Book Reviews
47 views | +0 today
Follow
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Rescooped by Angela Watkins from Public Relations & Social Marketing Insight
Scoop.it!

Top 5 Social PR Stories of 2015 | #SocialPR Chat via @LisaBuyer

Top 5 Social PR Stories of 2015 | #SocialPR Chat via @LisaBuyer | Book Reviews | Scoop.it

2015 was a big year in social media. In between updates about the Kardashians, to New Facebook Reactions, new Live Video Broadcasting tools like Periscope, Meerkat and Blab.im and the latest political candidates, Social PR got down to business and shared some helpful tips on how to excel in the world of social media.

 

While 2015 was all about content and visuals, taking a #selfie of your food doesn’t quite cut it anymore. Based on of all our social PR blog posts this year, we narrowed down the top five stories that you liked best. These social PR trending topics will help you take your social media and public relations game to the next level....


Via Jeff Domansky
more...
Jeff Domansky's curator insight, October 21, 2015 10:44 AM

From utilizing Twitter for PR matters to Snapchat stories, SEO tips and advice on how to utilize visuals for social PR, 2015 was all about getting down to social media.

Marco Favero's curator insight, October 21, 2015 5:02 PM

aggiungere la vostra comprensione ...

Rescooped by Angela Watkins from 21st Century Learning and Teaching
Scoop.it!

A Look at TEACHING 2030 - YouTube | Professional LEARNing | LEARNing To LEARN | eSkills | ICT | eLEADERship

A visual story of TEACHING 2030. Purchase the provocative new book at Teachers College Press, Amazon, or Barnes & Noble.

 

Learn more:

 

https://gustmees.wordpress.com/2015/07/19/learning-path-for-professional-21st-century-learning-by-ict-practice/

 

https://gustmees.wordpress.com/2014/10/03/design-the-learning-of-your-learners-students-ideas/

 


Via Gust MEES
more...
Gust MEES's curator insight, October 21, 2015 4:40 PM
A visual story of TEACHING 2030. Purchase the provocative new book at Teachers College Press, Amazon, or Barnes & Noble.


Learn more:


https://gustmees.wordpress.com/2015/07/19/learning-path-for-professional-21st-century-learning-by-ict-practice/


https://gustmees.wordpress.com/2014/10/03/design-the-learning-of-your-learners-students-ideas/


Shelly Reckow VanVoorst's curator insight, October 25, 2015 5:45 PM

I scooped this video because it projects a quick reference on reforms for education to come, that will impact teachers and all educators.  If we want teaching to be considered a profession, and not just a job, we need to reform how the tasks are completed and reported out.  I hope that teachers will look at this video, and even read the book and learn and grow from the experience.  We have to be ready as educators for change.

Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Review of Basketball: So Much More Than Just A Game

Review of Basketball: So Much More Than Just A Game | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
Book Review . Coach Lawrence McKenzie . Basketball . Biz - Business . NBA Drafts . AAU (Amateur Athletic Union) . Grassroots Basketball . College & Professional . Dr. James Naismith . Kobe Bryant . Michael Jordan . Healthy Lifestyles . God . South Africa . Motivational . Booker T. Washington High School . Air Force . European Leagues

Exciting book for me to review. I did also enjoy looking at the photos in this book, as well.

I am highly elated that Coach McKenzie sent me an autographed complimentary copy for review.

I would highly recommend this book for businesses, schools, organizations, parents and Churches.

Coach sometimes wonder how many parents would stick their chest out if their kids grade point average was next to their points per game.

Coach McKenzie is a Coach, Educator, Author & Speaker. The only Coach to win four straight state titles in the ninety-nine year history of the Minnesota State Boys Basketball Tournament, shares his success strategies for "winning" on the court & in life.

Basketball is a business, & a scholarship is an investment.

Basketball is no different from other things in life; you must understand the basics before you can master anything.

The training has to be about developing the kid's skills & not be strictly a business relationship.

Coach McKenzie was first introduced to the game when he was seven years old; his father took him to his Uncle Stan's high school basketball game.

His college career was cut short due to a bad attitude & a lack of focus.

But as only God would have it, providing an opportunity for redemption, he would find a place for him to give back & impact the lives of young men who were just like him.


To Parents:

The costs associated with parenthood, & they are numerous, are well worth it. The McKenzies' was & still is, in some respect a basketball family. The family tradition started with Coach father, Lawrence, learning the game on the streets of Miami. He became a star at Booker T. Washington High School & later in the Air Force.

Both Coach's son & daughter followed the family tradition & started at an early age.

Being five feet seven as a fourth grader made her a pretty popular camper.

Her new passion for the game of basketball kept her busy over the next few years, playing traveling ball for a few teams, four years of high school, & three years of college before deciding that the WNBA was not in her future, & she decided to continue her involvement with the game by becoming one of the team's broadcasters. Through the game she even managed to find her prince; KO, as they call him, is a former basketball star at Norfolk State, where they both played. Coach has even coached him during their brief stint in pursuit of professional basketball careers. They got married in September of 2009.

His son, Lawrence, started early with a house league at the YMCA. Lawrence is still pursuing his dream to play in the NBA, playing professionally in Macedonia & for the Los Angeles Defenders of the NBDL until his recent injury. Lawrence is the father of the McKenzie's first grandchild, Kailah Rae McKenzie, who probably pursue the game of basketball if his son has his way.

Its important to do your best best to not become that pushy sports parent.

Coach advice is to enjoy the moment, because it doesn't last forever. Kids grow up & move out & move on.

Coach talks to his children almost every day.


Life lessons Coach shares that he learned:

Learning to appreciate the joy of victory while remaining humble, & learning how to get back up,dust his self off, & move on after the agony of defeat.

