Young Adult Novels
Follow
Find
3.2K views | +1 today
Young Adult Novels
Young adult literature has many amazing genres and sub-genres, let's explore the latest books and hottest topics in YA reading.
Curated by BJ Neary
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Raw & Emotional | Book Review: Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Raw & Emotional | Book Review: Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Emotions will run high in Sarah Dessen's latest YA contemporary book, Saint Anything.

Book Review...
BJ Neary's insight:

Definitely getting this book!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Do You Want Fries with That?

Do You Want Fries with That? | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
We're coming up on national waiter/waitress day (May 21!), so I took the opportunity to create a list of books featuring teen waiters/waitress. Add in your favorites in the comments. Diners/Restaurants: All the Rage by Courtney Summers Romy seeks refuge in the diner where she works after no one believes her account of a sexual…
BJ Neary's insight:

Love these waiter/waitress titles- especially All the Rage by Courtney Summers- my goodreads review

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1179323466

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin by Josh Berk - Review by Brett Vogelsinger

The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin by Josh Berk - Review by Brett Vogelsinger | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Some books have a what I consider a “cover identity crisis.”  Covers communicate mood and genre and setting -- and then there are those covers that confound.  The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin is o...
BJ Neary's insight:

Loved this book, my review on Goodreads

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/233481294

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

16 Reasons People Will Always Love Reading YA Novels At Any Age

16 Reasons People Will Always Love Reading YA Novels At Any Age | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
"At the end of the day, YA has always and continues to give me hope." Thanks to the #IReadYA hashtag.
BJ Neary's insight:

I read YA because I can't stop; ya books have so much to say!

#ireadya

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Neary Notes: Top Ten Tuesday - My Top Ten YA Favorites newly published YA books in 2015

Neary Notes: Top Ten Tuesday - My Top Ten YA Favorites newly published YA books in 2015 | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:

My Top Ten Tuesday list - it was a choose your own topic this week:)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

You searched for 3 on a ya theme | Book Recommendations and Reviews | BOOK RIOT

BJ Neary's insight:

Found this on Book Riot - many 3 on a YA Theme books- so awesome!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon.
BJ Neary's insight:

Great fantasy titles like Game of Thrones:) 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

46th Annual Arbuthnot Honor Lecture: Brian Selznick Explores Queerness & The Family in Children’s Books

46th Annual Arbuthnot Honor Lecture: Brian Selznick Explores Queerness & The Family in Children’s Books | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
On Friday evening Brian Selznick delivered the 46th Annual Arbuthnot Honor lecture at Martin Luther King Jr. Library in downtown Washington, D.C.  to a packed house of hundreds of librarians, educators, and youth literature aficionados.  This lecture series was established in 1969 to honor May Hill Arbuthnot, educator, children's literature critic, professor, and author of both the famous…
BJ Neary's insight:

Love this!!!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

a review of Fairest

a review of Fairest | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
I keep thinking about the Title, Fairest. We all know from the other books in the Lunar Chronicles how evil Levana is...so why the title, Fairest? I thought as I read, "mirror, mirror on the wall who's the fairest of all?" Levana grew up insecure with an older sister who was determined to scare her and scar her, why wouldn't Levana want to be beautiful all the time? But She had the gift of using her glamour to make her look like the most beautiful woman ALL the TIME, day in and day out. She loves her kingdom, she proves that she can handle running the kingdom, but she is in lala land abou...
BJ Neary's insight:

I can't wait for Winter!!!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Rich in Color | Book Review: Tiny Pretty Things

Rich in Color | Book Review: Tiny Pretty Things | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:

This sounds great- diverse book with some female characters you really do not LIKE!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Blogging About The Web 2.0 Connected Classroom: Why Librarians Are Awesome #TLChat

Blogging About The Web 2.0 Connected Classroom: Why Librarians Are Awesome #TLChat | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
BJ Neary's insight:

Thank you, Steven W. Anderson for your support of all things LIBRARY and Librarians!!!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Authors, They’re Just Like Us! --- Behind the Scenes at Authors Unlimited 2015 | Teenreads

