Young Adult Novels
6.3K views | +2 today
Follow
Young Adult Novels
Young adult literature has many amazing genres and sub-genres, let's explore the latest books and hottest topics in YA reading.
Curated by BJ Neary
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Four Questions for... Cassandra Clare

Four Questions for... Cassandra Clare | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
The many fans of Cassandra Clare's The Mortal Instruments series are counting down the days until the March 8 release of 'Lady Midnight,' the first book in a new series, The Dark Artifices.
BJ Neary's insight:
Loved Lady Midnight!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

You Looking at Me? It’s the Attack of the #Facecover : The Booklist Reader

You Looking at Me? It’s the Attack of the #Facecover : The Booklist Reader | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:
I like the Face cover of If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Top 10 Contemporary Middle-Grade Novels, by Daniel Kraus | Booklist Online

Top 10 Contemporary Middle-Grade Novels, by Daniel  Kraus | Booklist Online | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Booklist Online Book Review: Top 10 Contemporary Middle-Grade Novels.Kraus, Daniel (author).FEATURE.First published July, 2016 (Booklist).Books For Youth - Fiction - General Fiction
BJ Neary's insight:
I find middle grade books just as important to read as YA!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Rich in Color | YA Titles for Sports Fans

Rich in Color | YA Titles for Sports Fans | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:
Great diverse YA sports titles
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

The Books of Summer | Read It Forward

The Books of Summer | Read It Forward | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Books and summer go together like hot dogs and ketchup or ice cream and sprinkles. Whether you have a quick getaway planned or a few months off, we're here to tell you about the season's hottest book releases—all perfect for the hottest months of the year. From memoirs and thrillers, to romance and YA, there’s something for everyone—and every beach bag—on this list.
BJ Neary's insight:
Summer recommended reads!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Windows, Mirrors, and Getting the Word Out by Natalie Dias Lorenzi

Windows, Mirrors, and Getting the Word Out by Natalie Dias Lorenzi | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Last fall, I was at work in my school library, assembling materials for a bulletin board. I had the world map stapled up next to a banner that proclaimed: “Books can take you anywhere!”  I printed out covers of books that were set in (or contained subject matter from) every continent, spanning more than 30…
BJ Neary's insight:
Reading as windows, mirrors and connecting!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

8 Great Books about "Bad" Kids

8 Great Books about "Bad" Kids | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Eight YA novels about rebels, misfits, and misunderstood kids.
BJ Neary's insight:
Love bad kid - Kaz from Six of Crows!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of Arrowood

a review of Arrowood | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Thank you to NetGalley, Random House Publishing Group – Random House and Spiegel & Grau for the ARC, Arrowood by Laura McHugh. I was so unsettled as
BJ Neary's insight:
A great crossover novel for YA- psychological thriller
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of The Way I Used to Be

a review of The Way I Used to Be | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
This story about rape and its effects on a freshman in high school was a sucker punch readers will not be able to escape. Rebekkah Ross's narration o
BJ Neary's insight:
A must read about the effects of rape on a young girl
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Celebrating YOU KNOW ME WELL with Outstanding Authors | Teenreads

Celebrating YOU KNOW ME WELL with Outstanding Authors | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Unless you've been living under a rock for the past several years, you're probably familiar with bestselling author David Levithan.
BJ Neary's insight:
David Levithan and Nina LaCour
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Science Fiction and Horror Anime - The Hub

Science Fiction and Horror Anime - The Hub | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Is there a void left in your horror-loving heart by the lack of a new season of Attack on Titan? Hopefully this post will get…
BJ Neary's insight:
Love ShipBreaker and The Fifth Wave titles!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of Saving Montgomery Sole

a review of Saving Montgomery Sole | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
I loved Mariko Tamaki's graphic novel, This One Summer! Montgomery Sole and her friends and their world in school and at home was funny, mysterious, an
BJ Neary's insight:
Mystery, HS friends, and family delivered with humor and comfort
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of When We Collided

a review of When We Collided | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Jonah Daniels is one of six children in a family struggling with the sudden death of a beloved father and a mother who can't get out of bed due to he
BJ Neary's insight:
I will certainly be reading MORE Emery Lord books- teen drama & romance
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Celebrate Pride With Essential LGBTQIA Books for Youth : The Booklist Reader