To be responsible for his own attitude & understand that he can only control him-self, to always be open to learning, & to know that life is about serving others so that the world might be a better place.

Basketball is a game that is played by nearly three million people worldwide, ^ an estimated forty-five million in the United States. It is one of America's most popular sports but is also a very popular sport in other countries as well. It is a very culturally diverse sport & has opened up new doors all across the world, bringing foreign players to America to play the game at its highest level.

Michael Jordan, the most recognized player to ever play the game of basketball, has made it an extremely popular sport.

James Naismith was challenged by Dr. Luther Halsey Gilick Jr. to create an indoor activity as an outlet for sometimes unruly groups of students during the long, cold winter months in New England.

Naismith's challenge was to create a game that could be played by artificial light.

On January 18, 1896, the first college basketball game was played with the five-man format in Iowa City, Iowa. During the game, the University of Chicago defeated the University of Iowa, 15-12.

James Naismith 13 Rules of Basketball are listed in this book.

The game that Coach McKenzie once played for fun has blossomed into a multibillion dollar industry where kids are used like chess pieces so that adults can be crowned kings or queens.

The business of basketball includes selling sneakers, specialized training, traveling basketball, recruiting service, youth associations, & more, but it strides on selling pipe dreams through the magic of smoke screens.

The 5th Dimension used to sing "You don't have to be a star to be in my show." Today everybody has to be a star!

For Coach it started with the purchase of fifty-dollar Jordan shoes for his three-month old son. It continued with anything advertised or worn by Orlando Magic & Penny Hardaway.


Michael Jordan ...

"If you're trying to achieve, there will be roadblocks."

If you put in the work, the results will come.

Michael Jordan play to win, whether during practice or a real game.

... Michael Jordan


These major events become our family vacations, which generate dollars not only for the organizers but increase revenues for hotels, restaurants, & malls.

The NBA Drafts only sixty players each year, with a limited number actually making the team.

So often he has seen parents investing in training when they should be investing in a tutorial course for reading or the standardized tests.

The reality is that only two out of every 100 high school athletes will ever play in college, & only 1 of every 12 thousand high school athletes will ever become professional players.

The AAU (Amateur Athlete Union) is one of the largest sports nonprofit organizations in the United States. Founded in 1888 with the purpose to establish standards & uniformity in amateur sports, it administers thirty-two different sports. Proof of grade & membership are required.

Grassroots basketball, is much like the subprime mortgage market, making up the rules as they go along, & always in the interest of making a dollar. The former NCAA President, Myles Brand, describes it as the dysfunctional world of youth basketball.

TV analyst Len Elmore, who played college & professional basketball, graduated from Harvard, & is now the executive of Ihoops, has been quoted as saying "that shoe companies spending has thrown youth basketball into turmoil."

As a smart athlete you must be willing to ask yourself this question: Do those claiming to care really have my best interest at heart?

The best kids usually play for free, & others pay 1000's to finance the team with hopes of being seen by North Carolina, Kentucky, or Duke.

College basketball is big business. It's megamillion - dollar coaching contracts & selling sports apparel in team colors.

Corporations pay as much as $100,000 for a thirty - second ad during the early rounds of NCAA tournament. The NCAA television deal is worth $6.1 billion over 11 years for TV rights.

Every year during the NCAA tournament, Richard Lapchick of Diversity & Ethics in Sports (TIDES) at the University of Central Florida releases the graduation rates of the participating teams in "Keeping Score When Its Counts." Last year his study found that 64 percent of the teams participating in the NCAA tournament graduated 50 percent of all its players, but the percentage of graduation for African-American differed by 31 percent.

We spend so much of our lives chasing dreams, trying to capture the desires of our heart, with very little time appreciating our Creation's blessings.

A couple of years ago Coach lost his father, & while he was fortunate to spend some very memorable moments with him, he often find that he thinks about the things they didn't get a chance to do.

Besides Thanksgiving, when was the last time you thanked those special people who have touched your life & told them how much you have appreciated what they've done?

Coach & his wife was blessed in 2006 to travel to South Africa &, in particular, Bostwana, with Athletes in Action, as part of the Sports Ministry team. They actually celebrated their twenty-fifth wedding anniversary on this trip.

The trip was a blessing for him, it made him appreciate a great country like the United States, in spite of its shortcomings.

He witnessed orphans infected with HIV & kids looking in trashcans for their next meals.

He met a young Christian pastor, Gary Pelotshweu, who he continues to communicate with & plan on assisting with building a school to be used by young kids.

So while you chase your dreams don't forget to thank those people who helped you along the way.

With two children, Coach & his wife sometimes passed like two ships in the night while traveling to opposite sides of the city.

Back when his daughter was playing AAU & he coached her team, they qualified for Nationals in Memphis, Tennessee. It was an inner-city squad, full of talent but short on cash & opportunity.

They didn't win the tournament, but the trip wasn't a total loss. He took the girls to talk to the Coach at the University of Memphis. They also visited several historical sites, including the National Civic Rights Museum, where they sat on a replica of the Montgomery bus that Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on. They also toured the Lorraine Motel, where Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., was assassinated, & a house turned museum that the slaves used in the Underground Railroad. Some girls, including his daughter,got letters from interested Colleges.

While a teacher has the responsibility for inspiring & molding the minds of our children, they are probably the least appreciated.

As students, we often fail to acknowledge the contribution of our teachers until much later in life. As for me I came from a long family line of educators - preachers - pastors.

The scholarship includes tuition, room & board, & other fees, but players are rewarded by receiving some of the great coaching, medical care, first-class treatment for injuries, trips to exotic locations during the winter, free tickets, media relations, & hopefully one day a very good job.

