Writer, Book Revi...
Follow
Find
1.3K views | +0 today
Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Readers & Reviews of The Debt Diet: An Easy-to-follow Plan To Shed... by Ellie Kay

Readers & Reviews of The Debt Diet: An Easy-to-follow Plan To Shed... by Ellie Kay | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Readers and reviews of The Debt Diet: An Easy-to-follow Plan To Shed Debt And Trim Spending by Ellie Kay. More book information, what your friends think and Shelfari member reviews.
Angela Watkins's insight:

When Ellie Kay and her husband were married they had $40,000 worth of consumer debt & in 2 1/2 years they were debt free.  This is a great book to have in your library.  Resourceful urls/websites enclosed in this book as well.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Readers & Reviews of Living Worship: A Biblical Guide to Making... by John Randall Dennis

Readers & Reviews of Living Worship: A Biblical Guide to Making... by John Randall Dennis | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Readers and reviews of Living Worship: A Biblical Guide to Making Worship Real in Your Life by John Randall Dennis. More book information, what your friends think and Shelfari member reviews.
Angela Watkins's insight:

A great book on genuine, sincere Worship.  I reviewed this book I think around 2005 or before while being the Baptist Host/Editor/Writer for a site.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Happy New Year's Eve .. 2012

Happy New Year's Eve .. 2012 | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Angela Watkins's insight:

Many people started out in 2012 and some have passed away whether by nature death, illness & tragedy let’s pray for the families.

 

Pray for our troops where ever they may be globally.

 

Please do not drink and drive.  Be safe.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Family Matters .. 12/30/2012

Family Matters .. 12/30/2012 | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Angela Watkins's insight:

Sunday School Lesson for 12/30/12. Unit I. Victory in Jesus. Family Matters. Ephesians 5:21-33; 6:1-4.

 

Between wives & husbands (Marks of The New Life) - Ephesians 5:21-33

 

Between children & parents (Marks of The New Life) - Ephesians 6:1-4

 

Family members should love and care for one another; just as Christ love and cares for the church. (Put love into action)

 

Train children and raise/admonish him/her/them in the Lord.

 

Ephesians 5:21-33; 6:1-4

 

Verse 21 - Man Redeemed; Duties & Graces Of The New Life; Humility, Required

 

Verses 22,23,24 - The Family; Married Life; Duties of Wives

 

Key to a harmonious marriage that is God-centered, follow God's instruction.

 

As long as husbands do things within the will of God wives should go along with their husbands.

 

Verses 25,26,27 - Jesus Christ, Offices of Christ, Our Propitiation (propitiation - an atoning sacrifice)

 

Verse 28 - The Family, Married Life, Duties of Husbands

 

Verses 29, 30 - Jesus Christ, Figurative Characters of Christ, The Head of the Body

 

Verses 31,32,33 - The Family, Married Life, Duties of Husbands

 

A husband should love his wife as himself. (Genesis - historical & spiritual idea of marriage "one flesh"). Wives should respect their husbands.

 

Ephesians 6:1-4

 

Promise: Verses 1,2 - "Health & Healing Promised"

 

Verse 1 - The Family, Parents & Children; Duties of Children to Parents, Obedience

 

Verses 2,3 - The Family, Parents & Children; Duties of Children to Parents, Reverence

 

Verse 4 - The Family; Parents & Children; Correction, But Not Unjust

 

Do not provoke your children.

 

Spirit-filled families: Children should obey their parents in the Lord. Some obedient children die young but disobedient children at times make unwise choices which can lead to premature death.

 

Tomorrow we will be having early service at our place of Worship/Church & I wanted another lady to teach this Sunday School Lesson for I am not married, but I do not understand about being submissive & have no problem with it as long as my husband follow the Lord.

 

Scripture reference used/taken from: KJV Precious Promise Bible, KJV Topical Reference Bible & Zondervan Bible Commentary

more...
Angela Watkins's curator insight, December 29, 2012 10:49 AM

Sunday School Lesson for 12/30/2012.  Unit I.  Victory in Jesus.  Family Matters.  Ephesians 5:21-33; 6:1-4.

Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Bible Drill - God's Promises

Bible Drill - God's Promises | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Bible Drill - God's Promises. Suggested Bible drill for teaching children in Christian Preschool and Children's Ministry Sunday School.
Angela Watkins's insight:

12- 25 - 2011 Sunday School Lesson.  Unit I.  God's Covenant.  Celebrating Promises Fulfilled.  Lukje 1:46-55.  

 

The link came from my Teacher's Guide Sunday School Book that I am sharing.

 

I prefer the KJV & Jewish Bible when I study.  

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

12-25-88 Sermon ... Merry Christmas

12-25-88 Sermon ... Merry Christmas | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Angela Watkins's insight:

One of my former pastor preached this message on 12-25-88 on Christmas Day. The message was "The Wise Men  from the East and Their Worship Plan."

 

Matthew 2:1-2

 

Verse 1 - Now when .... Jesus ... was born in Bethlehem of Judaea in the days of Herod the king, behold, there came wise men ... from ... the east to Jerusalem

 

Jesus Christ; Genealogy, Birth, and Early Life; Christ Visited by the Wise Men and the Shepherds

 

(Luke 2:4, 6, 7; Genesis 10:30; 25:6; I Kings 4:30 .... Daniel 9:24; Isaiah 11:10)

 

Verse 2 - Saying ... Where ... is he that is born King of the Jews? for we have seen ... his ... star in the east, and are come to worship him.

 

Jesus Christ; Christ's Divinity; Christ Possesses the Attributes of God; Is an Object of Worship

 

(Luke 2:11; Numbers 24:17; Isaiah 60:3; Jeremiah 23:5; Zechariah 9:9)

 

Scripture reference used/taken from: KJV Precious Promise Bible, KJV Topical Reference Bible & KJV Special Arrangement New Testament

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Reviews of Building A Strategic Plan For Your Life and... by John M. Hawkins

Reviews of Building A Strategic Plan For Your Life and... by John M. Hawkins | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Reviews of Building A Strategic Plan For Your Life and Business: Discover the Secret of the Greats by John M. Hawkins. More book information, what your friends think and Shelfari member reviews.
Angela Watkins's insight:

This is a guide by a business consultant to teach you how to prepare strategic plans for your personal life as well as business life.  No matter whether you are a high school dropout or have a PhD this is a great book.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

12-16-2012 Living Together

Sunday School Lesson for 12-16-12. This lesson deals with gifts which we know are spiritual gifts. Whatever you do .. do it in love.
Angela Watkins's insight:

Sunday School Lesson for 12-16-12. Unit I. Victory in Jesus. Ephesians 4:1-16.

 

Unity and Diversity (Ephesians 4:1-16)

 

Maintenance and basis of Christian unity (verses 1- 6)

 

The gifts that develop this corporate life (verses 7 - 16)

 

Ephesians 4:1-16

 

verses 1, 2 - Man Redeemed, Duties and Graces of The New Life, Meekness

 

verse 3 - Man Redeemed, Duties and Graces of The New Life, Peaceableness

 

verses 4,5,6 - GOD, The Trinity

 

We must show love which is the Christian virtue, pray and ask God to help you become more loving if you need help in this area.

 

The apostle Paul admonished people to live their life worthy of their calling.

