NetMob 2013 - The main conference on the scientific analysis of mobile phone datasets with a special event on the Data for Development (D4D) challenge.

The availability of mobile phone datasets has opened the possibility to improve our understanding of large-scale social networks by investigating how people exchange information, build trust, create markets and develop social interactions. Mobile phone datasets can also be used to analyze mobility and better understand complex processes such as the spread of information and viruses or transportation and the use of urban infrastructures.

 The 2013 edition of NetMob will take place at the Media Lab at MIT in a conference format similar to that of the previous editions: one track of short contributed talks, a simplified submission procedure, no proceedings (except for a book of abstracts), and the possibility to present recent results or results submitted elsewhere.


Scientific Commitee

Co-chair: Vincent Blondel, University of Louvain (Belgium) and MIT
Co-chair: Alex (Sandy) Pentland, MIT Media Lab
Rein Ahas, University of Tartu (Estonia)
Samuel Arbesman, Harvard University
Laszlo Barabasi, Northeastern University
Dirk Brockmann, Northwestern University
Francesco Calabrese, IBM Research Dublin (Ireland)
Augustin Chaintreau, Columbia University
Nicholas Christakis, Harvard University
Rob Claxton, British Telecom (UK)
Vittoria Colizza, Inserm (France)
Massimo Colonna, Telecom Italia (Italy)
Nicolas de Cordes, Group Marketing, Orange (France)
Yves-Alexandre de Montjoye, MIT
Nathan Eagle, txteagle
Kenth Engø-Monsen, Telenor (Norway)
Marta Gonzales, MIT
Pedro Ferreira, Carnegie Mellon University
Cesar Hidalgo, Media Lab, MIT
Kimmo Kaski, Aalto University (Finland)
János Kertész, Budapest University of Technology (Hungary)
Gautier Krings, Real Impact (Belgium)
Renaud Lambiotte, University of Namur (Belgium)
Juha Laurila, Nokia Research (Switzerland)
David Lazer, Northeastern University
Franck Legendre, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
Sune Lehmann, Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
Cecilia Mascolo, University of Cambridge (UK)
Esteban Moro Egido, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (Spain)
Nuria Oliver, Telefonica Research (Spain)
Jukka-Pekka Onnela, Harvard University
Dino Pedreschi, Università di Pisa (Italy)
Daniele Quercia, University of Cambridge (UK)
Carlo Ratti, Senseable City Lab, MIT
Jari Saramäki, Aalto University (Finland)
Frank Schweitzer, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
Zbigniew Smoreda, Orange Labs (France)
Andy Tatem, University of Florida
Patrick Thiran, EPFL (Switzerland)
John Tsitsiklis, MIT
Paul Van Dooren, University of Louvain (Belgium)
Alexander Varshavsky, AT&T Labs