The Irish Literary Times
467.3K views | +320 today
Follow
 
The Irish Literary Times
Up-to-Date Coverage of The World of Irish Literature
Curated by Gerard Beirne
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

The Irish Literary Times

The Irish Literary Times | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it

The Irish Literary Times provides up-to-date coverage of Irish literary news and events in a magazine format via articles available online.

 

The site is curated by Gerard Beirne an Irish poet and novelist based in Sligo. He has published six books of poetry and fiction. His novel The Eskimo in the Net (Marion Boyars Publishers) was shortlisted for the Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award and was selected by the Literary Editor of the Daily Express  as his Book of the Year “scandalously ignored by the Man Booker judges...”. His recent collection of stories was shortlisted for the Danuta Gleed Literary Award.

 

http://www.gerardbeirne.com

more...
Janet Fraser's comment, June 9, 2013 8:34 PM
Congratulations, Gerard. That's great.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

The Flight of the Wren by Orla McAlinden. Bleach House Library interview - YouTube

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Eimar O’Duffy: the forgotten Irish author with a phantasmagorical vision

Eimar O’Duffy: the forgotten Irish author with a phantasmagorical vision | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
In the vein of Flann O’Brien and James Stephens, the Cuanduine trilogy, written in the 1920s, mixed Irish mythology and science fiction in a comic satire that rings true today
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Spain: A wee lad from Belfast in the High Pyrenées. Bernard Loughlin  made a new life in Catalonia. In this extract from his new book, he explains what drew him there.

Spain: A wee lad from Belfast in the High Pyrenées. Bernard Loughlin  made a new life in Catalonia. In this extract from his new book, he explains what drew him there. | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Spain: A wee lad from Belfast in the High Pyrenées
Bernard Loughlin is an Irishman who made a new life in Catalonia. In this extract from his new book, he explains what drew him there.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Joanne O’Leary reviews ‘The Long-Winded Lady’ by Maeve Brennan, ‘Maeve Brennan’ by Angela Bourke and ‘The Springs of Affection’ by Maeve Brennan · LRB 13 September 2018

Joanne O’Leary reviews ‘The Long-Winded Lady’ by Maeve Brennan, ‘Maeve Brennan’ by Angela Bourke and ‘The Springs of Affection’ by Maeve Brennan · LRB 13 September 2018 | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Maeve Brennan could stop traffic. According to her colleague Roger Angell, she laid waste to a ‘dozen-odd’ writers and artists after the New Yorker hired her as a staff writer in 1949. She makes a cameo as the magazine’s ‘resident Circe’ in a biography of the cartoonist Charles Addams; . . .
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Niamh Boyce: The Flight of the Wren

Niamh Boyce: The Flight of the Wren | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
The Wrens were a community of women who lived brutal lives on the plains of the Curragh in the 19th Century. They worked as prostitutes...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

“White Horses” by Jo Burns – Turas Press

“White Horses” by Jo Burns – Turas Press | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
“ To read Jo Burns’ poems is to feel exhilarated and enthralled. She makes  bold, unexpected leaps with language, able to mine history and place with authentic poignancy. Burns explores the spectacular and the strange, gifting us with vivid poems to be savoured.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

‘Bookstores are one of the most important elements of any high street’

‘Bookstores are one of the most important elements of any high street’ | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Sound Off: Bookselling Ireland chair on importance of bookshops, both big and small
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Read Belfast Hymn by Paul Muldoon - a joyous evocation of the city's 5,000-year history

Read Belfast Hymn by Paul Muldoon - a joyous evocation of the city's 5,000-year history | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
In Belfast Hymn, a joyous evocation of the city's 5,000-year history, Pulitzer Prize- winning poet Paul Muldoon celebrates its crowning achievements with an affectionate tour of its most familiar landmarks.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Paul McVeigh Interview

Paul McVeigh Interview | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
JO: Mickey, the chief protagonist of your novel, seems hemmed in on every side by The Troubles and the necessity of staying out of No Mans Land or finding himself in the wrong place at the wrong time with the wrong accent or school uniform. Being called Mickey instead of Ian on the protestant side of town. But on the catholic side, he has to stay off the radar of the local IRA hard men. For instance, for those who …
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

view on Anna Burns’s Man Booker win: Burns’s success only serves to highlight that most writers live on the breadline

view on Anna Burns’s Man Booker win: Burns’s success only serves to highlight that most writers live on the breadline | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Burns’s success only serves to highlight that most writers live on the breadline
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Portadown's Pulitzer Prize-winner on Van Morrison, MLA pay and Donald Trump

