young Adult Books
10.6K views | +0 today
Follow
Young Adult Books
The latest news in books for teens and anybody who enjoys reading!
Curated by Eric Bateman
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Teens Review Latest from Joelle Charbonneau, Stephan Pastis, and More

Teens Review Latest from Joelle Charbonneau, Stephan Pastis, and More | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

The young adults at the Kitsap (WA) Regional Library share their thoughts on Joelle Charbonneau’s latest dystopian, Gareth Jones’s time travel adventure, and Stephan Pastis’s newest “Timmy Failure” book.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, Illustrated Edition – in pictures

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, Illustrated Edition – in pictures | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

From the multi-coloured sorting hat, to the sinister Snape to the red glow of Ron’s hair, we revel in Jim Kay’s glorious pictures for the new illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan | SLJ Review

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan | SLJ Review | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Fans of Percy Jackson and “Kane Chronicles” books will not be disappointed in Rick Riordan’s newest series based on Norse mythology, “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard.” 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Hope & Beauty | Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Hope & Beauty | Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Some books take a lot of concentration and thought to parse out, gather meaning and process. Then, there are books like Everything, Everything, whose prose are as smooth as butter.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Characters That Bleed - Guest Post by Jennifer Jenkins

Characters That Bleed - Guest Post by Jennifer Jenkins | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Contributors
Jennifer Jenkins


What makes the perfect protagonist? Is it someone who is such a good person that you wish they were your best friend? Nope.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

One of Us by Jeannie Waudby | SLJ Review | School Library Journal

One of Us by Jeannie Waudby | SLJ Review | School Library Journal | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

WAUDBY, Jeannie. One of Us. 320p. ebook available. Running Pr. Teen. Nov. 2015. Tr $16.95. ISBN 9780762457991.
Gr 7 Up–Fifteen-year-old K has no family and no home. She has been told that her parents died in a bombing orchestrated by the Brotherhood, a radical separatist organization.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Why I love writing dark books for teenagers

Why I love writing dark books for teenagers | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Author (and star of Call the Midwife) Emerald Fennell on her obsession with the darker side of literature – bring on the deranged puppets, unhinged cheerleaders and evil twins!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Teens Review the Latest from Mercedes Lackey, Laura Amy Schlitz, and Roland Smith

Teens Review the Latest from Mercedes Lackey, Laura Amy Schlitz, and Roland Smith | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
From a superhero-themed YA to a sci-fi retelling of Moby Dick, the following titles have the reviewers of the Kitsap (WA) Regional Library YA Book Group buzzing.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Book review: 'Star Wars: Lost Stars' by Claudia Gray - SILive.com

Book review: 'Star Wars: Lost Stars' by Claudia Gray - SILive.com | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

There is something about the book Lost Stars by Claudia Gray that works where many of the recent titles in the Star Wars canon have not.  One thing that is interesting right off the bat is that you will find it in a bookstore's young adult section.  

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

CJ Daugherty :When Are You Going to Write a Real Book? - Huffington Post UK

CJ Daugherty :When Are You Going to Write a Real Book? - Huffington Post UK | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
True young adult fiction is intended, as the name implies, to be read both by adults and those in their late teens. I do not make allowances for my young readers in my writing, and neither do most authors.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Teen/crossover fiction round-up: Teenage kicks in five lively, compelling ... - The Independent

Teen/crossover fiction round-up: Teenage kicks in five lively, compelling ... - The Independent | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Fed up with novels where you never quite know what's going on? Then try a crossover title, where clear narrative still rules and there is normally a resolved ending.
more...
BJ Neary's curator insight, September 13, 2015 7:06 PM

I must read these new titles, they sound awesome, thanks to Eric Bateman for this scoop!

Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Authors Talk About the Teen Transgender Experience | SummerTeen 2015

Authors Talk About the Teen Transgender Experience | SummerTeen 2015 | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Authors Robin Talley, Susan Kuklin, and Alex Gino.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Self-Love In All The Wrong Places - Huffington Post

Self-Love In All The Wrong Places - Huffington Post | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Adolescence should be about more than projecting the perception of perfection--it should be about the messy, all-too-human process of growing up. If not, it runs the risk of the near-future nightmare described in O'Neill's deeply upsetting, essential novel.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

UnBan a Book Week: THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky

UnBan a Book Week: THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Charlie is your average “wallflower” in THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky, but everything changes when he meets some older kids at school. For the first time, he experiences true friends, young love, the glory that is The Rocky Horror Picture Show and some truly difficult aspects of growing up.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

James Dawson: how I stopped hating poetry and became a poet

James Dawson: how I stopped hating poetry and became a poet | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

When teen author James Dawson was growing up he dreaded poetry lessons, but the fuzzy line between songwriting and poetry slowly changed all that – and now he’s finally out of the poetry closet

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | SLJ Review

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | SLJ Review | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Readers of Rowell’s Fangirl (St. Martin’s Griffin, 2013) have already had a glimpse at the world of Simon Snow, but now Rowell turns the full force of her imagination on the Watford School of Magic and those connected to it.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

UnBan a Book Week: THIRTEEN REASONS WHY by Jay Asher

UnBan a Book Week: THIRTEEN REASONS WHY by Jay Asher | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

When Clay finds a package of cassette tapes on his doorstep in Jay Asher’s debut novel THIRTEEN REASONS WHY, he never imagines they’re from Hannah, his late classmate who recently committed suicide. As Clay listens to Hannah outline the 13 people and events that led to her death, you feel the pain, enlightenment, shock and sorrow cutting to his very core.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

SLJ Chats with Teen Author and Bullying Survivor Aija Mayrock

SLJ Chats with Teen Author and Bullying Survivor Aija Mayrock | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

As we enter National Bullying Prevention month, the recent statistics on cyberbullying and teens published by the global YouGov survey of more than 4,700 teenagers from across the world shows how pervasive and destructive bullying can be.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Book to Movie Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

Book to Movie Review: The Martian by Andy Weir | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
I recently saw The Maritan in theaters with my friend Mel. We were both blown away by this incredible movie, and while I could only appreciate the film, Mel read the book and has some great insight into how the movie actually stood up to the book.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Ten Titles Make Longlist for the 2015 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature

Ten Titles Make Longlist for the 2015 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
The National Book Foundation has announced the longlist for the 2015 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

New Zealand Bans YA Title “Into the River”; Imposes Fine for Selling, Sharing Book

New Zealand Bans YA Title “Into the River”; Imposes Fine for Selling, Sharing Book | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Ted Dawe’s YA novel Into the River (Mangakino University Press, 2012) has been temporarily banned throughout New Zealand, and buying or lending the book to others there will lead to a fine.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare – review

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare – review | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
‘Wonderful. Thank you Cassie for another series that made me more than happy and fulfilled’ I’ll be honest my heart is hurting a little bit now I’ve finished the whole of the Infernal Devices series and right now (judge me) I do prefer them over...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Librarian Molly Wetta Curates SLJ’s Banned Books Pinterest Board

Librarian Molly Wetta Curates SLJ’s Banned Books Pinterest Board | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Looking for inspiration in advance of Banned Books Week (BBW), from September 27–October 3? Look no further than School Library Journal’s BBW Pinterest page. Blogger and collection development librarian at the Lawrence Public Library, KS, Molly Wetta has curated SLJ’s board showcasing the annual celebration of censored books and the freedom to read, sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA), National Coalition Against Censorship, Freedom to Read Foundation, among others. 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Symphony for the City of the Dead by M.T. Anderson | SLJ Review

Symphony for the City of the Dead by M.T. Anderson | SLJ Review | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

This ambitious and gripping work is narrative nonfiction at its best.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

David Levithan Inks Four-Book Deal With Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - GalleyCat

David Levithan Inks Four-Book Deal With Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - GalleyCat | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
David Levithan plans to work on two new standalone young adult books and two collaborative books with Rachel Cohn.
more...
No comment yet.