Young Adult Novels
6.8K views | +0 today
Follow
 
Young Adult Novels
Young adult literature has many amazing genres and sub-genres, let's explore the latest books and hottest topics in YA reading.
Curated by BJ Neary
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

10 Hilarious Fiction Audiobooks for Your Summer Road Trip

10 Hilarious Fiction Audiobooks for Your Summer Road Trip | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
These 10 hilarious fiction audiobooks to get you through that 10 hour trip to the beach!
BJ Neary's insight:
Funny summer audiobooks
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Booklist: Pride Month Reading - The Hub

Booklist: Pride Month Reading - The Hub | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
June is Pride Month and ALA’s GLBT Book Month both of which celebrate the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, Asexual…
BJ Neary's insight:
AWESOME list of LGBT titles for Pride Month!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of In The Afterlight

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of In The Afterlight | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Oh I loved this series, I did not want it to end- all the kids became my circle of friends, Ruby, Liam, Cole, Zoo, and the other kids labeled as freaks
BJ Neary's insight:
Final book in awesome series; I listened to and loved all 3 audiobboks!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

2017 Margaret A. Edwards Award Winner Sarah Dessen Woos YA Readers

2017 Margaret A. Edwards Award Winner Sarah Dessen Woos YA Readers | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Even after 13 successful books, Sarah Dessen doesn’t take anything for granted. Here, she shares her feelings about the Edwards Award, her process—it involves chocolate—and why writing for teens is so special.
BJ Neary's insight:
Congrats to Sarah Dessen
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Rich in Color | Four books I plan to read this summer

click on title to read post
BJ Neary's insight:
Reading for the summer
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

YACentral's interview with Author, Sonia Belasco

This week we talk with Sonia Belasco, author of SPEAK OF ME AS I AM.
YABC: If you could live in any fantasy world, which one would it be? Sonia: I would love to live in Tortall, the setting of Tamora Pierce's books. I adored her Alanna books when I was younger. The magic in them is so vivid and the characters are relatable and real.
YABC: Do you have a mantra that gets you through the drafting phase? Sonia: On my wall in my office, I have a card framed that someone gave me once. It's a quote by Victor Hugo that says: Perseverance, secret of all triumphs. I think that's my mantra. Just keep going, even when it's frustrating and hard.
YABC: What is your favorite hobby when you're not writing? Sonia: I love music so much, especially going to live music or discovering new artists and sharing them with people.
YABC: Do you enjoy writing to music? If so, do you have a go-to playlist? Sonia: I don't always write to music, but I definitely use music often to create momentum for myself and to get myself in the zone to write. I actually create playlists for everything I write - it's one way that I build the characters and the world I'm writing about. I think about what they might listen to, what kind of music surrounds them, what music captures the mood of a scene.
YABC: What's a book that you've read recently that you would recommend to your readers? Sonia: I loved Leah Henderson's One Shadow on the Wall. It's about an 11-year-old boy in Senegal who's orphaned and has to figure out how to take care of his sisters. It's so beautifully written and has a touch of magic mixed in with the difficult reality this boy struggles with, and it transported me so completely.   SONIA BELASCO has spent much of her professional life working with teenagers as a mentor, tutor and therapist, and she is often inspired by their passion, creativity and strength. She will watch almost any TV show about high school and has seen every contemporary movie that involves dance battles or superheroes. She is a native of Washington, D.C. and currently lives in Philadelphia, PA, where she is trying to acquire a taste for cheesesteak.  SPEAK OF ME AS I AM, her first novel, is due out by Philomel Books/Penguin Random House in 2017.  
BJ Neary's insight:
YACentral author interview
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Rich in Color | Book Review: That Thing We Call a Heart

Click on title for the book review
BJ Neary's insight:
Diverse book but not a really great review
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

An Open Thank You Letter to Kwame Alexander

An Open Thank You Letter to Kwame Alexander | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Dear Kwame Alexander,   Thank you for making us openly weep last year at the ILA conference when you said, “The mind of an adult begins with the imagination of a child,” and “all kids are the good kids”  When we heard you say those words and the room burst into thunderous applause, we knew…
BJ Neary's insight:
Powerful celebratory post about the power of 1 person to get kids, grad students and teachers falling in love with reading and poetry
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Rich in Color | YA Lit List: Queer PoC Protagonists

click on title to read the titles!
BJ Neary's insight:
Great list!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of Never Fade

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of Never Fade | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
OMG OMG OMG loved (could not stop listening) & hated (the things these kids have to endure over and over again is agonizing) this book! Bracken ha
BJ Neary's insight:
The 2nd book is mesmerizing, I listened!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices) | Teenreads

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices) | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again? And the faerie courts are not silent. 
BJ Neary's insight:
Book 2 of the series
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Carte Blanche: The Present and the Prospective, by Michael Cart | Booklist Online

