Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD
4.0K views | +0 today
Follow
Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD
Read another compelling novel about people vs. power next. Browse the tag section for themes.
Curated by Alida Hanson
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

1984

1984 | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes: People against power; Repressive societies; Dystopia

 

"It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking 13."  

 

Welcome to George Orwell's dystopic masterpiece where daily life is tightly controlled--and one man yearns to tell the truth.

 

(Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.)

 

F Orw
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Mockingbird

Mockingbird | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes: people against power, coming of age, references to To Kill a Mockingbird

 

"Oh how I loved Mockingbird! It was so raw and sad and heartfelt and hopeful all at once!

 

The narrator, Caitlin, has Asperger's Syndrome. After Caitlin's brother, Devon, is killed in a school shooting, she struggles with the emotion of it all...she is an incredibly easy character to follow.

 

Erskine did an incredible job writing a character who's awkwardness was so endearing.
.... I also loved all of the references to To Kill a Mockingbird." --Jodi Papazian, Goodreads

 

Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.

 

F Ers

(Use this label to find the book in the library.  Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

The Plot Against America

The Plot Against America | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes: People against power; Political repression; Racism

 

"What a brilliant novel.

 

What would have happened had isolationist won the presidential election in 1940 and not Roosevelt? How would his anti-Semitic politics influenced the life of a Jewish-American family? Roth tries to answer this from the viewpoint of an 8 year old living in Newark, NJ." --Kyranerys, goodreads

 

Click on the title to read more from Goodreads.

 

F Rot
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Little Brother

Little Brother | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

Themes:  People against power; Repressive societies; Technology

 

"READ THIS BOOK. Read it. Read it and then send it to your friends and make them read it.

 

I think I found this via a link from Neil Gaiman's blog. Which means I should have read it posthaste, but hey, I'm only human and I had sparkly vampire braincandy to read. Now I'm ready to be serious again.

 

The intro alone made me fall in love." --Rachel, Goodreads

 

(Click on the title for more on Goodreads.)

 

F Doc
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Stargirl (Stargirl, #1)

Stargirl (Stargirl, #1) | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes:  People against power; High school society

 

"It's really, really good. It kind of makes me cry, showing how horrible people can be to a person who obviously doesn't deserve it. She's new, and her randomness is so amazing. I mean, she has a pet rat.

 

I like Leo. He seems average, but a little bit more. He understands how amazing she is, but at the same time, I wish he'd tried harder to be what she needed." --Rachel, Goodreads

 

F Spi
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

 

(Click on the title to see more on Goodreads.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

Divergent (Divergent, #1) | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

Themes:  People against power; Dystopia; Repressive societies

 

"This book is made of pure awesomesauce!

 

It's action punched, gripping, intense, edgy, captivating and has a very sweet and surprising romance. It's about control and choices, betrayal and love. It's everything I look for in an escape and if anything convinces me that these kinds of books are my exact ideal." --Tina, goodreads

 

(Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.)

 

FIC Rot
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

A Lesson Before Dying

A Lesson Before Dying | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 Themes:  People against power; Racism; Justice

Bonus: Southern setting

 

Jefferson's only crimes are a dim intelligence, being in the wrong place at the wrong time, and being black in rural Louisiana in the late 1940s. To everyone, even his own defense attorney, he's an animal, too dumb to understand what is happening to him. But his godmother, Miss Emma, decides that Jefferson will die a man.

 

If you like thought-provoking reading, you will enjoy this glimpse of life in the rural South just before the civil rights movement. (School Library Journal)

 

(Click on the title to read more on GoodReads.)

 

FIC Gai
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Leverage

Leverage | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

Themes:  People against power; High school society; Justice; Sports

 

Football players rule Oregrove High without mercy. When a prank war between the football and gynmastics team escalates out of control, Kurt and Danny know they have to find justice.  But how can they when they feel powerless?

 

Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.

 

F Coh
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

The Member of the Wedding

The Member of the Wedding | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Theme: Coming of age

Bonus: Southern setting

 

If you like dreamy, intimate books that focus on character, this might be good for you.  Frankie is twelve with dreams that are too big for her small-town  1940's Southern world.  

 

When her brother gets married, she sees a chance to escape and become the person she wants to be.

 

Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.

 

812.54 MCc
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. We have the play version on the 3rd floor. You can order the novel through interlibrary loan [ILL]. Ask Miss Franke and she will help you.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Ellen Foster

Ellen Foster | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 Themes:  People against power

Bonus: Southern setting

 

Ellen Foster is only 11, but she has to navigate the injustices of the adult world alone until she is adopted into a loving foster family.

 

This is a deceptively quick read. Slow down and get to know this unforgettable character who, despite massive disadvantages, builds a useful life for herself.

 

(Click on title above to read more on Goodreads.)

 

F Gib
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

I am Scout: The Biography of Harper Lee

I am Scout: The Biography of Harper Lee | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Theme: Biography of Harper Lee

 

Harper Lee's masterpiece was her first and only book.  Find out more about this famously reclusive author, from her girlhood in the south to her years as a struggling writer in New York City.

 

(Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.)

 

B Lee
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Biographies are on the 3rd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

More dystopian fiction

More dystopian fiction | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

What is dystopian fiction, anyway?

 

If you like books like "The Hunger Games" and "1984" this genre is for you.  Dystopian fiction often features individuals fighting against an oppressive power: political, corporate, or societal.  Sometimes these books have an element of science fiction and are based in the future, other times they seem to be set in a mysterious past.  