 

(Now I do not know what my gift is ... I know what I enjoy doing and that is what I do... but I have never been Seminary/Theology School either)

 

verse 7 - Promise: Gifts and Fruits of the Spirit Promised

 

verse 7 - Scripture, Jesus Christ, Christ's Divinity

 

verse 8 - Promise: Gifts and Fruits of the Spirit Promised

 

verses 8,9,10- Jesus Christ, Christ's Ascension: Christ in Heaven, Christ's Ascension

 

verses 11,12 - Sacred Persons and Offices, Offices and Gifts, In General

 

verses 13,14- Man Redeemed, Duties and Graces of The New Life, Perfection, To Be Aimed At

 

verse 15 - Jesus Christ, Figurative Characters of Christ, The Head of the Body

 

verse 16 - Jesus Christ, Offices of Christ, Our Life

 

We must speak/teach/share the Word of God truthfully in love

 

Scripture reference taken/used from: KJV Precious Promise Bible, KJV Topical Reference Bible, and Zondervan Bible Commentary

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

The Five Stages of Grief - Elisabeth Kübler-Ross & David Kessler | Grief.com ~ Because Love Never Dies

The Five Stages of Grief - Elisabeth Kübler-Ross & David Kessler | Grief.com ~ Because Love Never Dies | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
On Grief and Grieving is Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s final legacy, one that brings her life’s work profoundly full circle.
Angela Watkins's insight:

This link is suitable for all.  ...........................

 

This link came from my 5-20-2-12 Teacher's Guide Sunday School Book.  

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

My Prayers Go Out To The Families/School/Friends Of Those Who Loss Their Lives Today

We all need to pray for all children that attend school and their protection.
Angela Watkins's insight:

My prayers are with the families, friends, and school staff for the lost of the children lives on today. We all need to be praying for the protection of all staff that work and monitor and teach our children.

 

If I feel like it I might be able to share a book about a man who at one time I think talked with some when the Columbine Shooting took place.

 

One of my mentors introduced him to me in 1998/1999. At that time his fee was $1,000 per day to speak. He is originally from Bombay, India and him and his wife now lives in Kansas in the USA.

 

I am ill now. I am weak with a bad sinus infection and very congested.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

I will work on answering messages probably saturday

Please be patient with me I will work on answering messages probably on saturday, for I am ill now.

Angela Watkins's insight:

I am ill now.  I was going to try to place three book reviews up on monday.  In the area that I live in the flu epidemic is bad.  My doctor told me on today that once I am over with the congestion and sinus infection that I have he recommends that I get a flu shot.

 

Today is the first day that I have been online since saturday.   

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Reviews of Understanding Theology in 15 Minutes a Day: How... by Daryl Aaron

Reviews of Understanding Theology in 15 Minutes a Day: How... by Daryl Aaron | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Reviews of Understanding Theology in 15 Minutes a Day: How can I know God? How can Jesus be both God and man? What will heaven be like? And many more by Daryl Aaron. More book information, what your friends think and Shelfari member reviews.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Reviews of The Art of Living Joyfully: How to be Happier... by Allen Klein

Reviews of The Art of Living Joyfully: How to be Happier... by Allen Klein | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Reviews of The Art of Living Joyfully: How to be Happier Every Day of the Year by Allen Klein. More book information, what your friends think and Shelfari member reviews.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Readers & Reviews of How To Gain The Professional Edge: Achieve The... by Susan Morem

Readers & Reviews of How To Gain The Professional Edge: Achieve The... by Susan Morem | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Readers and reviews of How To Gain The Professional Edge: Achieve The Personal And Professional Image You Want by Susan Morem. More book information, what your friends think and Shelfari member reviews.
Angela Watkins's insight:

An excellent book to guide you on how to be professional image and enchance your personal life.  You will learn how to perform "Informational Interviews" as well on issues/subjects/careers that interest you.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Happy New Year - 2013

Happy New Year - 2013 | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Angela Watkins's insight:

I thank God that I was blessed to see another year, Year 2013.

 

Certainty In An Uncertain World - Daniel 2.

 

Man's power is only temporary. God's has "ALL" power.

 

The Lord has the power to accomplish His divine purpose - Ezra 1.

 

The Lord can and does work through powerful individuals and groups to advance the cause of His people - Genesis 39:2, 19-21.

 

According to the Bible, individuals that mean us harm have a tendency to hang themselves - Esther 5:9-13; 7:1-10; Matthew 27:1-10.

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Angela Watkins from Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher
Scoop.it!