Booklist Online Book Review: Carte Blanche: The Present and the Prospective.Cart, Michael (author).FEATURE.First published June 1, 2017 (Booklist).Books For Youth - Fiction
BJ Neary's insight:
YA trends
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Booklist's 50 Best YA Books of All Time, by Daniel Kraus | Booklist Online

Booklist Online Book Review: Booklist's 50 Best YA Books of All Time.Kraus, Daniel (author).FEATURE.First published June 1, 2017 (Booklist).Books For Youth - Nonfiction
BJ Neary's insight:
some great titles
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

3 On A YA Theme: Celebrate Solstice With Sun-Themed YA Titles

3 On A YA Theme: Celebrate Solstice With Sun-Themed YA Titles | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
YA books with love to the sun in their titles, in honor of the summer solstice.
BJ Neary's insight:
Love these books with sun theme!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of All Day: A Year of Love and Survival Teaching Incarcerated Kids at Rikers Island

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of All Day: A Year of Love and Survival Teaching Incarcerated Kids at Rikers Island | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Liza Jessie's memoir is stunning, compelling honest, and real. Her love for these incarcerated youth on Riker's Island is passionate, unflinching, an
BJ Neary's insight:
Memoir of teaching incarcerated youth at Riker's Island is a MUST READ
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of The One Memory of Flora Banks

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of The One Memory of Flora Banks | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Many thanks for my reading friend, Maureen for this compelling read. I loved Flora, she was mighty, she was brave and oh was she trapped by her memorie
BJ Neary's insight:
LOVED this book!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

What's Up in YA? Jun 19, 2017

click on title to read great author interview
BJ Neary's insight:
Malinda Lo author interview by BookRiot
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Headspace: Uncovering YA Books

Headspace: Uncovering YA Books | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Recently I realized how much covers of YA books about mental health (issues) say about what the book is about. Most covers do – but these in particular. I picked out three books to explain why the cover is so special. 1.      Every Las
BJ Neary's insight:
Loved this mental illness book post
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Featured Review: Speak Of Me As I Am (Sonia Belasco)

Featured Review: Speak Of Me As I Am (Sonia Belasco) | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
About This Book: A moving story of grief, honesty, and the healing power of art—the ties that bind us together, even when those we love are gone. Melanie and Damon are both living in the shadow of loss. For Melanie, it's the loss of her larger-than-l
BJ Neary's insight:
new YA book about teens dealing with loss
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

On the Smugglers' Radar | The Book Smugglers

On the Smugglers' Radar | The Book Smugglers | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
“On The Smugglers’ Radar” is a feature for books that have caught our eye: books we have heard of via other bloggers, directly from publishers, and/or from our regular incursions into the Amazon jungle. Thus, the Smugglers’ Radar was born. Because we want far more books than we can possibly buy or review (what else …
BJ Neary's insight:
Can't wait for the Mindy McGinnis book, I have it pre-ordered!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of Be True to Me

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of Be True to Me | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Wow, what a read, another summer on Sunk Haven in 1976 and Jean and Fritz who have spent their summers sunning, working, and playing are really lookin
BJ Neary's insight:
Read the sneak peek, now I read the book!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of How Dare the Sun Rise: Memoirs of a War Child

bjneary (Oreland, PA)’s review of How Dare the Sun Rise: Memoirs of a War Child | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
I read this book as part of #yearofya June nonfiction twitter chat. Sandra's voice was penetrating in her description of her wonderful family before
BJ Neary's insight:
Awesome read, memoir of a war child
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

How Dare the Sun Rise: Memoirs of a War Child | Teenreads

How Dare the Sun Rise: Memoirs of a War Child | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
This profoundly moving memoir is the remarkable and inspiring true story of Sandra Uwiringiyimana, a girl from the Democratic Republic of the Congo who tells the tale of how she survived a massacre, immigrated to America, and overcame her trauma through art and activism. Sandra tells the story of her survival, of finding her place in a new country, of her hope for the future, and how she found a way to give voice to her people.
BJ Neary's insight:
My #yearofya nonfiction June pick
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Voice of Choice: Bahni Turpin, by Joyce Saricks | Booklist Online

Booklist Online Book Review: Voice of Choice: Bahni Turpin.Saricks, Joyce (author).FEATURE.First published June 1, 2017 (Booklist).Media - Adult Fiction
BJ Neary's insight:
Awesome narrator award
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Read-alikes: The 2017 Printz Winners, by Sarah Hunter | Booklist Online

Booklist Online Book Review: Read-alikes: The 2017 Printz Winners.Hunter, Sarah (author).FEATURE.First published June 1, 2017 (Booklist).Books For Youth - Fiction
BJ Neary's insight:
Read-a-likes
more...
No comment yet.