If parents are looking for financial assistance, they should be aware that it's been estimated that there are thirty times more scholarship dollars available for college academic scholarships than there are for athletic scholarships. The higher the grade point average, the more opportunities exist to have a scholarship offered.

In the end, academics should always be your priority because when you have played your last game its the educated students who would be the ultimate winners.

Very little time is spent watching the game, kids these days aren't really fans of the game. They're fans of some of the players in the game: Lebron, Kobe, Dwayne Wade, KG - the big names.

It is said that no player or coach spends more time studying his opponents than Kobe Bryant. Before each game you will find him with a portable DVD player watching clips of the players he'll be guarding in that particular game. He's looking for just the slightest advantage.

The greatest players are the ones who have mastered the most basic skills. We have begun to see more & more Europeans players being drafted into the NBA & the expansion of the league overseas primarily because of their style of game.

If you want to mimic a style, look at the European leagues, whose players have a flair for the fundamentals. They have some of the best players because they've gone back to the basics.

Coach Randy Brown, a former college coach at Iowa State, amongst other, suggests that kids need to learn forty basic basketball skills. Included in this book is 40 Skill Development Checklist with a brief breakdown of each position.

Kobe is just good; he's not a good guard or forward. He's good, period.

Jay-Z didn't drop Reasonable Doubt, his debut album until he was twenty-seven. He understands that while the world is a rush, true greatness takes time!

Teachable translates into being coachable.

It starts with recognizing that you don't know everything & being willing to learn. The book of Proverbs says, "In all you do get wisdom & understanding."

Coachable players want to get better & understand that when they are coached it's for their own good & the good of the team.

One thing that stuck with Phil Jackson when he was hired as Chicago Bulls assistant coach was Red Holzmans statement, "It isn't about how great a star player, is himself, its's about how great he makes the player around him." Michael, being coachable, transformed his game from being a scorer to learning how to beat teams without having to score. Even the greatest player in the game allowed himself to be coached.

A truly coachable player has the ability to separate the truth from fantasy.

If you don't believe in you, then why should I or anyone else, for that matter?

Believing is about faith, & faith is holding onto that which you can't see.

The word no is engrained in us. So we learn to play it safe & not take risks.

But when you believe in yourself, you have the power to make positive changes. As they say in Star Trek, "You can go where man has never gone before."

Your mind is your power! We often don't take advantage of the power within us. If you want to be successful, then watch your thoughts. Stop thinking like a chicken when you were created to be an eagle!

The world can be cruel; it places labels on you & tell you that you are not the right color or maybe you don't dress right or maybe you're too short or too big or maybe you talk differently, & we listen to it & start to believe it.

In October of 1998, Coach was hired as an assistant coach at Minnesota Patrick Henry. He was warned that it was a bad job; for the kids lacked discipline & had very little talent.

Coming off a season of being beat in the first round off the sectional play-offs, the school hired a well-known youth pastor who previously coached girl's basketball named Efrem Smith. He was introduced to Efrem in Church & asked if he needed any assistants & was offered the opportunity to volunteer.

Efrem Smith coached with Christian principles & shared Bible lessons to back them up. If God be with me, who can be against me?

Prior to the this game they were coming off one of the biggest runs in Minnesota basketball history with 3 straight state titles, led by standout guard Khalid El-Amin.

On a Friday night in a crowded gym their kids began to understand what it meant to believe. Mike Pettis, was having the game of his life, kept them close, every kid was shouting "I believe, I believe" at the end of regulation in a huddle.

Coach McKenzie was hired as head coach, after Coach Smith left to take a youth pastor job in Dayton, Ohio. Led by three juniors, Johnnie Gilbert, Greg Patton, & Tony Travis, they would return to the state tournament his first season,only to lose in the quarter finals that year.

Their mantra "Refuse to Lose" was born, & in 2003, Minneapolis Patrick Henry joined Southwest Minnesota Christians as the only two teams in state history to win four consecutive titles, all because they learned to believe!

Your attitude can either be your greatest asset or your greatest liability.

It is the foundation of becoming a champion, whether on the court, in the classroom, in the community, or in your family.

For so many coaches the emphasis is skill development, & very little time spent on developing the right attitude & character.

Their daily practice was known as the patriot creed; they repeated it before every game. Nine steps explained in this book. Awesinwe!


Loving to live starts with the understanding that each of us is truly special, made in the image of our Creator.

Successful people want to be around successful people, while misery loves company.

Coach once read if you want to be a millionaire, find one to hang out with, & it makes sense, because they're making deals with people like themselves.

Surround yourself with dream makers not dream killers, not those whose only contribution to you is to bring nothing but negative energy.

Coach understands the pain of young people making bad choices; one of his former players is currently serving life without parole in a California prison. It only takes fifteen - to twenty -seconds lapses in judgment to ruin your life & change your future.

He was an outstanding student-athlete who excelled in football & basketball - a star quarterback & a three-time state champion in basketball. He had star qualities, & he earned a basketball scholarship in pursuit of playing in the NBA.

Young people are faced with challenges that he couldn't even imagine - the lure of hip-hop culture, the information superhighwway, & the influence of music videos & mass media.

When you love to live, what you eat & don't eat becomes important. If you don't take care of your body, it won't take care of you.

Not only is your diet important but so are proper rest & exercise.

When you love to live, you know that you cannot put chemicals into your body.

In a 1968 speech in Atlanta, the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., spoke the words, "Everybody can be great because everybody can serve. He went on to say, "You don't need a college degree to serve. You only need a heart full of grace, a soul generated by love"

Coach's grandmother, Pauline Jones, a very spiritual woman, was there for anybody with a need, whether in the Church or the in the community.

His grandfather, William Jones, served as the neighborhood handyman.

