Young Adult Novels
4.9K views | +0 today
Follow
 
Scooped by BJ Neary
onto Young Adult Novels
Scoop.it!

How The Book Thief Stole My Heart by Trevor Scott Barton

How The Book Thief Stole My Heart by Trevor Scott Barton | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is a wonderful book. A literary friend lent me a copy of it. "I usually buy books on my Kindle," she told me, "But I love this book so much, I got a copy of it for my...
BJ Neary's insight:

Trevor Scott Burton's life changed as a result of The Book Thief and I understand why!

more...
No comment yet.
Young Adult Novels
Young adult literature has many amazing genres and sub-genres, let's explore the latest books and hottest topics in YA reading.
Curated by BJ Neary
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

A Few (Or More) Great New Picture Books

A Few (Or More) Great New Picture Books | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Oh summer, I love you for many reasons; waking up because my children ask me to get up and make them breakfast and not because of the alarm, nights on the deck, lightning bugs, and naps, I am fairly certain, I could be a professional napper.  And the books...oh the books.  How much sweet er…
BJ Neary's insight:
Thanks to AJ Juliano for this tweet I will be getting these for my grandchildren and K daughter teacher!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Interview: June 15th, 2016 | Teenreads

Interview: June 15th, 2016 | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
In JULIA VANISHES, the first book in debut author Catherine Egan's Witch's Child trilogy, Julia has the ability to disappear --- more or less. It's the perfect ability for a thief and a spy. Julia's latest job requires her to infiltrate Ms. Och's mansion and spy on the goings-on of its mysterious residents.
BJ Neary's insight:
Fantasy, magic and mythology in this first of a series!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

3 On A YA Theme: Read 'Em in Pairs Because They're Companions

3 On A YA Theme: Read 'Em in Pairs Because They're Companions | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Love books set in the same world or featuring the same characters but don't want the commitment of a series? Check out some companion novels instead.
BJ Neary's insight:
Books to read in pairs
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Rich in Color | Review: Every Falling Star

Rich in Color | Review: Every Falling Star | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:
Definitely interested in this book!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

On the Smugglers' Radar | The Book Smugglers

On the Smugglers' Radar | The Book Smugglers | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
“On The Smugglers’ Radar” is a feature for books that have caught our eye: books we have heard of via other bloggers, directly from publishers, and/or from our regular incursions into the Amazon jungle. Thus, the Smugglers’ Radar was born. Because we want far more books than we can possibly buy or review (what else …
BJ Neary's insight:
I am definitely going to be reading many of these, especially the 2ns novel from Anna-Marie McLemore, When the Moon Was Ours!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Highly Illogical Behavior | Teenreads

Highly Illogical Behavior | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him. Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But how can she prove she deserves a spot there? Solomon is the answer. Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa thrusts herself into his life, introducing him to her charming boyfriend Clark and confiding her fears in him. Soon, all three teens are far closer than they thought they’d be, and when their facades fall down, their friendships threaten to collapse, as well.
BJ Neary's insight:
great review for a great book!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Read UK: YA Books Set in the United Kingdom - The Hub

Read UK: YA Books Set in the United Kingdom - The Hub | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Thanks to Libba Bray and her Gemma Doyle Series and Cassandra Clare and her Infernal Devices Series, there was never a shortage of books set in…
BJ Neary's insight:
Great List!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Top 10 Best and Worst Book-To-Movie Adaptations by Natalie Dailey

Top 10 Best and Worst Book-To-Movie Adaptations by Natalie Dailey | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Today I would like to present to you a list of book-to-movie adaptations. I'm mainly going by how well the movie stuck to the events in the book. I'm also looking at the writing of the movie and the character development. I'll be considering how well the actors portrayed these characters. I'll also be considering…
BJ Neary's insight:
Like this list of books to movies likes and dislikes!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Why Reading With Kids Matters, At Home And In The Classroom by Annie Thoms

Why Reading With Kids Matters, At Home And In The Classroom by Annie Thoms | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
When I was twelve, my father read me Ursula K. LeGuin’s story “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas.” In this fable, LeGuin imagines a utopian society with a dark secret. Every inhabitant of the beautiful city of Omelas is happy, but their happiness is dependent on the existence of one utterly miserable child, who…
BJ Neary's insight:
Keep them reading!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

New Books Jul 18, 2016

New Books Jul 18, 2016 | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:
A great interview with Brandy Colbert on her new book, diversity and titles she recommends!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Four Questions for... Cassandra Clare