Celebrate Pride With Essential LGBTQIA Books for Youth : The Booklist Reader | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:
Great list!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Read-alikes: Exploring Gender Identity, by Julia Smith | Booklist Online

Read-alikes: Exploring Gender Identity, by Julia  Smith | Booklist Online | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Booklist Online Book Review: Read-alikes: Exploring Gender Identity.Smith, Julia (author).FEATURE.First published July, 2016 (Booklist).Books For Youth - Fiction
BJ Neary's insight:
I loved George and Lily and Dunkin- not to be missed!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

3 On A YA Theme: Queer Stories That Aren't Tragic

3 On A YA Theme: Queer Stories That Aren't Tragic | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
A look at light YA queer reads that don't end in tragedy.
BJ Neary's insight:
I liked George by Alex Gino (even though it is middle school)
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

21 Hottest Books of Summer

21 Hottest Books of Summer | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
You're going to need a bigger beach bag (or a bigger Want to Read shelf). We've crunched the numbers to bring you the books with the most buzz o
BJ Neary's insight:
Goodreads summer reads!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Classroom Connections: Exploring Russia, by Julia Smith | Booklist Online

Classroom Connections: Exploring Russia, by Julia  Smith | Booklist Online | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Booklist Online Book Review: Classroom Connections: Exploring Russia.Smith, Julia (author).PreS-Grade 8. FEATURE.April 2016 (Book Links).Books For Youth - Fiction
BJ Neary's insight:
In depth bibliography on Russia reads
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

A Safe and Sacred Space

A Safe and Sacred Space | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
YA author Benjamin Alire Saenz on fan mail, safe spaces, and the Orlando shooting.
BJ Neary's insight:
So powerful - through a book author and gays learned to belong to each other!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

100 Must-Read YA Novels in Verse

100 Must-Read YA Novels in Verse | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Dig into these 100 must-read young adult (YA) books written in verse.
BJ Neary's insight:
Reprint from BookRiot- my favorite is October Mourning by Leslea Newman about the Matt Shepard murder
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of I Am Princess X

a review of I Am Princess X | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
A fantastic book/graphic novel about the deep friendship of two young girls. Libby and May were best friends as youngsters but one rainy night Libby an
BJ Neary's insight:
Great, great graphic novel/book about friendship and solving a mystery
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of The Walls Around Us

a review of The Walls Around Us | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
This is a story of guilt and innocence and the main characters are young girls who are either in jail or out in the world, ready to embark on a life o
BJ Neary's insight:
Psychological thriller, oh my!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Books to Add to Your Guy-brary, Part 1 | Teenreads

Books to Add to Your Guy-brary, Part 1 | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Here at Teenreads, we want to encourage everyone to enjoy reading just as much as we do. Lately, however, it seems as though many of our readers are having trouble finding books that speak to them as guys. With that in mind, we decided to curate this collection of books coming out this May-June that feature male protagonists, male narrators, or just plain great storylines that all genders can relate to.
BJ Neary's insight:
Guy books
more...
Blair Broker's curator insight, June 29, 2016 11:19 AM

Looking for books the boys in your classroom might like?  Check this out!

Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Booklist: YA Alternate History - The Hub

Booklist: YA Alternate History - The Hub | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Love books that explore the "what-if"? Alternate history is for readers who wonder what could have been if the past had been a little different.
BJ Neary's insight:
Lots of great titles in this post!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of If I Was Your Girl

a review of If I Was Your Girl | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
OMG what a beautiful story! I loved the character of Amanda Hardy; how she related to her friends, family and Grant. As she moved through her life, fro
BJ Neary's insight:
Love this cover! Amanda was Andrew and now new school and friends...
more...
No comment yet.