LibraryLinks LiensBiblio
33.7K views | +7 today
Follow
LibraryLinks LiensBiblio
Links for library staff / Liens pour le personnel des bibliothèques
Curated by Robin Illsley
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Rescooped by Robin Illsley from Bibliolecture
Scoop.it!

Pourquoi les garçons lisent-ils moins que les filles?

Pourquoi les garçons lisent-ils moins que les filles? | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Un nouveau rapport alimente le débat sur les différences entre les filles et les garçons face à la lecture...

Via Marie C., Michelle Bourque
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Public Library begins new path for technology and digital initiatives

Public Library begins new path for technology and digital initiatives | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

The scope of Hill's new responsibilities range from "boring library stuff" like cleaning up a dated catalog system to starting a public technology incubator in the library's downtown branch. He will also be tasked with redesigning the system's entire website to make it a more user-friendly dashboard where, eventually, librarians and the public can create blogs and other content.The goal is to help the community create and share their own content, like apps, music, videos and games.

 

-Mary Barnett @ Nooga.com

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

16 reference works you never knew existed

16 reference works you never knew existed | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Some of them are perfect for writers and editors, others are great for people who love bizarre trivia—such as blueprints of television houses.

 

-Laura Hale Brockway @ PR Daily

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Robin Illsley from Je ne suis pas un livre de vampires * Not a book of vampires
Scoop.it!

Les 15 livres à lire avant qu'ils ne soient adaptés au cinéma ! - Nina People

Les 15 livres à lire avant qu'ils ne soient adaptés au cinéma ! - Nina People | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Nina PeopleLes 15 livres à lire avant qu'ils ne soient adaptés au cinéma !Nina PeopleC'est l'été et rien ne vaut un bon livre à lire sur sa serviette de plage. Voici une liste de 15 livres à lire (ou à relire) pendant vos vacances.

Via Murielle Lucie Clément, Michelle Bourque
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Where Has All the Humor Gone in YA Books?

Where Has All the Humor Gone in YA Books? | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Teens watch and love funnymen Stephen Colbert, Jon Stewart, Conan O’Brien, and David Letterman, but there’s a real lack of funny YA books for teens.

 

-Sharon Rawlins @ The Hub, YALSA

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

#JudyBlumeForever . . . Unless You Are a Library

#JudyBlumeForever . . . Unless You Are a Library | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Sadly, students today won’t find the ebook version of Forever in the digital stacks of their libraries. Simon and Schuster refuses to sell their ebooks to libraries for lending. So along with congratulations to @JudyBlume for the e-release of her amazing book, I also have to ask if she is even aware that the electronic version of Forever is forever locked away from libraries. Maybe if Judy Blume, Jenny Han, and other authors start speaking up for their audiences, we can open up more ebook reading. So take to Twitter and share your stories, not only about #JudyBlumeForever, but also about #LibrariesForever.

 

-Christopher Harris @ American Libraries Magazine

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Turn your old iPad into a dedicated e-reader

Turn your old iPad into a dedicated e-reader | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Turning an iPad into a one-trick e-reading pony may seem counter-intuitive. Why limit yourself to just one task, even if that task is as pleasurable as sitting down with a good book?

 

Because, try as you might, you simply can’t ignore the other tantalizing distractions your iPad has to offer, and stripping those out will help you lose yourself in a good read. Because you’ve upgraded to a newer model, and you’re not ready to recycle that old iPad just yet. And—if you happen to use an original iPad—because your device’s future is about to get a lot more limited.

 

-Lex Friedman @ Macworld.com

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Reading Around - Architecture - Domus

Reading Around - Architecture - Domus | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

The lorry operates primarily as an itinerant collection of contemporary art books. However, beyond this use, every centimetre of its 20 square metre surface area is harnessed to maximum effect to achieve true functionality of space. The bookshelves have left their traditional form behind, instead being dismantlable trays floating above the library users, visually crowning the interior space.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Read-alikes: Not Your Parents' Classics, by Ian Chipman | Booklist Online

Read-alikes: Not Your Parents' Classics, by Ian  Chipman | Booklist Online | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Oh sure, the so-called classics have proven the test of time by offering unforgettable characters, story lines, and themes. But you know what? They’re all so very, very old. And on top of that, they haven’t changed a whit in the centuries since they came out. Well, in the spirit of spicing up those musty reading lists, here’s a group of books that, like China Miéville’s Railsea, put a fantastical twist on familiar stories.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Very Pinteresting!: The hot social network is taking educators by storm

Very Pinteresting!: The hot social network is taking educators by storm | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Last January, Sarah Ludwig, a tech coordinator at Hamden Hall Country Day School outside New Haven, CT, started using Pinterest to create boards for her racially and economically diverse group of about 560 preK to 12th graders.

