YAFic
Follow
Find
552 views | +0 today
 
Scooped by Jessica Neville
onto YAFic
Scoop.it!

DNF Review: The Time Travelers - Literature Young Adult Fiction

DNF Review: The Time Travelers - Literature Young Adult Fiction | YAFic | Scoop.it
Reviewed by First Mate Keira Title: The Time Travelers (The Gideon Trilogy, Book 1) Author: Linda Buckley-Archer Format: Hardback Page Count: 416.
more...
No comment yet.
YAFic
A survey of what's new and hot!
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Check out the best YA fiction of 2015 - Lynchburg News and Advance

Check out the best YA fiction of 2015 - Lynchburg News and Advance | YAFic | Scoop.it
The Young Adult Library Services Association of the American Library Association has released a list of young adult fiction believed to be the best 2015 has to offer.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

February Debut YA Novels

February Debut YA Novels | YAFic | Scoop.it
For what's usually a fairly quiet month in publishing, February is heavy on debut YA titles this year. Like always, this round up includes debut novels with "debut" in its purest definition. These are first-time books by first-time authors.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories

Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories | YAFic | Scoop.it
However, lately writers and readers alike have pointed out that there isn't enough diversity in YA fiction (and admittedly in all forms of mainstream and popular media). What does that mean? Simply put, there are few writers of ...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

The best in young adult fiction: Three books to check out now - The Globe and Mail

The best in young adult fiction: Three books to check out now - The Globe and Mail | YAFic | Scoop.it
The best in young adult fiction: Three books to check out now
The Globe and Mail
Clod Iremonger, living in an alternate London in a grand mansion called Heap House, is part of a family responsible for “The Heaps” – great piles of trash.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Movie review: 'The Giver' strong on ideas, just OK on action - Salt Lake Tribune

Movie review: 'The Giver' strong on ideas, just OK on action - Salt Lake Tribune | YAFic | Scoop.it
Movie review: 'The Giver' strong on ideas, just OK on action Salt Lake Tribune Before "The Hunger Games" and "Divergent" and a slew of imitators of dystopian young-adult fiction, there was "The Giver," Lois Lowry's acclaimed 1994 novel of a...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

If I Stay Movie Review

If I Stay Movie Review | YAFic | Scoop.it
I had the opportunity to go to an advance screening of If I Stay last week, courtesy of Rainy Day Books, my favorite Kansas City Independent bookstore.
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Jessica Neville from Snazal Books, Leicester
Scoop.it!

Maze Runner Series 4 books Set Collection James Dashner

Maze Runner Series 4 books Set Collection James Dashner | YAFic | Scoop.it
The Maze Runner is the first book in a young-adult dystopian science fiction trilogy of the same name by James Dashner. Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

Via Snazal Leicester
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Mark Twain's Famous Outcasts Float Through Three Centuries

Mark Twain's Famous Outcasts Float Through Three Centuries | YAFic | Scoop.it
Huck Finn and his friend Jim float down the Mississippi through the Jim Crow South and Hurricane Katrina in a new book called The Boy and his Winter. NPR's Scott Simon talks with author Norman Lock.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

The Amulet of Samarkand, by Jonathan Stroud

The Amulet of Samarkand, by Jonathan Stroud | YAFic | Scoop.it
This is the first installment in The Bartimaeus Trilogy. The story focuses on young Nathaniel, a magician’s apprentice beginning his training in the art of magic.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Novel Notions: Mean Girls in Young Adult Fiction - D. S. McKnight

Novel Notions: Mean Girls in Young Adult Fiction - D. S. McKnight | YAFic | Scoop.it
There are people who would prefer that the stereotypical mean girl, who so often appears in young adult fiction, would go the way of the dodo bird. But why? Literature is sprinkled with femme fatale characters who use their ...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Young Adult: for the not so young too? - Foyles

Young Adult: for the not so young too? - Foyles | YAFic | Scoop.it
Foyles
Young Adult: for the not so young too?
Foyles
Many readers dismiss Young Adult (YA) fiction as childish and undemanding, but the market amongst adult readers is growing rapidly.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

