The Irish Literary Times
467.6K views | +15 today
Follow
 
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
onto The Irish Literary Times
Scoop.it!

Turlough McConnell's "Ulster at Play" explores the north's theatre tradition

Turlough McConnell's "Ulster at Play" explores the north's theatre tradition | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Ulster at Play charts the rich and often turbulent history of theater in the north of Ireland
more...
No comment yet.
The Irish Literary Times
Up-to-Date Coverage of The World of Irish Literature
Curated by Gerard Beirne
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

The Irish Literary Times

The Irish Literary Times | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it

The Irish Literary Times provides up-to-date coverage of Irish literary news and events in a magazine format via articles available online.

 

The site is curated by Gerard Beirne an Irish poet and novelist based in Sligo. He has published six books of poetry and fiction. His novel The Eskimo in the Net (Marion Boyars Publishers) was shortlisted for the Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award and was selected by the Literary Editor of the Daily Express  as his Book of the Year “scandalously ignored by the Man Booker judges...”. His recent collection of stories was shortlisted for the Danuta Gleed Literary Award.

 

http://www.gerardbeirne.com

more...
Janet Fraser's comment, June 9, 2013 8:34 PM
Congratulations, Gerard. That's great.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Anna Burns’s Man Booker prize is more than a fairytale – it’s a lesson | Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett | Opinion | The Guardian

Anna Burns’s Man Booker prize is more than a fairytale – it’s a lesson | Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett | Opinion | The Guardian | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
The author’s literary triumph while skint and relying on food banks is the news we all need right now, says Guardian columnist Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

The story of Anna Burns shows how working-class talent is going to waste - The Guardian

The story of Anna Burns shows how working-class talent is going to waste - The Guardian | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
When the creative industries belong to the wealthy and their offspring, and being poor and dependent is seen as a moral failure, the success of her book Milkman is truly a cause for celebration
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Bernard Loughlin made Annaghmakerrig ‘an inclusive, non-judgmental, thrilling place’

Bernard Loughlin made Annaghmakerrig ‘an inclusive, non-judgmental, thrilling place’ | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Rosita Boland recalls the thoughtful, irreverent, hilarious director of the Tyrone Guthrie Centre
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

What We’re Teaching Our Sons review: Lessons from our fathers

What We’re Teaching Our Sons review: Lessons from our fathers | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Owen Booth’s original debut gives a profound account of life, family and fatherhood
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Live Encounters | Ruairí de Barra – Tibnin Bridge

Live Encounters | Ruairí de Barra – Tibnin Bridge | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Tibnin Bridge poems by Ruairí de Barra
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Arts in Junior Cycle - Yeats, from Twilight to Limelight. The works of Yeats to support Classroom Based Assessment.

Arts in Junior Cycle - Yeats, from Twilight to Limelight. The works of Yeats to support Classroom Based Assessment. | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Arts in Junior Cycle - Yeats, from Twilight to Limelight. The works of Yeats to support Classroom Based Assessment.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

"The Other Wilde Trial - The Mary Travers Scandal", presented by Eibhear Walshe, Director of Creative Writing & Senior Lecturer, University College Cork

"The Other Wilde Trial - The Mary Travers Scandal", presented by Eibhear Walshe, Director of Creative Writing & Senior Lecturer, University College Cork | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
It is April 1895 and Oscar Wilde is on trial in London at the Old Bailey. In County Cork, a woman called Mary Travers is following the Wilde Trials in the newspapers, increasingly troubled by the growing public outcry. Mary Travers has her own secret, her hidden connection with Oscar Wilde and his parents, William and Jane, and dreads discovery and exposure. The Diary of Mary Travers, re-imagines that connection through the eyes of the central figure, Mary Travers . In her diary she reveals her own part in this scandal, her unhappy home life and her intimate connection with two of the most celebrated writers of her time, William and Jane Wilde., powered by Localist
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Bernard Loughlin - Former director of Tyrone Guthrie centre dies in Catalonia

Bernard Loughlin - Former director of Tyrone Guthrie centre dies in Catalonia | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Bernard Loughlin
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Channel 4 Anna Burns on her Man Booker win –

Channel 4 Anna Burns on her Man Booker win – | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
The Man Booker prize judges were "unanimous" in their choice of winner, describing Milkman by Belfast-born Anna Burns as "incredibly original".It was finished years before the MeToo movement, or concerns about the future of Northern Ireland, post-Brexit, yet it's narrated by a young woman aggressively...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Paul McVeigh: 2018 Man Booker Winner Podcast with Anna Burns

2018 Man Booker Winner Podcast In our winner episode we head behind the scenes at Southbank Centre for the shortlist event. Joe Haddow cat...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Shame us, Séamus - Kevin Kiely’s Seamus Heaney and the Great Poetry Hoax

Shame us, Séamus - Kevin Kiely’s Seamus Heaney and the Great Poetry Hoax | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Kevin Kiely’s bluntly titled, Seamus Heaney and the Great Poetry Hoax
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Lisa McGee is 's Literature/Drama 2018 Awardee-Derry Girls Producer and Writer Lisa McGee Wins Big at #WOTYA18...