His mom & dad, Lawrence & Retha McKenzie home was where relatives & friends came to relax, get a meal, or to lay their heads. His sister Paula is a nurse, helping those that are sometimes in their weakest moments, & his sister Carla is an administrator with the school system.

Coach was blessed to marry a woman with the same values & upbringing. They ended up taking his niece & nephew after his wife lost her sister to sickle cell anemia.

So when that final horn sounds, & you've scored that last basket in the game of life, Coach hopes your final stats will read as you being the type of player who not only had the ability to score, but was always willing to provide an assist, & your dash will say you were truly a champion.


Coach McKenzie successfully inspires to motivate audiences everywhere to enjoy, achieve, & go from the sidelines to become true players for your business, Church, school, or organization.
Angela Watkins's insight:

http://www.shelfari.com/books/25783732/Basketball-So-Much-More-Than-Just-A-Game/reviews/4423466 ; ... http://angelawatkins57.blogspot.com - http://pinterest.com/angeladwatkins ;

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Review of Holy Spirit Led Prayers

Review of Holy Spirit Led Prayers | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
Book Review . Holy Spirit led Prayers. Pray . Prayers . God . JEHOVAH . Jehovah Rapha . Jehovah Shalom . Jehovah Jireh . Lord . Jesus

I would highly recommend a study of The Doctrine of the Holy Spirit so you will better be able to fully appreciate this book.

My pastor conducted a study with us from around December 2012/January 2013 - November 2013 in this area. I also studied on The Holy Spirit for a quarter in 2007 with our Church.

Now, do I always listen and wait on the The Holy Spirit to lead me and guide me? No, but I am doing better.

This book contains Scriptures from the Old and New Testament such as: Matthew, Psalm, Revelation, I & II Chronicles, Isaiah, Luke, Jeremiah, Job, Nehemiah, I Corinthians, Romans, Titus, John, Deuteronomy, Ephesians, Mark, Hebrews, I John, Lamentations, Daniel, I & II Samuel, Colossians, Genesis, Ecclesiastes, Proverbs, Numbers, Philippians, Zechariah, II Corinthians, Exodus, Jude, and Acts of the Apostles.

Prayer is the only effective secret spiritual weapon that can protect us against the wicked will and intentions of the fallen angels and no man can have this power except that they are in perfect unity with the Holy Spirit.

When you pray, don't be like the hypocrites that love to be seen and heard of men. (Matthew 6:5).

To have use of God's power and authority we must have a personal relationship with HIM. We must obey and abide in God's Word.

Through Christ's perfect atonement of our sins, we acquire benefit of reconciliation with the Holy Spirit of God when we repent from our sins.

There is only One True God and One Mediator between man and God and this is Jesus Christ. As true children of God, we do not just call upon the Name of God when we want something from HIM, we call on HIM to worship, praise and reverence HIS Name which is above all other names.

God's Resurrection answer for mankind came in the form of Jesus Christ. We obtain resurrection power through Christ's death on the Cross and HIS subsequent Resurrection. God's Word is life and truth and Christ as the True Word of God revealed as the Resurrection and life and no man is alive in their soul without the living Christ dwelling in their spirit.

You must acknowledge Christ (Romans 3:23), Confess (I John 1:9), Repent (Mark 1:15), and Believe (John 3:16; Acts 16:29-34) that Christ is the Risen Saviour and Died for ALL Mankind and Sits at the Right Hand of God.

Oh, Lord my King how mighty is Your Name.

Your Spirit is Holy and Your Goodness endures forever.

You are the Great I AM, the Hope and strength of the weak.

You are JEHOVAH Rapha my Healer.

You are JEHOVAH Shalom my Peace.

You are JEHOVAH Jireh my Provider.

You are my Joy, my Power and my Shield. You have ALL Power and Authority, KNOW ALL, SEE ALL, and Present Everywhere At The Same Time.

Feed me daily with your Word and cover my soul with Your Protective Shield and Light.

Protect me daily with the Redemption, Atonement and Remission Power that is in the Blood of Jesus.

Renew my mind daily with Your knowledge of life and enrich my soul with Your wisdom.

Break every yoke of sinful relationships and destroy every ungodly contract of the enemy.

Remove every obstacle from my way and bring down every Goliath spirit seeking to prevent me from occupying the kingship position you have destined and ordained me to occupy.

By Power and Authority of God, I possess all the possessions destined for my use on earth.

Replace blindness with Your Supernatural Vision. Replace loss with Eternal profits and gains.

Prompt me daily with Your Divine Love and teach me to joyfully thank, praise and worship You All the days of my life.

Prevent me from falling into the enemy's wicked trap and equip me in Your Divine Wisdom to always rise above the wiles of the devil.

Help me to avoid corrupt communications and order my will to operate in Your Perfect Will.

Deliver me from foolish ideas and stimulate my mind with Your Perfect thoughts.

You are my healer who healed all my infirmities and in You no sickness shall have power or dominion over me. Lord Jesus You Are my King and Ruler and in You only I am assured of Eternal Life of rest, peace and everlasting joy.

Your Goodness and Mercies follows me everywhere I go and I am forever highly favored and blessed.

Favour me in my daily trials and overcome negative natural circumstances for me with Your Power.

Nullify the evil terms and conditions of dead covenants and segregate me completely from poisonous dead end flesh relationships.

By Your Grace You gave Jacob a Ladder to heaven and through Your Heavenly Ladder You placed his children in line of Your Heavenly inheritance Will. By Your Grace You delivered Israel from Egypt and turned their enemies into dust for them to trample on, and parted the Red Sea for them and met their needs in the wilderness.