 

Her boards include an illustrated guide to the Dewey Decimal system, examples of how to use Glogster for an assignment, a tutorial on keyboard shortcuts, and a tip sheet on correct punctuation use. She also offers Book Trailers, Programming Ideas, and Booktalking: Spring 2012, so students can have quick access to book-talked titles.

 

-Kate Messner @ The Digital Shift

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Westport Library Unveils New Maker Space

Westport Library Unveils New Maker Space | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Connecticut’s Westport Public Library (WPL) officially launched its new Maker Space with a press conference this week. Contained within a large, open metal structure modeled after early airplane hangars, the new section of the library’s great hall features cutting edge equipment such as a MakerBot 3D printer, and will host presentations and participatory workshops on topics ranging from robotics, to intellectual property rights for inventors, to arts and crafts. “It’s a national trend that you’re going to see sweeping the country, and you’re seeing here in one of the very first places ever,” said WPL director Maxine Bleiweis.

 

-Matt Enis @ The Digital Shift

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Michael Geist - Supreme Court of Canada Stands Up For Fair Dealing in Stunning Sweep of Cases

Michael Geist - Supreme Court of Canada Stands Up For Fair Dealing in Stunning Sweep of Cases | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

The Supreme Court of Canada issued its much anticipated rulings in the five copyright cases it heard last December. It will obviously take some time to digest these decisions, but the clear takeaway is that the court has delivered an undisputed win for fair dealing that has positive implications for education and innovation, while striking a serious blow to copyright collectives such as Access Copyright.

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Robin Illsley from Library world, new trends, technologies
Scoop.it!

The Human Touch: Public Libraries in the 21st Century | The BookShed

The Human Touch: Public Libraries in the 21st Century | The BookShed | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

RT @sallyheroes: "It appears that the number one thing patrons use the library for is (prepare yourself) books": 

 

"[...] surprised they would select books when they have so many other things to choose from. I imagine he’s even more surprised to learn that something else patrons rate highly is personal interaction with the staff. No one disputes that technology has improved the library experience for the patron. You can search the catalog from home and access our subscribed databases. You can place your own holds, request your own interlibrary loan materials, download books to your own devices.The library is working towards self-checkout, presumably so you can conduct all your library business without ever having to interact with the staff...but for patrons, there’s more to the library than just the delivery of materials. They like human contact."


Via Karen du Toit, Patrick Provencher
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

School’s out for smut as kinky trilogy ‘Fifty Shades’ tops youngsters’ summer book list

School’s out for smut as kinky trilogy ‘Fifty Shades’ tops youngsters’ summer book list | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Fifteen-year-old Jessie loves Zumba, biology and classic Disney movies such as “Beauty and the Beast” — but lately, her favorite activity has been reading.

 

-Doree Lewak @ NYTimes.com

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

The Ebook Cargo Cult

The Ebook Cargo Cult | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

"When we throw away privacy and ownership in order to distribute ebooks onto Kindles via Overdrive, when we abandon first sale and fair use in order to purchase ebooks from HarperCollins, when we tacitly endorse our partners’ use of digital rights management (DRM), we are abandoning the principles that have made libraries valuable to our communities. When we sign contracts that ignore our first principles, we are abandoning our moral and financial obligations to the people whose library collections and intellectual opportunities we are supposed to be stewarding. We are “paying for stuff” and we are “sharing it with our community,” but unlike before, we are not actually buying anything."