Family Matters .. 12/30/2012

Family Matters .. 12/30/2012 | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Angela Watkins's insight:

Sunday School Lesson for 12/30/2012.  Unit I.  Victory in Jesus.  Family Matters.  Ephesians 5:21-33; 6:1-4.

more...
Angela Watkins's curator insight, December 29, 2012 10:19 AM

Sunday School Lesson for 12/30/12. Unit I. Victory in Jesus. Family Matters. Ephesians 5:21-33; 6:1-4.

 

Between wives & husbands (Marks of The New Life) - Ephesians 5:21-33

 

Between children & parents (Marks of The New Life) - Ephesians 6:1-4

 

Family members should love and care for one another; just as Christ love and cares for the church. (Put love into action)

 

Train children and raise/admonish him/her/them in the Lord.

 

Ephesians 5:21-33; 6:1-4

 

Verse 21 - Man Redeemed; Duties & Graces Of The New Life; Humility, Required

 

Verses 22,23,24 - The Family; Married Life; Duties of Wives

 

Key to a harmonious marriage that is God-centered, follow God's instruction.

 

As long as husbands do things within the will of God wives should go along with their husbands.

 

Verses 25,26,27 - Jesus Christ, Offices of Christ, Our Propitiation (propitiation - an atoning sacrifice)

 

Verse 28 - The Family, Married Life, Duties of Husbands

 

Verses 29, 30 - Jesus Christ, Figurative Characters of Christ, The Head of the Body

 

Verses 31,32,33 - The Family, Married Life, Duties of Husbands

 

A husband should love his wife as himself. (Genesis - historical & spiritual idea of marriage "one flesh"). Wives should respect their husbands.

 

Ephesians 6:1-4

 

Promise: Verses 1,2 - "Health & Healing Promised"

 

Verse 1 - The Family, Parents & Children; Duties of Children to Parents, Obedience

 

Verses 2,3 - The Family, Parents & Children; Duties of Children to Parents, Reverence

 

Verse 4 - The Family; Parents & Children; Correction, But Not Unjust

 

Do not provoke your children.

 

Spirit-filled families: Children should obey their parents in the Lord. Some obedient children die young but disobedient children at times make unwise choices which can lead to premature death.

 

Tomorrow we will be having early service at our place of Worship/Church & I wanted another lady to teach this Sunday School Lesson for I am not married, but I do not understand about being submissive & have no problem with it as long as my husband follow the Lord.

 

Scripture reference used/taken from: KJV Precious Promise Bible, KJV Topical Reference Bible & Zondervan Bible Commentary

Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Secret Millionaire - ABC.com

Secret Millionaire - ABC.com | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
The official ABC Secret Millionaire site offers clips from the show as well as information on the millionaires and the organizations that received donations.
Angela Watkins's insight:

1 - 15 - 2012 Sunday School Lesson.  This link was in my Teacher's Sunday School Book. Unit II.  God's Protection.  Sharing Blessings. Genesis 45:3-15.  

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

5 Ways to Position Your Brand for Pinterest

5 Ways to Position Your Brand for Pinterest | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
A successful Pinterest campaign begins with assessing your brand and philosophy.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Living by Example .. 12/23/2012

Living by Example .. 12/23/2012 | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Angela Watkins's insight:

Sunday School Lesson for 12/23/12. Unit I. Victory in Jesus. John 1:15; Ephesians 5:1-2, 6-14.

 

The Word Made Flesh and Manifested (John 1:1-2:11)

 

Marks of The New Life (Ephesians 4:17-6:20)

 

In The Christian Community (Ephesians 4:25-5:2)

 

John 1:1-5

 

Compare John 1:1 and Genesis 1:1

 

Jesus was/is God, God the Son. Father, Son, & Holy Spirit has a distinctive role & identity; they exist as one.

 

Compare Wisdom in Proverbs 8 & Word & light in John 1.