You Magnified Joshua for Israel to see that just as You were with Moses so are you with him. By Your Grace, You transported Elijah from earth to heaven with Your Chariot of fire. By Your Grace, You Promised Esther, Daniel, Gideon and the likes of them - in the land of their captivity and through Your Work of Grace upon their life the ungodly testified to the fact that their God is indeed the Only One and True God. By Your Grace, You removed the veil cover of darkness from the eyes of Saul and changed him from Saul the persecuted to Paul the faithful servant. By Your Grace You gave him knowledge of Your Saviour and Resurrection.

By Your Grace, You gave us Eternal Life and we see that Lucifer is forever defeated by the conquering Power of the Lamb.

Pastor Olabisi, is the author of this book. Pastor holds an LLBC (hons) degree in law. Pastor is the founder and Senior Pastor of Freedom House International Ministries.
Angela Watkins's insight:

http://www.shelfari.com/books/36973037/Holy-Spirit-Led-Prayers/reviews/4339754 ... http://angelawatkins57.blogspot.com - http://pinterest.com/angeladwatkins ;

more...
Dorothy R. Cook 's curator insight, April 27, 2015 7:13 AM

YES LORD GOD ALl MIGHTY!!!!!!!!!!!'

Dorothy R. Cook 's curator insight, January 1, 2:27 AM

Lord God thank. You  for preparing the table with Spiritual food that satan cant even ubderstand or eat any of 

Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Angelawatkins Watkins's bookshelf: all (showing 1-30 of 52) (sorted by: date added)

Angelawatkins Watkins's bookshelf: all (showing 1-30 of 52) (sorted by: date added) | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
Angelawatkins Watkins has 52 books on her all shelf: Holy Spirit Led Prayers by Olabisi Obideyi, Independently Raising a Man Thoughts from a Single Mothe...
Angela Watkins's insight:

Some books (Biz/Food-Nurtition/Real Life 101/Christian - you know the story) I've reviewed - some I've read - some I plan to read.... Hoping all will have a safe and happy new year.  If you must drink - do not drive.  Be safe. 

 

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/17841600-angelawatkins-watkins?shelf=%23ALL%23 ... http://angelawatkins57.blogspot.com - http://pinterest.com/angeladwatkins

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Did You Miss Google Top Contributors Too? What It Means

Did You Miss Google Top Contributors Too? What It Means | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
Google Top Contributors help keep the Help forums going, and anyone can get involved. Learn if this is the right choice for you here!
Angela Watkins's insight:

http://www.searchenginejournal.com/miss-google-top-contributors-means-matters/74669/

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Angela Watkins from Public Relations & Social Marketing Insight
Scoop.it!

Content Curation - Provide Quality Content Without Creating It

Content Curation - Provide Quality Content Without Creating It | Book Reviews | Scoop.it

We live in a world full of random information. In many cases, we tend to acquire the new knowledge by accident. We never know if we missed some crucial news. People feel that they are overloaded with the information chaos, that’s why they are looking for new ways to organize it. Content curation can become a cure for this problem. And for brands, it may constitute an opportunity to be of some help for the potential clients....


Via Jeff Domansky
more...
Jeff Domansky's curator insight, October 21, 2015 11:09 AM

Content curation in a nutshell: Drive traffic to your website and attract potential clients thanks to quality content distribution.

Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Leutrell Osborne, Sr.

Leutrell Osborne, Sr. | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
Archive of Osborne's activist and business enterprises
Angela Watkins's insight:

I reviewed Black Man In The CIA & have an autographed copy ... http://leutrellosborne.weebly.com - http://angelawatkins57.blogspot.com - http://pinterest.com/angeladwatkins ;

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Review of Words of Love: Quotations from the Heart

Review of Words of Love: Quotations from the Heart | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
A family-friendly book with words of wisdom about first love, true love, a mother's love, romantic love and marriage from the ancient to modern times.

Nothing's better than a mother's love. - African Proverb

The greatest love is a mother's; then comes a dog; then comes a sweetheart's. - Polish Proverb

I want to make my wife laugh more.l Laughter engenders love. - Rabbi Shumuley Boteach

If you have much, give of your wealth; if you have little give of your heart. - Arab Proverb

Kisses are the messengers of love. - Danish Proverb

Love conceals all of one's faults. - Italian Proverb

Love often makes a fool of the cleverest man, and as often gives cleverness to the most foolish. - French Proverb

The heart that loves is always young. - Greek Proverb

If you judge people, you have no time to love them. - Mother Teresa

A kiss without a mustache is like an egg with salt. - Spanish Proverb

Love is sweet, but tastes better with bread. - Yiddish Proverb

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.l Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. - I Corinthians 13:4-7

Love has no age, as it is always renewing. - Blaise Pascal

Love is a mighty power, a great and complete good. Love alone lightens every burden, and makes the rough places smooth. - Thomas A. Kempis

Love understands love: It needs no talk. - Frances R. Havergal

Love is friendship set to music. - E. Joseph Cossman

Love and you shall be loved. - Ralph Waldo Emerson

There is more pleasure in loving than being loved. - Thomas Fuller

All that we love deeply becomes a part of us. - Helen Keller

To be loved, be loveable. - Ovid

A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person. - Germaine Greer

To fall in love is awfully simple, but to fall out of love is simple awful. - Anonymous

Teenagers don't know what love is. They have mixed up ideas. They go for a drive, and the boy runs out of gas, and they smooch a little and the girl says she loves him. That isn't love. Love is when you are married twenty-five years, smooching in your living room, and he runs out of gas and she says she still loves him. That's love. - Norm Crosby

If you love somebody, tell them. - Rod McKuen

The greatest weakness of most humans is their hesitancy to tell others how they love them while they are alive. - Orlando A. Battista

In real love you want the other person's good. In romantic love you want the other person. - Margaret Anderson

What comes from the heart, goes to the heart. - Samuel Taylor Coleridge

For every beauty there is an eye somewhere to see it. For every truth there is an ear somewhere to hear it. For every love there is a heart somewhere to receive it. - Ivan Panin