Lisa McGee is 's Literature/Drama 2018 Awardee-Derry Girls Producer and Writer Lisa McGee Wins Big at #WOTYA18... | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Derry Girls Producer and Writer Lisa McGee Wins Big at #WOTYA18...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Wo-Man Booker: Why you need to read Milkman

Wo-Man Booker: Why you need to read Milkman | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Milkman is compelling. It’s the kind of book that rarely makes even the longlist for the Man Booker prize: a page turner. I didn’t expect the latest winner of the Man Booker prize to be an easy read. That’s the first surprise in store from Anna Burns.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

The Riff Raff: Episode 53 - Emilie Pine by The Riff Raff

The Riff Raff chat to Emilie Pine, author of Notes to Self, about why it's important to write for yourself rather than a perceived audience, creativity as a therapeutic tool, & why, if you want to be
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Homeless charity claims Roddy Doyle's Rosie should be prescribed viewing for Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and the Government - Irish Mirror Online

Homeless charity claims Roddy Doyle's Rosie should be prescribed viewing for Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and the Government - Irish Mirror Online | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it

The acclaimed movie lays bare the human cost of the housing crisis
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

The Comeraghs in poems and photos- Mark Roper and Paddy Dwan overcame a broken neck, cancer and a deadly virus to finish the book

The Comeraghs in poems and photos- Mark Roper and Paddy Dwan overcame a broken neck, cancer and a deadly virus to finish the book | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Mark Roper and Paddy Dwan overcame a broken neck, cancer and a deadly virus to finish the book
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

The Flight of the Wren by Orla McAlinden. Bleach House Library interview - YouTube

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Eimar O’Duffy: the forgotten Irish author with a phantasmagorical vision

Eimar O’Duffy: the forgotten Irish author with a phantasmagorical vision | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
In the vein of Flann O’Brien and James Stephens, the Cuanduine trilogy, written in the 1920s, mixed Irish mythology and science fiction in a comic satire that rings true today
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Spain: A wee lad from Belfast in the High Pyrenées. Bernard Loughlin  made a new life in Catalonia. In this extract from his new book, he explains what drew him there.

Spain: A wee lad from Belfast in the High Pyrenées. Bernard Loughlin  made a new life in Catalonia. In this extract from his new book, he explains what drew him there. | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Spain: A wee lad from Belfast in the High Pyrenées
Bernard Loughlin is an Irishman who made a new life in Catalonia. In this extract from his new book, he explains what drew him there.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Joanne O’Leary reviews ‘The Long-Winded Lady’ by Maeve Brennan, ‘Maeve Brennan’ by Angela Bourke and ‘The Springs of Affection’ by Maeve Brennan · LRB 13 September 2018

Joanne O’Leary reviews ‘The Long-Winded Lady’ by Maeve Brennan, ‘Maeve Brennan’ by Angela Bourke and ‘The Springs of Affection’ by Maeve Brennan · LRB 13 September 2018 | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Maeve Brennan could stop traffic. According to her colleague Roger Angell, she laid waste to a ‘dozen-odd’ writers and artists after the New Yorker hired her as a staff writer in 1949. She makes a cameo as the magazine’s ‘resident Circe’ in a biography of the cartoonist Charles Addams; . . .
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Niamh Boyce: The Flight of the Wren

Niamh Boyce: The Flight of the Wren | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
The Wrens were a community of women who lived brutal lives on the plains of the Curragh in the 19th Century. They worked as prostitutes...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

“White Horses” by Jo Burns – Turas Press

“White Horses” by Jo Burns – Turas Press | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
“ To read Jo Burns’ poems is to feel exhilarated and enthralled. She makes  bold, unexpected leaps with language, able to mine history and place with authentic poignancy. Burns explores the spectacular and the strange, gifting us with vivid poems to be savoured.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

‘Bookstores are one of the most important elements of any high street’

‘Bookstores are one of the most important elements of any high street’ | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Sound Off: Bookselling Ireland chair on importance of bookshops, both big and small
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Read Belfast Hymn by Paul Muldoon - a joyous evocation of the city's 5,000-year history

Read Belfast Hymn by Paul Muldoon - a joyous evocation of the city's 5,000-year history | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
In Belfast Hymn, a joyous evocation of the city's 5,000-year history, Pulitzer Prize- winning poet Paul Muldoon celebrates its crowning achievements with an affectionate tour of its most familiar landmarks.
more...
No comment yet.