Young Adult Books
Follow
Find
10.4K views | +0 today
 
Scooped by Eric Bateman
onto Young Adult Books
Scoop.it!

Top Ten Best and Worst Series Enders

Top Ten Best and Worst Series Enders | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

I couldn’t decide between 10 best or 10 worst series, so I went halfsies. While thinking of books for this post, I realized something very disturbing- I’m a series quitter. There are SO MANY series I’ve never finished!

more...
No comment yet.
Young Adult Books
The latest news in books for teens and anybody who enjoys reading!
Curated by Eric Bateman
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Monday Morning Book Buzz

Monday Morning Book Buzz | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Welcome to the Monday Morning Book Buzz, a preview of notable books being released this week.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Commentary: Looking for nonwhite faces in YA literature - The State Journal-Register

Commentary: Looking for nonwhite faces in YA literature - The State Journal-Register | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

As a straight white teenage female, it has never really been hard for me to find books with characters I could relate to. I can go to any Barnes and Noble and immediately find a book with a character just like me.

 

But people who don’t fall under the categories of straight or white can have more trouble finding novels with people just like them in it.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Top 10 Quotes I Loved From YA Books I Read In 2015

Top 10 Quotes I Loved From YA Books I Read In 2015 | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
There’s something about marking beautiful passages in books that really gets me. These YA book quotes are some of my favorites of 2015!
Top 10 Quotes I Loved From YA Books I Read In 2015

1.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

What We Left Behind by Robin Talley | SLJ Review

What We Left Behind by Robin Talley | SLJ Review | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

High school’s perfect queer couple, Toni and Gretchen, navigate changes in their relationship freshman year as they attend separate colleges and form new friendships.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Neal Shusterman Takes NBA Prize for “Challenger Deep”

Neal Shusterman Takes NBA Prize for “Challenger Deep” | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Brendan Shusterman (left) and Neal Shusterman at the NBA ceremony.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

How do you write for teenagers?

How do you write for teenagers? | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Sitting on buses, listening to slang or remembering back to their own adolescence, authors including Louise O’Neill, Patrick Ness, Annabel Pitcher, Melvin Burgess, Benjamin Zephaniah tell all
How do you think writers should capture teen voices?
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Teen Read Week - Interview with Evangeline Denmark

Teen Read Week - Interview with Evangeline Denmark | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

YA authors love Teen Read Week as much as YA fans! Were psyched that the talented team at BookSparks got a chance to sit down with Evangeline Denmark, author of CURIO, to talk about what inspires her to write for teens, how she is celebrating Teen Read Week and more. 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Rediscover the joy of reading with monthly subscription boxes - Tullahoma News and Guardian

Rediscover the joy of reading with monthly subscription boxes - Tullahoma News and Guardian | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Tullahoma News and Guardian Rediscover the joy of reading with monthly subscription boxes Tullahoma News and Guardian So not only did I get two great young adult (YA) books with the two packages, I also got several fandom trinkets to enjoy when I...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Fight back! Why we need angry girls in YA

Fight back! Why we need angry girls in YA | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Real young adults need to see fictional ones self-destructing or fighting back because it’s ok to be angry, says CJ Skuse, who admires girl power at its rawest and finest in fiction
There’s an angry girl in all my books.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Teens Review Latest from Joelle Charbonneau, Stephan Pastis, and More

Teens Review Latest from Joelle Charbonneau, Stephan Pastis, and More | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

The young adults at the Kitsap (WA) Regional Library share their thoughts on Joelle Charbonneau’s latest dystopian, Gareth Jones’s time travel adventure, and Stephan Pastis’s newest “Timmy Failure” book.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, Illustrated Edition – in pictures

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, Illustrated Edition – in pictures | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

From the multi-coloured sorting hat, to the sinister Snape to the red glow of Ron’s hair, we revel in Jim Kay’s glorious pictures for the new illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan | SLJ Review

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan | SLJ Review | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Fans of Percy Jackson and “Kane Chronicles” books will not be disappointed in Rick Riordan’s newest series based on Norse mythology, “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard.” 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Hope & Beauty | Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Hope & Beauty | Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Some books take a lot of concentration and thought to parse out, gather meaning and process. Then, there are books like Everything, Everything, whose prose are as smooth as butter.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

New Adult Books 4 Teens

New Adult Books 4 Teens | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

In addition to reviews for books written for teens (both fiction and nonfiction), I also read reviews for books written for adults that have teen appeal (the Adult Books 4 Teens column at School Library Journal is an incredibly useful resource for this reason). Here are some recent adult fiction titles we’ve added to the collection that are also recommended for teen readers…

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Rainbow Rowell: 'We need and love fantasy because it frees us from our own existence'

Rainbow Rowell: 'We need and love fantasy because it frees us from our own existence' | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

The author of Fangirl talks to teen site member Patrick Sproull about her new fantasy novel Carry On, why it’s ok for Chosen One stories to tread familiar ground and her graphic novel plans

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Tired of Reading Books About Thin, White Girls? How One Teen Is Bringing More ... - Seventeen Magazine

Tired of Reading Books About Thin, White Girls? How One Teen Is Bringing More ... - Seventeen Magazine | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Ellie Pindolia chats with us about her #FreeYourBody campaign on Wattpad.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Books To Be Thankful For

Books To Be Thankful For | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Contributors
Kate F.


As Thanksgiving rolls around, I always find myself in awe of the amount of things each and every one of us has to be thankful for.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Flame Out | “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay—Part 2″ Movie Review

Flame Out | “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay—Part 2″ Movie Review | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Katniss Everdeen brandishes her lethal bow and makes her final bow in the film finale of Suzanne Collins’s “Hunger Games” trilogy.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Why I'm fighting to get teenagers into libraries

Why I'm fighting to get teenagers into libraries | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
Like most authors Alexia Casale is fiercely passionate about the value of libraries and the transformative power of books – so she developed YA Shot, a library-based teen lit festival and a year-long legacy programme of author visits – and wants to...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

New Releases!

New Releases! | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Lots of great books came out on Tuesday, including these — now available at CA Library!

 

Dead Investigation by Charlie Price — Murray Kiefer is a boy who lives in a cemetery and can talk with those buried beneath the tombstones.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Book review: 'Spinning Starlight' is a sci-fi retelling of 'Wild Swans' - Deseret News

Book review: 'Spinning Starlight' is a sci-fi retelling of 'Wild Swans' - Deseret News | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it
"Spinning Starlight" by R.C. Lewis is an imaginative interplanetary sci-fi version of Hans Christian Andersen's "The Wild Swans."
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

UnBan a Book Week: THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky

UnBan a Book Week: THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Charlie is your average “wallflower” in THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky, but everything changes when he meets some older kids at school. For the first time, he experiences true friends, young love, the glory that is The Rocky Horror Picture Show and some truly difficult aspects of growing up.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

James Dawson: how I stopped hating poetry and became a poet

James Dawson: how I stopped hating poetry and became a poet | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

When teen author James Dawson was growing up he dreaded poetry lessons, but the fuzzy line between songwriting and poetry slowly changed all that – and now he’s finally out of the poetry closet

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Eric Bateman
Scoop.it!

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | SLJ Review

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | SLJ Review | Young Adult Books | Scoop.it

Readers of Rowell’s Fangirl (St. Martin’s Griffin, 2013) have already had a glimpse at the world of Simon Snow, but now Rowell turns the full force of her imagination on the Watford School of Magic and those connected to it.

more...
No comment yet.