Marriage is a lot like the army, everyone complains, but you'd be surprised at the large number that re-enlist. - James Garner

An archaeologist is the best husband any woman can have; the older she gets, the more interested he is in her. - Agatha Christie


This is the way marriage should be:

To have and to hold from this day forward, for better or worse, for richer for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and cherish, till death fo us apart. - The Book of Common Prayer


A successful marriage is an edifice that must be rebuilt every day. - Andre Maurois

Never forget the nine most important words of any marriage: 1. I love you. 2. You are beautiful. 3. Please forgive me. - H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

There is no friendship, no love, like that of the mother for the child. - Henry Wade Beecher

When you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts. A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child. - Sophia Loren

The child who acts unloveable is the child who needs to be loved. - Cathy Rindner Tempelsman

A baby is born with a need to be loved - and never outgrows it. - Frank A. Clark

My best creation is my children. - Diane von Furstenberg

Have you hugged your child today? - Slogan

If you can't hold children in your arms, please hold them in your heart. - Clara Hale

The only thing worth stealing is a kiss from a sleeping child. - Joe Houldsworth

Sometimes it's better to put love into hugs than to put it into words. - Anonymous

Our ability to pray for people and surround them with love makes an enormous difference in how they feel and heal. - Peggy Huddleston

Love is the only force capable of transforming an enemy into a friend. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

Never succumb to the temptation of becoming bitter. As you press for justice, be sure to move with dignity and discipline, using only the weapon of love. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

The final word is love. - Dorthy Day

I was given a free copy of this book tom review by Viva Editions.

Allen Klein is the author of this book.

He is on a mission to deliver joy and get people into the habit of thinking positively. He is the world's only certified Jollytologist@.
Angela Watkins's insight:

http://www.shelfari.com/books/35441810/Words-of-Love-Quotations-from-the-Heart/reviews/3978852 ; ... http://angelawatkins57.blogspot.com - http://pinterest.com/angeladwatkins ;

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Review of Power Up: Taking Charge of Your Financial Destiny

Review of Power Up: Taking Charge of Your Financial Destiny | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
Book Review . Consumer Credit . Credit . Finance . Personal Finance . Debt . Budgets . Personal Budgets . Cheap - Frugal . Shopping Lists . Materialism . Investing . Monthly Income . Needs vs Wants . NASCAR . NFL . NIKE . Frugal Philosophy . Economic Use of Resources . Paco Underhill - Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping . Yard Sales . Hobby Finding . Keeping Up With the Joneses . Loans . Electronic Banking . Walk - Walking - Getting In Shape . Business & Economics . Debt Management

The author (Howard S.Dvorkin, CPA) Marketing Communications/New Media Coordinator sent me a complimentary copy for review. A powerful book of options of how one may gain financial independence which comes from a change mindset & working towards some goals.

I was most honored to receive this book for it is loaded with powerful advice in an easy to understand language coming from a man of his prestige.

The publisher nor author shall not be liable for any loss of profit or any other commercial damages, including but not limited to special, incidental, consequential, or other damages.

Howard S. Dvorkin, CPA is a serial entrepreneur, a two-time author & a personal finance expert. As the Founder of Consolidated Credit Howard is one of the most highly regarded debt & credit experts in the USA & has played an instrumental role in drafting both State & Federal Legislation.

Examples of Cheap-Frugal Lifestyles from one of the author clients'

This client makes a very detail shopping list & sticks to it, & she stops every Sunday at an organic farm that allows customers to pick their own fruits & vegetables.


Her previous routine of buying coffee every morning has been replaced by drinking coffee at home from a coffee maker she found at a yard sale for $3 - & it was still in the box, not used.

Once or twice a month she & the family go to a pizzeria that offers large pizzas for $7.99. It feeds everyone & they all order water with lemon so as not to incur an extra expense - soft drinks & alcoholic drinks are usually outrageously priced compared to wholesale price. They are able to tip the waiter-waitress a slightly higher tip. This is being frugal.

She is actually involving her children in family finances which will have tremendous benefits now & in the future when the children have to run their own household budget. No parent wants to see their children struggle.

The frugal philosophy can become contagious. It's intelligent but it's also a difficult philosophy to adopt & sustain because we've all been programmed to spend - by TV ads, radio commercials, Internet popups & store banners that promulgate "the sale of all sales!"

Be frugal & get more for your money & more for your family. You'll be happier & have a few extra bucks in your savings account to show for it.

The above client ran into a perfect storm, of bad financial issues: She was laid off of work & was overwhelmed by medical bills as a result of an accident her child experienced. She basically lost everything but was determined by the thought of getting her financial privileges back.

She found another job & gathered other employees who lived near her neighborhood. She brought evidence, showing her coworkers how much money they could save on gas if they joined her carpool.

She did the work.

If you have money problems, you need to change your shopping habits & maybe some personal habits.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Choose to eat cereal because it tastes good, but it is also nutritious - & you need to add milk.

This is on the items that one of my Doctors prescribed for me which is Whole Wheat Grain & or Bran.


Many times there are 2-for-1 deals, which is even better. Read the labels & determine which cereal has a good portion of protein & fiber compared to sugar. Cereal may be eaten at any meal.

You not only want to be frugal, but you also want to be healthy.

Look for lunch meat that is on sale or keep peanut butter & jelly in the house.

Most of us don't like to think of ourselves as materialistic or competitive consumers trying to keep up with our neighbors, friends, & work associates. But face it, when the guy at work drives up in a new Lexus & you're driving a 6-year-old car, that pang of envy is real.

The car becomes a status symbol, just as does a cup of java from a gourmet coffee shop.