Four Questions for... Cassandra Clare | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
The many fans of Cassandra Clare's The Mortal Instruments series are counting down the days until the March 8 release of 'Lady Midnight,' the first book in a new series, The Dark Artifices.
BJ Neary's insight:
Loved Lady Midnight!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

You Looking at Me? It’s the Attack of the #Facecover : The Booklist Reader

You Looking at Me? It’s the Attack of the #Facecover : The Booklist Reader | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:
I like the Face cover of If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Top 10 Contemporary Middle-Grade Novels, by Daniel Kraus | Booklist Online

Top 10 Contemporary Middle-Grade Novels, by Daniel  Kraus | Booklist Online | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Booklist Online Book Review: Top 10 Contemporary Middle-Grade Novels.Kraus, Daniel (author).FEATURE.First published July, 2016 (Booklist).Books For Youth - Fiction - General Fiction
BJ Neary's insight:
I find middle grade books just as important to read as YA!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Kids of Appetite | Teenreads

Kids of Appetite | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Victor Benucci and Madeline Falco have a story to tell.
It begins with the death of Vic’s father.
It ends with the murder of Mad’s uncle.
The Hackensack Police Department would very much like to hear it.
But in order to tell their story, Vic and Mad must focus on all the chapters in between.
 
 
BJ Neary's insight:
I loved Mosquitoland, I know I will love this!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

This Savage Song | Teenreads

This Savage Song | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city --- a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent --- but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.
BJ Neary's insight:
Definitely loved this review and I am definitely going to get this book!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

A Classroom Culture’s Impact on Students’ Reading Success by Emily Visness

A Classroom Culture’s Impact on Students’ Reading Success by Emily Visness | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
​Inspiring students to read can be challenging. Yes, I realize that is a gross understatement. Middle school students have a reputation for not wanting to do much of anything except socialize with each other and exhibit Great Disdain for adult humans.  However, middle school students are not always disaffected, malcontent, and divisive. At least, not…
BJ Neary's insight:
Finding reading success
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

STEM Girls – Ten Books Featuring Girls Rocking Science by Nancy Castaldo

STEM Girls – Ten Books Featuring Girls Rocking Science by Nancy Castaldo | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Yes, I was a science geek.  I was a girl who looked under rocks, couldn’t wait for dissections in biology class, and was the president of my college science club. That didn’t mean I didn’t love to read, like most girls. I did. In fact, I entered college as a duel Bio/English major. It wasn’t…
BJ Neary's insight:
Great books featuring Girls & Science!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Caffeinated Librarian: Book review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Caffeinated Librarian: Book review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:
A great chat with #2jennsbookclub about an awesome book!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices) | Teenreads

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices) | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Fire Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses. Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles. Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark --- who was captured by the faeries five years ago --- has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind --- and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it.
BJ Neary's insight:
in depth review!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of Lady Midnight

a review of Lady Midnight | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
I always love Cassandra Clare's books about Shadow Hunters and this Midnight Lady certainly did not disappoint! Julian's family tore my heart apart an
BJ Neary's insight:
First in The Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

The 16 Best Young Adult Books of 2016 (So Far)

The 16 Best Young Adult Books of 2016 (So Far) | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
There's no denying that 2016 has been an amazing year for young adult fiction.
BJ Neary's insight:
Some great titles I haven't see yet!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Booklist: Steampunk Reads for Teens - The Hub

Booklist: Steampunk Reads for Teens - The Hub | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Steampunk is a sub-genre of science fiction that is usually set in the late 19th or early 20th century. It’s notable for a unique aesthetic…
BJ Neary's insight:
Steampunk reads!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Hardcover to Paperback YA Book Cover Makeovers, Wow There Are A Ton Coming! Edition

Hardcover to Paperback YA Book Cover Makeovers, Wow There Are A Ton Coming! Edition | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
As I’ve gently suggested in the title of this post, there are a lot of hardcover YA titles getting new looks — and new titles — in their paperback editions. A handful of these are…
BJ Neary's insight:
Love these new covers!!!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Celebrate Pride With Essential LGBTQIA Books for Youth : The Booklist Reader

Celebrate Pride With Essential LGBTQIA Books for Youth : The Booklist Reader | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:
Great list!
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Read-alikes: Exploring Gender Identity, by Julia Smith | Booklist Online

Read-alikes: Exploring Gender Identity, by Julia  Smith | Booklist Online | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Booklist Online Book Review: Read-alikes: Exploring Gender Identity.Smith, Julia (author).FEATURE.First published July, 2016 (Booklist).Books For Youth - Fiction
BJ Neary's insight:
I loved George and Lily and Dunkin- not to be missed!
more...
No comment yet.