 

These books force us to look at our own world with new eyes.

 

Click on the the title for a list of the newest and best dystopian fiction.

more...
Ling's comment, October 15, 2011 12:17 AM
What a great topic!
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

A Wreath for Emmett Till

A Wreath for Emmett Till | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes: People against power; Civil rights; Justice

 

Fifteen interlinked sonnets to pay tribute to Emmitt Till, a fourteen-year-old African American boy who was lynched in Mississippi in 1955 for whistling at a white woman, and whose murderers were acquitted.

 

Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.

 

811 Nel
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Poetry is on the 3rd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Jasper Jones

Jasper Jones | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

Themes:  People against power; Racism; Justice; Sports

 

Charlie Bucktin is startled one summer night by an urgent knock on his bedroom window from Jasper Jones, the local outcast. He asks Charlie to help defend him from a murder charge that will surely result from the prejudices of their small Australian town.

 

Read more on Shelfari by clicking on the title.

 

F Sil
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.) 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Bamboo People

Bamboo People | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes: People against power; War

 

"This book was difficult for me to read, not because of the writing, but because of the content.

 

It’s tough to read about kids being forced into war, or about families being displaced for no reason other than the tribe they belong to. I ache as I think about these characters because I know that, though they are fictional, the stories are not. Perkins has taken a grave story and inserted a little bit of hope into it." --Erica, goodreads

 

Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.

 

F Per
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing: The Pox Party

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing: The Pox Party | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

 

Themes: Repressive societies; Racism

 

"I am blown away by the brilliant, lush style and more brilliant ideas and intellect of this coming-of-age and bildungsroman novel. I was delighted by the mystery of it and the growing horror, how the limited point of view of the little hero worked as he gradually makes his discoveries about the realities of his world." --Lesley, Goodreads

 

(Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.)

 

F And
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

The Road to Memphis

The Road to Memphis | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes: People against power; Political and societal repression; Racism

 

Bonus: Southern setting

 

"This is probably my favorite book of all times.

 

Set the late 30's, Cassie Logan is finally learning how thick the racial barriers are in her hometown of Jackson Mississippi. When her friend Moe hits three white men, leaving them in critical condition, Cassie,Stacey, Little Willie, and Clarence help Moe escape up north where he will be safe. But the journey up there isn't easy. Not many blacks have a car. So not only do they get chased on highway by white men who are after them, the car breaks down in the middle of the road.

 

Through hardships, friendships, and relationships, Cassie finally understands what it means to be black." Victoria, Goodreads.

 

Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.

 

F Tay
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty

The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes: People against power; Civil rights

Setting: The South in the 60s

 

Eudora Welty's famous tales of Southern small-town life are gathered here and include two important stories from the 1960s with civil rights themes,  "Where Is the Voice Coming From?," an uncollected 1963 New Yorker story narrated by a white man out to kill a black civil-rights leader (inspired, as Welty describes in her brief, modest preface, by the shooting of Medgar Evers); and "The Demonstrators," another Sixties story of the uneasily changing South that appeared in the O. Henry Award Prize Stories 1968. (Kirkus)

 

Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.

 

SC Wel
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Short Stories are near the graphic novels on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

Shine

Shine | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

 

Themes:  People against power; Repressive societies; Justice

Bonus:  Southern setting

 

When her best guy friend falls victim to a vicious hate crime, sixteen-year-old Cat sets out to discover who did it.

 

This daring mystery mines the secrets of a tightly knit Southern community and examines the strength of will it takes to go against everyone you know in the name of justice.

 

(Click on the title to to read more on Goodreads.)

 

F Myr
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

The Secret Life of Bees

The Secret Life of Bees | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

Themes: People against power; Racism; Justice

Bonus:  Southern setting

 

After her "stand-in mother," a bold black woman named Rosaleen, insults the three biggest racists in town, Lily Owens joins Rosaleen on a journey to Tiburon, South Carolina, where they are taken in by three black, bee-keeping sisters.

 

(Click on the title for more on Goodreads.)

 

F Kid
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

In Search of Mockingbird

In Search of Mockingbird | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

Themes:  Coming of age; Writing

 

"This was a cute and quick read for Harper Lee fans.

 

A girl is obsessed with To Kill a Mockingbird and goes on a journey to find the author and meets some interesting characters along the way." --Kim, Goodreads

 

F Ell
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

 

(Click on the title to read more on goodreads.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

The Mockingbirds (The Mockingbirds, #1)

The Mockingbirds (The Mockingbirds, #1) | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

 

Themes:  People against power; High school society; Justice

 

Students at a quiet boarding school have their own way of dealing with crimes in their "perfect" community. When Alex is date raped, she has two options: stay silent, or enlist the Mockingbirds to deliver justice.

 

Click on the title to read more on Goodreads.

 

F Whi
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor.)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Alida Hanson
Scoop.it!

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1) | Books like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD | Scoop.it

Themes:  People against power; Political and societal repression; Dystopia

 

Find out why this popular dystopic series is being devoured by readers of all ages. Katniss represents her district in the annual fight-to-the-death reality TV series where the prize is enough food for a year.  Will she play the game the way she's supposed to--or will she dare to be different? 

 

Read more on Goodreads by clicking on the title.

 

F Col
(Look for this label to find the book in the Learning Commons. Fiction is on the 2nd floor. If this popular book is already out, please ask Miss Franke to order it for you through interlibrary loan.)

more...
No comment yet.