Understand that comparing the purchase of a cup of coffee & a car is a stretch, but the point is that these things are being observed by you & others.

I read also in January of 2014 that Mark Z. - Facebook CEO is worth Billions & he does not even own a luxury vehicle - how true that is I personally do not know.

The author takes his hat off to the marketers who branded Starbucks. When a simple cup of coffee defines who you are & where you are going in life, it becomes apparent that we are in a trouble as a society. Does a cup of coffee from McDonalds exude a feeling of luxury like a cup of coffee from Starbucks?

If you're a woman you probably know what kind of perfume, lipstick, clothes, & shoes your friends wear. If they are buying brand labels then you probably are too, even if you don't make the same amount of money as they do.

If you happen to associate with people who make more money & you want to keep up with them, then you may become desperate & start using your credit cards for things that you simply cannot afford.

We are going broke trying to maintain our memberships in a perceived class of people.

Men are no different. They will be happy to entertain you by chattering about their top-of-the-line golf clubs, fishing equipment. If a neighbor down the road purchases a John Deere riding mower, you can be sure most of the men have seen it or heard about it.

CD"S are a place to put your savings for a fixed period-until the CD matures, which can range from only a few weeks to several years. Keep in mind that you cannot touch this money as you could in a savings account or other accounts, so you should be positive that you can live without the money you invest in a CD. If you withdraw the funds prior to the maturity date you may be assessed an early withdrawal penalty.

Savings bonds are a way for the government to borrow money. The purchase price is one half of the face value of the bond. Bonds are great for protecting your principal, saving for a child's education, giving as a gift, or generating tax-deferred income for retirement.

IRA's (Traditional individual retirement accounts) are unique in that they allow you to make tax-deductible contributions. Your money through the account, can be invested in stocks, bonds, mutual funds, & other financial vehicles, & the earnings grow tax-free. If you withdraw money before you turn 59 1/2, you will be penalized a rate of 10% plus you will be responsible for paying tax of the amount withdrawn.

With Roth individual retirement accounts you will not receive an income-tax deduction in the year when you make the contribution. You can easily educate yourself on these requirements of the Roth IRA by searching the Web at IRS.gov.

When you invest in a mutual fund, you & other investors will be pooling your money with the help of a fund manager. The fund manager is responsible for investing the collective money into specific securities (usually stocks or bonds). You will be paying a fee for the work that your fund manager does-namely buying the stocks & bonds that best meet the objectives of the fund.

You know what it's like to lose your money, so when you are starting over, be wise, educated, diligent, & informed. You be the boss. Be wary & above all read everything, especially the fine print. And if you don't understand something, ask questions.

There are a variety of fees that you could be charged if you aren't careful.

Electronic banking uses computers & electronic technology as a substitute for checks & other paper transactions.

ATM's are electronic terminals that let you bank almost any time. If the machine you are using is not associated with your bank, the ATM may require a surcharge, or usage fee (which may be 2 or 3 dollars). Having an ATM card or credit card in someone's hands, especially if the account doesn't belong to them, makes people do crazy things.

Direct deposit lets you authorize specific regular deposits, such as paychecks, & Social Security checks to your account. A good trick the author recommends is to increase savings is to split the direct deposit between savings & checking in a reasonable amount to cover your immediate monthly bills & forget you have the savings.

Personal computer banking allows you to conduct many banking transactions electronically by using your personal computer. You may use your computer to view your account balance, request transfers between accounts, & pay bills electronically.

Pay-by-phone systems allow you to telephone your financial institution with directions to pay certain bills or to transfer funds between accounts. You must first notify the institution to make such transfers.

A personal loan is taken out to meet your specific personal needs. The bank will have strict requirements before it lends you this money - meaning that you will need good credit, verification of income, & or proof of other assets. It helps to have a business relationship with the bank in the form of a checking or savings account.

The dealer you are working with usually can procure you an auto loan - depending on your credit history, which you will be working on improving. Taking a 4 or 5 year loan adds 1,000's to the original price. If you like two cars just about the same, the car, that has the lower APR should be your choice.

A home loan is used to buy a home, but there are many factors involved. The lender will analyze your ability to repay the mortgage based on the monthly payment, which will include property taxes & insurance on the property, plus existing monthly bills. There are many home loans, so you should be very careful & do your research to find the loan that you will not only benefit you now but also in the future.

A home equity loan allows a homeowner to borrow against the equity built up in the house. The homeowner is taking a loan out against the value of his or her home. These loans normally command a higher interest risk associated with them in terms of collateral priority.

A signature loan is an unsecured personal loan given at a fixed rate. These loans are used when you need cash for bill consolidation, auto repairs, vacations, emergency cash, taxes, or other personal financial needs.

Some people criticize those of us who try to be frugal. No one likes a cheapskate. Frugal is about being smart. Embracing the frugal philosophy. The dictionary gives us the meaning of frugal: characterized by or reflecting economy in the use of resources.

Think of a great Italian chef preparing a marinara sauce for a special dinner. The chef will use simple, fresh ingredients: tomatoes, garlic, basil, olive oil, salt, & pepper. Simple is better.

Shopping for groceries begin at home. Base your list on meals - think breakfast, lunch, & dinner for your family, whether it's five people of just you.

Plan your dinner meals according to days of the week. Maintaining a certain amount of flexibility allows you to save money.

You'll learn that being prepared & being frugal is smart. You'll save money & time.

Frugal philosophy involves time & money.

Howard & his wife plans meals that are inexpensive, easy to make, & nutritious. Don't forget to reuse your leftovers. If you have chicken from the night before - chop it up, open a can of kidney beans, warm up the chicken & beans, & make tacos or burritos - think ahead, be smart, proactive & always e frugal.