Portadown's Pulitzer Prize-winner on Van Morrison, MLA pay and Donald Trump | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Portadown's Pulitzer Prize-winner Paul Muldoon, who's been hailed as one of the world's most gifted poets since the war, sips his green tea gingerly as he starts to talk about his newes
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

‘The streets are haunted’ – Colm Tóibín explores literary Dublin | Books | The Guardian

‘The streets are haunted’ – Colm Tóibín explores literary Dublin | Books | The Guardian | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
The house where Oscar Wilde grew up and where James Joyce was let down, the library where WB Yeats studied … the Irish capital is full with the ghosts of great writers
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Arts in Junior Cycle - Yeats, from Twilight to Limelight. The works of Yeats to support Classroom Based Assessment.

Arts in Junior Cycle - Yeats, from Twilight to Limelight. The works of Yeats to support Classroom Based Assessment. | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Arts in Junior Cycle - Yeats, from Twilight to Limelight. The works of Yeats to support Classroom Based Assessment.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

"The Other Wilde Trial - The Mary Travers Scandal", presented by Eibhear Walshe, Director of Creative Writing & Senior Lecturer, University College Cork

"The Other Wilde Trial - The Mary Travers Scandal", presented by Eibhear Walshe, Director of Creative Writing & Senior Lecturer, University College Cork | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
It is April 1895 and Oscar Wilde is on trial in London at the Old Bailey. In County Cork, a woman called Mary Travers is following the Wilde Trials in the newspapers, increasingly troubled by the growing public outcry. Mary Travers has her own secret, her hidden connection with Oscar Wilde and his parents, William and Jane, and dreads discovery and exposure. The Diary of Mary Travers, re-imagines that connection through the eyes of the central figure, Mary Travers . In her diary she reveals her own part in this scandal, her unhappy home life and her intimate connection with two of the most celebrated writers of her time, William and Jane Wilde., powered by Localist
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Bernard Loughlin - Former director of Tyrone Guthrie centre dies in Catalonia

Bernard Loughlin - Former director of Tyrone Guthrie centre dies in Catalonia | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Bernard Loughlin
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Channel 4 Anna Burns on her Man Booker win –

Channel 4 Anna Burns on her Man Booker win – | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
The Man Booker prize judges were "unanimous" in their choice of winner, describing Milkman by Belfast-born Anna Burns as "incredibly original".It was finished years before the MeToo movement, or concerns about the future of Northern Ireland, post-Brexit, yet it's narrated by a young woman aggressively...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Paul McVeigh: 2018 Man Booker Winner Podcast with Anna Burns

2018 Man Booker Winner Podcast In our winner episode we head behind the scenes at Southbank Centre for the shortlist event. Joe Haddow cat...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Shame us, Séamus - Kevin Kiely’s Seamus Heaney and the Great Poetry Hoax

Shame us, Séamus - Kevin Kiely’s Seamus Heaney and the Great Poetry Hoax | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Kevin Kiely’s bluntly titled, Seamus Heaney and the Great Poetry Hoax
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Anna Burns' Booker Prize win shows the real cost of being a writer in 2018

Anna Burns' Booker Prize win shows the real cost of being a writer in 2018 | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

‘I am a poet without a landscape, a woman poet without a narrative heritage’

‘I am a poet without a landscape, a woman poet without a narrative heritage’ | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Christine Murray, founder of Poethead, on the inspiration for her new collection ‘bind’
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Allingham Poetry and Fiction Shortlists Just Announced - Read Here

Allingham Poetry and Fiction Shortlists Just Announced - Read Here | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
We had a huge response to this year’s Poetry and Fiction competitions, and the standard was very high in both competitions, making the work of the judges very difficult, but after much deliberation the shortlists have been announced. Well done to all who took part. Winners will be announced in c
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Man Booker winner Anna Burns on her own extraordinary story from mitching school, the Troubles and giving up alcohol

Man Booker winner Anna Burns on her own extraordinary story from mitching school, the Troubles and giving up alcohol | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
She laughs when I tell her the INLA joke. It’s what the initials stand for: I Never Leave Ardoyne. “Fantastic,” she says. Anna Burns says that her book Milkman is not specifically about
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Gerard Beirne
Scoop.it!

Bram Stoker festival: Everything you need to know

Bram Stoker festival: Everything you need to know | The Irish Literary Times | Scoop.it
Fangs for the legacy as Dublin celebrates the creator of Dracula, the supernatural and Samhain
more...
No comment yet.