Y.A. Australian B...
Follow
711 views | +0 today
Y.A. Australian Books for Boys
Promote reading for Australian teenagers
Curated by Wilma Carter
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

Compassionate Killing: the New Darling of Teen Lit

Compassionate Killing: the New Darling of Teen Lit | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
Could it influence the next generation of voters, even those who've been taught better?
Wilma Carter's insight:

Read this and think. What values creep in to our unconscious while we are enjoying a good read?

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

Paper Breaths of David James: On Multiculturalism and Diversity in Marie Lu's Legend and Prodigy

Paper Breaths of David James: On Multiculturalism and Diversity in Marie Lu's Legend and Prodigy | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
Wilma Carter's insight:

A review with a difference.

Legend and Prodigy are great reads as well!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

Books On Screen 2013 | Teenreads

Books On Screen 2013 | Teenreads | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
We at Teenreads.com know that you want to read the book before the movie hits the theaters...So we're here to help! We've compiled the 2013 movies that are adapted from YA and adult books that you're sure to enjoy.
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Book Trailers for Middle School
Scoop.it!

Bruiser by Neal Shusterman book trailer

There's a reason why Brewster can't have friends—why he can’t care about too many people. Because when he cares about you, things start to happen. Impossible things that can’t be explained. I know, because they’re happening to me.

 

When Brontë starts dating Brewster “Bruiser” Rawlins—the guy voted Most Likely to Get the Death Penalty—her twin brother, Tennyson, isn’t surprised. But then strange things begin to occur. Tennyson and Brontë’s scrapes heal unnaturally fast, and cuts disappear before their eyes. What at first seems like their good fortune turns out to be more than they bargained for . . . much more.


Via TimothyThomas
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

Colin Fischer by Ashley Edward Miller & Zack Stent

Colin Fischer by Ashley Edward Miller & Zack Stent | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
Wilma Carter's insight:

This is a milder version of the Curious incident of the Dog in the Nighttime. It is an easy and entertaining read with an up-beat ending.

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from iPad Apps in the Classroom
Scoop.it!

Collaborative Popplet - Great YA Reads by Genre

Popplet is the best app for sharing visual ideas.

Via Julie Millan
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Graphic novels in the classroom
Scoop.it!

How Comics Help Students Retain Knowledge is a Growing Field of Study

How Comics Help Students Retain Knowledge is a Growing Field of Study | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
A new study showing that comics help students recall verbatim knowledge is the latest in a growing field of study on how graphic novels can be used to aid in teaching and communication.

Via dilaycock
more...
Susan Timmons's curator insight, July 17, 2013 2:47 PM

Exciting new graphic novels coming out soon from Josh Elder and Scott McCloud!

Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

The Brotherband Chronicles

The Brotherband Chronicles | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it

Hal is the classic underdog-come-good.

The Outcasts by John Flanagan
written for ages 11-14 | recommended
published in 2012 (2011) | Puffin | 464 pages

 

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Boys and Reading
Scoop.it!

Ask Lorna: thrillers to satisfy teenage boys - Telegraph

Ask Lorna: thrillers to satisfy teenage boys - Telegraph | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it

"As a schoolteacher friend told me this week, no matter how much you might try to promote stand-alone books, it’s the series novels that really inspire devotion, whether Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider, Joe Craig’s genetically modified assassin Jimmy Coates or Michael Grant’s Gone, the latest craze, set in a world in which the adults have mysteriously vanished – surely the ultimate teenage fantasy."


Via Heather Stapleton
more...
Heather Stapleton's curator insight, January 21, 2013 9:40 PM

Series books are very popular with boys and often continue to be when they are adults, eg recent post in The Gadsden Times - "David Murdock: Reading series books a pleasure, fiction or non-fiction."  http://bit.ly/VlFkiR

Lorna Bradbury also recommends recent solo thrillers.

Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

How our schools are robbing students of the joy of reading

How our schools are robbing students of the joy of reading | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
Books should be a pleasure in themselves, not merely a prompt for study.
Wilma Carter's insight:

Article for thought.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

TLT: Teen Librarian's Toolbox: Book Review: Pirate Cinema by Cory Doctorow

TLT: Teen Librarian's Toolbox: Book Review: Pirate Cinema by Cory Doctorow | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it

Pirate Cinema is set in a futuristic science fiction dystopia that's coming closer and closer to reality with each passing day, where pirating content off the Internet can get you in serious trouble.

Definitely good for your techie teens, and your higher reader teens

Pirate Cinema is nominated for a 2012 Cybils Award in the Teen Science Fiction/Fantasy category.

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Young Adult Books
Scoop.it!

Why criminals are the new vampires in YA fiction

Why criminals are the new vampires in YA fiction | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it

We all know YA literature has surges where certain genres become huge and really popular: lately, it's been magic, spies, vampires, angels and contemporary stories. So what could possibly be next? Personally, I think it's going to be crime.

 

 


Via Eric Bateman
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

The Reading Stack: Blue Noise

The Reading Stack: Blue Noise | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
Reviewed by Barbara Brown There’s an electric guitar rock playing boy. There’s a classical pianist girl. And then there’s a blues band. What happens when you throw these three things together? Blue Noise.
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Graphic novels in the classroom
Scoop.it!