Listed in this book are examples of Monthly Income Worksheets, Revolving Credit Worksheets, Fixed Monthly Expenses Worksheets, Fixed Expense Worksheets & Discretionary Monthly Expenses Worksheets & the proper way to use them.

Your main fixed expenses are the usual suspects: car payment, mortgage, rent, & etc. These entries usually stay consistent from month to month.

Discretionary Expenses are the items that all of us don't necessarily need to comfortably exist but we purchase them anyway. This may not pertain to you or your family, but it's a lesson in using discipline when spending. Take control of these expenses - this is where the devil lives.

Most Americans suffer from the "want syndrome." Some people get so obsessed with what they want that they lose focus on their needs. They literally start to believe that they need a certain type of vehicle or brand of clothing; they make themselves totally convinced.

One of the author's favorite saying is "When the money is in your pocket, you're the boss."

The author & his wife was at an art festival & he liked a chair but the vendor wanted $360. He let the vendor negotiate against himself to get the price was comfortable paying.

The vendor told him "You are tough." He said, "Yes, I am." His wife said "You haven't seen anything yet. You have no idea what I live with." They all started laughing & began to make arrangements for delivery the next day.


Basic needs:

Food

Shelter

Clothing

Employment

Medical

Transportation

Communication

Entertainment


Howard does a very detail examples of pros and cons of how we need to budget & gives easy-to-follow options for maintaining & saving money at the same time.

Remember your hobby ideas; they could be your new source of entertainment.

Having money in a certain way is an escape from the real world. Not having money, unfortunate, has the opposite effect.

Sales aren't always a good thing unless it's for something that you "need." Sometimes abstinence is the better path. If you're at the supermarket stick to your list; if you're going to the mall make a list.

If you're a man & watch golf & see the top golfers with name-brand shirts & clubs, you probably want the same thing. The author has seen NASCAR fans (men & women) modify their cars or trucks like their favorite driver's car. TV coerces us to buy certain products & certain "looks" - as in fashion design.

Advertisers build brand identity, like NIKE & the swoosh. NASCAR is a brand; so is the NFL, just like Gucci or Chanel.

You are out to build your own brand-a brand new you who is smarter & savvier & understands that money is worth more than its monetary value. You are out to build yourself back up from financial crisis.

Materialism & coveting name-brand products is rampant in America. It's not healthy, financially or wise.

Money is to be earned, respected, & saved so that when an emergency occur, or when you need to purchase something that you really do need, you have it.

You are more than the possessions you buy or covet.

Kids watch shows where young girls, probably between 10 & 13, dress in the very latest fashions. They want the same clothes & they don't want us to buy from Kmart. Many parents fall prey to their kid's insistent pressure & buy fashions they can't afford.

In Paco Underhill's book: Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping, he calla the first few steps into a retail store the "transition zone." It's where shoppers transition from the outside world to the retail space. Make a list & stick to it; you'll save money & time.

A hobby is an inexpensive & stimulating method for saving money & expanding your horizons. The author have had clients who took up knitting, fishing, writing, reading, sewing, furniture refinishing, & other creative activities, which granted them a sense of accomplishment without having to spend much money. The idea is to stay away from the places or things that switch on your "spend motor."

We want to save money & fill up our empty time with inspiring, educational, & purpose-packed activities.

You have spare time so why not fill it with something that won't create an additional expense.

Gyms are fine if you can afford them, but there are so many methods for getting into shape if you want to take up as a hobby. Go to a yard sale & or shop that sells used products & you will probably find a workout DVD. You can walk out of your front door & use the world as your treadmill. Groups of men & women walk all the time.

when you commit to doing something that may be difficult, like getting back into shape or learning to play a musical instrument, the reward is so much deeper & the satisfaction at succeeding is uplifting.

There are so many opportunities to improve your financial, physical, & mental well-being. You just need to take advantage of them.

A young client lost everything due to a series of unfortunate issues. He decided one day that he was going to fix his car up. He purchased some car cleaning products on sale & started from the tires up-washing, waxing, & shining-until the car looked almost new. One of his neighbors noticed & asked if he could clean her car. He had nothing better to do; he could either hang out with a few of his buddies at the beach or make some extra money. So he charged her a flat fee of $75, which included the products necessary to do the job. The woman told one of her friends about the great job & soon the author's client was cleaning cars on the side. Not a bad way to use some free time.

Howard S. Dvorkin, CPA success in the personal finance industry landed him columns in Fox Business News as well as has allowed him to be interviewed by countless media outlets over the years including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, Fortune, Entrepreneur, The American Banker, Investor's Business Daily, & Virtually every national & local newspaper in the country. He has appeared as a finance expert on national & local TV & radio programs, including the CBS Nightly News, ABC World News Tonight, The Early Show, Fox News & CNN.
Angela Watkins's insight:

http://www.shelfari.com/books/37184722/Power-Up-Taking-Charge-of-Your-Financial-Destiny/reviews/4415412 ... http://angelawatkins57.blogspot.com - http://pinterest.com/angeladwatkins ;

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Independently Raising A Man (Single Parenting): Book Review

Independently Raising A Man (Single Parenting):  Book Review | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
Book Review . Real Life 101 . Single Parenting Insight & Tips . One Income . Healthy Lifestyle . Positive Environment . Child . Children . Responsibilities & Challenges . Love . Inspirational Thoughts ...........
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Confronting Jezebel - Book Review

Confronting Jezebel - Book Review | Book Reviews | Scoop.it
True Jezebel controllers, however, are out to destroy. Not all control freaks, however, are Jezebels. Keep in mind that Satan always attempts to counterfeit the work of God.
Angela Watkins's insight:

http://ezinearticles.com/?Confronting-Jezebel---Book-Review&id=7230227

more...
No comment yet.