Authors, They’re Just Like Us! --- Behind the Scenes at Authors Unlimited 2015 | Teenreads | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
While attending Author's Unlimited in Long Island on April 24th, 2015 --- an event where eight YA authors and just short of 200 local teens spent the morning and afternoon together, hanging out in panels, having group discussions and getting their books signed --- I found myself thinking about the US Weekly segment
BJ Neary's insight:

I love Jason Reynolds, read about the other great authors too!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Teachers, Librarians and Authors: Let’s Work Together To Make More Author Visits Happen by Polly Holyoke

Teachers, Librarians and Authors:  Let’s Work Together To Make More Author Visits Happen by Polly Holyoke | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
After I received The Call and sold my first children’s book, I was ready to head right out the door and start doing school visits. I’d been a middle school teacher for many years, and I knew there ...
BJ Neary's insight:

Great idea for author school visits! Get the state assesssments in the presentation:)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

46 Of The Most Beautiful Sentences In YA Literature

46 Of The Most Beautiful Sentences In YA Literature | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
“That’s the thing about pain. It demands to be felt.” —John Green
BJ Neary's insight:

I have lots of quotes from All the Bright Places, I Was There, I'll Give You the Sun on my Goodreads reviews, check them out!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

For Romance Lovers | Book Review: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

For Romance Lovers | Book Review: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
A sexy new YA contemporary - Nowhere But Here - coming atcha!

Book Review: Nowhere But Here by Ka...
BJ Neary's insight:

I like Katie McGarry books, so I will definitely try this series, hope it is like Pushing the Limits!!!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Top Ten Tuesday {30}

Top Ten Tuesday {30} | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish This weeks Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie and so I chose to do… Top Ten Fairytale Re-tellings 10. Red Riding Hood by Sarah Blak...
BJ Neary's insight:

Great list of Fairy Tale re-tellings for Top Ten Tuesday!.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

3 On A YA Theme: Realistic Fairy Tale Retellings

3 On A YA Theme: Realistic Fairy Tale Retellings | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
YA retellings of fairy tales in a realistic setting!
BJ Neary's insight:

I can't wait to read the latest Tiffany Schmidt retelling of Princess and the Pea!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Lauren Oliver: I lost a boy I loved in my 20s and it changed me

Lauren Oliver: I lost a boy I loved in my 20s and it changed me | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Lauren Oliver, author of the Delirium trilogy and Before I Fall, talks to site member Hetty99 about her latest book, Vanishing Girls, and how it feels to be compared to Shakespeare
BJ Neary's insight:

I love Lauren Oliver and I currently have Vanishing Girls next to my bed to read, can't wait!

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by BJ Neary from Boys and Reading
Scoop.it!

Reading promotion | Services to Schools

Reading promotion | Services to Schools | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Reading promotion gives you the chance to raise the profile of books and reading in your school, while at the same time sharing your passion for high-interest titles, favourite authors, and the joy of living a bookish life.

Via Heather Stapleton
BJ Neary's insight:

Thanks to Heather Stapleton, great ideas to keep students reading!!!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

The Selection by Kiera Cass - Review by Stephanie Michelle

The Selection by Kiera Cass - Review by Stephanie Michelle | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
If you are a fan of The Bachelor, you will like The Selection - it has the same general idea of boy choosing one girl amongst many, but with political themes lingering in the background and, of cou...
BJ Neary's insight:

A series I have not read yet- based on this review, I am going to start!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Students Love Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

Students Love Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
A few months ago I started a staff book club so more teachers could read and get together to discuss books that will appeal to our students. One of the books we read is Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes ...
BJ Neary's insight:

If the students love it, WOW! I am definitely going to read this, I love mysteries too

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

Make a Little Time to Read by Ruth Duran-Chea

Make a Little Time to Read by Ruth Duran-Chea | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Life is busy. We have plenty to do with work, chores, errands, extra-curricular activities, more work, and everything else that we do between getting up in the morning and going to bed at night so ...
BJ Neary's insight:

I loved this post and the titles Ruth has read and loved:)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BJ Neary
Scoop.it!

10 Best Dark Books

10 Best Dark Books | Young Adult Novels | Scoop.it
Picked by Amelia Gray.
BJ Neary's insight:

If you like this genre, Amelia Gray has chosen 10 greats!

more...
No comment yet.