Bring History Alive Through Graphic Novels: Normandy | GeekDad | Wired.com

Bring History Alive Through Graphic Novels: Normandy | GeekDad | Wired.com | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it

Normandy starts with the planning of the invasion, moving into its execution, and even includes what came afterward, what was done to hold the ground gained. It culminates with the Allies arriving in Paris.


Via dilaycock
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from eBooks, eReaders, and Libraries
Scoop.it!

Introducing the Book as iPad App

Slides for ALA webinar, March 1, 2013.

Via Buffy J. Hamilton
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

The Reading Stack: Siren’s Storm

The Reading Stack: Siren’s Storm | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it

It is twelve months since Will, his brother Tim and his neighbour Gretchen went sailing on Tim’s boat. Two boys went out but only one returned. Tim’s body was never found and Will cannot remember anything. A scar on Will’s face and a burnt sail. What happened that night?

Siren’s Storm is a book of myths and fantasies set in a modern day tale. Brilliant. If you loved to read about Jason and the Argonauts, as I did as a child, you will love this book

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

Catch the Zolt: The Debt Instalment One

Catch the Zolt: The Debt Instalment One | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
Book One of a high-octane thriller series. Fifteen-year-old Dom is cast out of his comfortable life in the Gold Coast's Halcyon Grove when he inherits an ancient debt. Now, he has six Herculean tasks to perform...or lose a pound of flesh.
Wilma Carter's insight:

An exciting new series from phillip Gwynne

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Graphic novels in the classroom
Scoop.it!

YALSA reveals 2013 Great Graphic Novels for Teens - Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources

YALSA reveals 2013 Great Graphic Novels for Teens   - Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
The Young Adult Library Association has unveiled the 2013 Great Graphic Novels for Teens, a list of 55 titles that cover the spectrum from biography and mythology to superheroes and science fiction.

Via dilaycock
more...
Brandon Maze's curator insight, April 22, 2013 6:22 PM

Cool little list

Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Boys and Reading
Scoop.it!

MIND MELD: Science Fiction / Fantasy Book Recommendations for Teens 13-16

MIND MELD: Science Fiction / Fantasy Book Recommendations for Teens 13-16 | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it

A great list of YA/MG science fiction and fantasy books for reluctant (and not so reluctant) readers selected by panelists, including popular YA authors.


Via Heather Stapleton
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Boys and Reading
Scoop.it!

Boys’ love of reading | Scandinavian Library Quarterly

"Many young people in Denmark prefer reading magazines and e-papers, whereas fiction and scientific literature is less popular. This is an indication of a move towards a different reading tradition. Many boys like reading on a screen and experience and create the stories through for example a game universe. We therefore have to think differently to catch their attention. One way is to offer them different reading platforms. Smartphones, tablets, magazines, computer games, graphic novels even audio books can improve the boys’ reading skills.

One way of reaching this group of boys would be to offer them different forms of reading instead of viewing the alternative media as a barrier. Instead of fighting against different media we have to evolve with the changing reading habits of young boys."


Via Heather Stapleton
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix - Teaser Book Trailer 2

A grand adventure that spans galaxies and lifetimes, A Confusion of Princes is a page-turning thriller, a tender romance, and a powerful exploration of what ...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Wilma Carter
Scoop.it!

Fact + Fiction = Fantastic: Fiction Readalikes for Bomb by Steve Sheinkin

Fact + Fiction = Fantastic: Fiction Readalikes for Bomb by Steve Sheinkin | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
Bomb: The Race to Build — and Steal — the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin is one of the finalists for the 2013 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults.
Wilma Carter's insight:

The Gadget by Paul Zindel
Near the end of World War II, scientists in Los Alamos, New Mexico, are working on a project that will alter the fate of the world. Thirteen-year-old Stephen Orr is living at a top secret military base with his father who is a leading physicist building the atomic bomb. A scientist alerts him to disasters that could come from The Gadget. Stephen feels it is up to him and his friend Tilanov to find the answers that lie behind this veil of secrecy.

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from Readers Advisory For Secondary Schools
Scoop.it!

Fantasy books for young-adults

Fantasy books for young-adults | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it

"Young-adult fantasy is in the main, written for, published for, or marketed to readers between the ages of 12 and 18. For the purposes of this page we have decided to feature books that we believe are both aimed at the YA market and also feature a young adult as the main character. And so therefore coming-of-age also plays a large part in the books we have chosen. Many of the books will be familiar but we hope there are also a few surprises that allow you to discover some great new titles."

This is an excellent place to start if you want to get a grasp of the genre. I like the overlap with adult titles and the combination of classic and new.


Via Marita Thomson
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Wilma Carter from librariansonthefly
Scoop.it!

10 Books Making Creative Use of QR Codes

10 Books Making Creative Use of QR Codes | Y.A. Australian Books for Boys | Scoop.it
QR codes are those square pixelated barcodes you may have seen popping up on consumer products, advertisements and even television shows.

Via Jon Samuelson, Ann Vega
more...
No comment yet.