10 per cent polling in Punjab, Uttarakhand | enews | Scoop.it

Polling began on a dull note in Punjab and Uttarakhand Assembly elections and an estimated 10 per cent voters exercised their franchise.An estimated 10 per cent of around 1.76 crore voters exercised their franchise till 10 a.m. in Punjab Assembly elections on Monday.

The polling remained peaceful in the initial two hours with no reports of violence received, special Chief electoral Officer Usha R Sharma said.

She said the polling is likely to pick up as the day advances.

The fate of 1078 candidates, including two Chief Ministerial aspirants Parkash Singh Badal and Amarinder Singh in fray for 117 assembly seats, will be sealed on Monday.

The polling is taking place at 19,841 polling stations across 22 districts of Punjab where prominent candidates whose fate would be sealed on Monday include the Chief Minister from his traditional Lambi Assembly seat, his predecessor Amarinder Singh from Patiala city, their sons Sukhbir Singh Badal (Jalalabad) and Raninder Singh (Samana), former chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal (Lehra), former Punjab top cop P S Gill (Moga), former Principal Secretary to the chief minister D S Guru (Bhadaur) and former SGPC chief Bibi Jagir Kaur (Bholath).

A total of 70972, including 225 paramilitary force personnel have been deployed to conduct the elections.

At least 2627 video cameras and 554 digital cameras have been installed at polling booths. Around 203 polling stations are using live web-casting.

Of the polling stations, 2718 have been identified hyper sensitive and 6379 as sensitive.

Ludhiana East (16), Patiala rural (13) and Jalalabad (14) are the assembly constituencies where maximum number of contestants are in the fray. The least number of contestants are in Attari (4).

Out of the 1,078 candidates in fray 417, including 45 women, are Independents. At the last hustings in 2007, after scrutiny and withdrawal there were a total of 1,055 candidates, including 56 women, in fray.

Polling begins on dull note in Uttarakhand

Polling for the assembly elections in Uttarakhand to elect 70 legislators began a dull note despite a clear sky.

Till 1000 hours, only 10 per cent polling was recorded, said state chief electorate officer [CEO] Radha Raturi.

However, the polling was peaceful, she said.

In most of the polling booths, people began queuing up as the day progressed, officials said.

Over 63 lakh voters are expected to exercise their franchise in the elections where the ruling BJP is locked in a close fight against Congress.

The elections will also decide the fate of top state leaders including Chief Minister B C Khanduri from Kotdwar, former chief minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank from Doiwala, the leader of opposition Harak Singh Rawat from Rudraprayag and PCC chief Yashpal Arya from Baajpur seats.

The polling which began at 0800 hrs would end at 1700 hrs in the evening.

A total of 788 candidates are trying their luck with main contenders BJP and Congress contesting all the 70 seats.