5 Books With Girl Muscle: Strong Female Leads In Youth Literature

5 Books With Girl Muscle: Strong Female Leads In Youth Literature | YAFic | Scoop.it
Here are just a few young adult books with strong female leads for that child or teen with no interest in checking 'Twilight' out of the library this year, but still looking for a female protagonist.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

The Woman Behind Marvel's Newest Team Of Heroines

The Woman Behind Marvel's Newest Team Of Heroines | YAFic | Scoop.it
G. Willow Wilson says it's been a blast creating a team of all-female Avengers for the new Marvel Universe coming in May. "We really got no directives besides 'Pick your team and go nuts,' " she says.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Cover Reveal: EVOLUTION by Stephanie Diaz

Cover Reveal: EVOLUTION by Stephanie Diaz | YAFic | Scoop.it
We're so excited to host a cover reveal for the final installment in the EXTRACTION series by Stephanie Diaz.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Melvin Burgess: "Junk was one of the first teen books: I invented the territory." - The Guardian

Melvin Burgess: "Junk was one of the first teen books: I invented the territory." - The Guardian | YAFic | Scoop.it
The Guardian Melvin Burgess: "Junk was one of the first teen books: I invented the territory." The Guardian Melvin Burgess: "Junk was one of the first teen books: I invented the territory." Junk, Doing It, Kill All Enemies: YA author Melvin Burgess...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

What Is the Price of Perfect Equality? - The Atlantic

What Is the Price of Perfect Equality? - The Atlantic | YAFic | Scoop.it
What Is the Price of Perfect Equality?
The Atlantic
Families are a problem held in common by young adult novels and Marxist economics, which is why it is common to the point of cliché to kill off the parents at the beginning of bildungsromans.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

No, Dystopian Sci-Fi Isn't Bad for Society. We Need It More Than Ever - Wired

No, Dystopian Sci-Fi Isn't Bad for Society. We Need It More Than Ever - Wired | YAFic | Scoop.it
No, Dystopian Sci-Fi Isn't Bad for Society.
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Jessica Neville from Writers & Books
Scoop.it!

Stereotypes in Children’s books: Gender, Race and Sexuality

Stereotypes in Children’s books: Gender, Race and Sexuality | YAFic | Scoop.it
Gender, race and sexuality are prevalent stereotypes in children’s fiction, from picture books to young adult fiction.
Via bobbygw
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Rainbow Rowell interview: "YA books teach you that your weird stuff is normal." - The Guardian

Rainbow Rowell interview: "YA books teach you that your weird stuff is normal." - The Guardian | YAFic | Scoop.it
The Guardian Rainbow Rowell interview: "YA books teach you that your weird stuff is normal." The Guardian How important do you think YA fiction is for teenagers in general, especially when this genre is often criticized for having some adult...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Kendall And Kylie's YA Book Is So Close We Can Smell The Dystopia - Emag.co.uk

Kendall And Kylie's YA Book Is So Close We Can Smell The Dystopia - Emag.co.uk | YAFic | Scoop.it
Emag.co.uk
Kendall And Kylie's YA Book Is So Close We Can Smell The Dystopia
Emag.co.uk
YA fans: The moment you've been waiting for is finally here.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Young adult fiction picks for everyone | The Daily Circuit Blog ...

Young adult fiction picks for everyone | The Daily Circuit Blog ... | YAFic | Scoop.it
Young adult fiction is not just read by teens. From The Hunger Games to The Fault in Our Stars, the genre has grabbed the hearts of many adults, including Kerri's. She came upon a list of recommendations on Flavorwire- 15 ...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

If You Want To Teach Kids History, Try Grossing Them Out First

If You Want To Teach Kids History, Try Grossing Them Out First | YAFic | Scoop.it
Grown-ups might not "get it," but subjects like bugs and poop can make history lessons a little more palatable for middle schoolers. Author Sarah Albee says she writes books for her inner 12-year-old.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jessica Neville
Scoop.it!

Book News: Harper Lee Agrees To E-Book Version Of 'To Kill A Mockingbird'

Book News: Harper Lee Agrees To E-Book Version Of 'To Kill A Mockingbird' | YAFic | Scoop.it
Also: J.K. Rowling says her mother never knew about Harry Potter, and George R.R. Martin on drones.
» E-Mail This
more...
No comment yet.