 

-Brett Bonfield @ In the Library with the Lead Pipe

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Maker Station in Library Parking Lot = All Kinds of Awesome

Maker Station in Library Parking Lot = All Kinds of Awesome | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
A collaboration between the Allen County Public Library in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and a local nonprofit called TekVenture has created a hub of awesome for local makers called the TekVenture Maker Station.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Read It! Loved It!: Aussie Librarian Curates List of Great Kids, Teen Books

Australian librarian Gavin Jones's website offers age-specific book recommendations for people aged 10 to 16. It's recipe for success? Simplicity.

 

-Dennis Abrams @ Publishing Perspectives

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Austrian city builds public library with nothing but QR codes, NFC and stickers

Austrian city builds public library with nothing but QR codes, NFC and stickers | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Strangely, the Austrian city of Klagenfurt doesn't have a public library, even though it hosts the Festival of German-Language Literature. However, an initiative dubbed Project Ingeborg is turning the municipality into a book repository of sorts with 70 QR code and NFC chip-equipped stickers. Plastered throughout town, they direct users to web pages where they can download public domain works, largely from Project Gutenberg. Oftentimes, e-books will be located in relevant locations -- so you'll be sure to find Arthur Schnitzler's The Killer near the police station, for example.

 

-Alexis Santos @ Engadget.com

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Codex Calixtinus Recovered - The Fine Books Blog

Codex Calixtinus Recovered - The Fine Books Blog | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

The Codex Calixtinus, an illuminated 12th century manuscript considered the world's first guidebook, was recovered Tuesday by Spanish police a year after it was stolen from the library of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela. The presumed thief, Manuel Fernandez Castineiras, a disgruntled former employee of the Cathedral, housed the priceless manuscript in a garbage bag in his garage along with a variety of other stolen books from the Cathedral's library and 1.2 million euros in cash.

 

-Nate Pedersen @ Fine Books Magazine

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

From Lisle to Libertyville, libraries are striving to make the best possible use of technology

From Lisle to Libertyville, libraries are striving to make the best possible use of technology | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Shannon Halikias, director of Lisle Public Library, holds a buzzer used for computer reservations. The restaurant-style buzzers were introduced at the beginning of June.

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Robin Illsley from Bibliothèque et Techno
Scoop.it!

Le livre numérique québécois menacé

Le livre numérique québécois menacé | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

L'adoption d'une version modernisée et controversée de la Loi canadienne sur le droit d'auteur (C-11) met en péril l'industrie naissante du livre numérique tant au Québec qu'au Canada.

Alors que le livre prend de l'ampleur partout dans le monde, au Québec, ce sont 25 millions de dollars investis en cinq ans qui sont pratiquement jetés à l'eau...


Via Bruno Essard-Budail, Patrick Provencher
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Story Sailboat Takes Books to the Bay

Story Sailboat Takes Books to the Bay | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Librarian Patrick “P.C.” Sweeney has found a way to combine his ruling passions: books and boats. By day he manages the East Palo Alto and Portola Valley Libraries for the San Mateo County Library; by night (and weekend) he and partner Joey Elle Lehnhard live on one sailboat and sail another.

 

Sweeney said he got the idea to turn the Santana into the Story Sailboat from a confluence of conversations. He’d discussed the idea of bookmobiles by water with fellow librarian and 2012 LJ Mover & Shaker Andrea Davis a couple of years ago. He liked the idea of “guerilla libraries and libraries in unexpected places” which has been popping up all over the place, and then he read about the Urban Libraries Unite doing a book seeding. “I put all those things together,” he said, and the project was born.

 

-Meredith Schwartz @ LJ

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Reining In the Clutter of Library Signage | Backtalk

Reining In the Clutter of Library Signage | Backtalk | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

I don’t mean to single out libraries as the only offender here: we see this kind of visual clutter in most public buildings. But my tour got me wondering why the staff immediately felt the need to post these bills all over their brand new buildings, upon which the architect had otherwise lavished considerable attention to the design and details. What went wrong there?

 

As architects, we are obligated to make sure that required way-finding signage is part of the project. We often are involved in room identification and donor signage, too. But clearly there is another distinct layer of changeable signage that’s needed in many kinds of buildings, a layer that is largely ignored until after the building is in use.

 

-Charles Meuller @ LJ

more...
No comment yet.