 

Verse 1 - Jesus Christ, Christ's Divinity, He Is Called God. Jesus Christ, Christ's Divinity, Christ Possesses the Attributes of God, Is Eternal. Jesus Christ, Christ's Divinity, Christ Possesses the Attributes of God, Is Unchangeable.

 

Verse 2 - Jesus Christ, Christ's Divinity, Christ Possesses the Attributes of God, Is Eternal

 

Verse 3 - Jesus Christ, Christ's Divinity, Performs the Works of God, In Creating. Jesus Christ, Christ's Divinity, Christ Possesses the Attributes of God, Is Omnipotent. (Omnipotent - God has unlimited authority/power.)

 

Verse 4 - Jesus Christ, Figurative Characters of Christ, The Light of the World

 

Verse 5 - Compare to John 3:19 (A.D.26) Fallen Man, The Extent & Evil of Sin, Man's Love of Sin

 

Ephesians 5:1-2, 6-14

 

God is the only perfect guide. Be imitators of God. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

 

Verse 1 - Man Redeemed, Adoption, Believers His Children

 

Verse 2 - Jesus Christ, Offices of Christ, Our Propitiation. (Propitiation - an atoning sacrifice)

 

Verses 6, 7, 10, 11, 12 - Fallen Man, Sins of the Flesh, Works of the Flesh in General

 

Verse 8 - Man Redeemed, Blessedness of The New Life, The Impartation of True Wisdom, Actually Attained

 

Verse 9 - Man Redeemed, Blessedness of The New Life, The Indwelling of the Spirit

 

Verse 14 - PROMISE: Pardon for Sins and Iniquities Promised

 

Verses 13, 14 - Man Redeemed, Effectual Calling, Man Co-operates

 

Scripture reference used/taken from: KJV Precious Promise Bible, KJV Topical Reference Bible & Zondervan Bible Commentary

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Free Advertising for 2013 & Learn to Barter

One of my mentor taught me about bartering in 1997/1998. I do not recall knowing about this service.
Angela Watkins's insight:

Barter means getting the items and or services you need and want without using cash. One of my mentors told me about Target Barter (http://www.targetbarter.com ) in 1997/1998. I had about 7 or 8 mentors. ................................

 

In 2013 maybe around the 3rd week in January I might be offering over 6000 "free" Internet places to advertise online for $30 (thirty dollars). I will share more than. I probably will offer it for about 2 - 3 months then stop. For I will be doing this from my home all by myself. I will not be accepting phone calls on this deal either for this will only throw me off. ............

 

Make It Worth My Time: I'll Give You Two Options for 2013 - Barter with me for some services or you can hire me from home. I am not at this time looking for a 9-5 job. ...........................................

 

Now I will not be back online before next friday for I am going to take it easy and review some books this week.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

1999/2000/2012 My Knowledge of Dr. Hemant Thakur

Dr. Thakur is from Bombay, India but lives in USA in Kansas. He has been a Director, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder Program along with other things.
Angela Watkins's insight:

Dr. Thakur holds/has held these positions: Director, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder Program; Major U.S. Army Reserve M.C.; Assistant Clinical Professor; and President & C.E.O. of Beyond 21st Century Inc. He is also an inventor.

 

Even though I have never been to one of his seminars/lectures nor heard him speak I would recommend his book and or him for trauma events and other areas of life.

 

He is from Bombay, India and lives in Kansas.

 

The last time I spoke with him and his wife was in August 2012. He told me that he was in Florida and was deployed at the time. His wife had him to call me for I was wondering had he seen or heard from one of my mentors that introduced me to him. He then told me he had not.

 

On June 29, 2000 he told me that he would do seminars for schools/churches. His fee at this time was: pay for traveling, room and board as well as $200 for 2 hours lecture. For 3 - 4 days seminar covering his whole book his fee would be $4000. For 1 day his fee would be $1000. He stated he would do a seminar/lecture from a small group to a large group of 5000 to 1000.

 

I do not know at this time what his fee is for I have not asked him.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Helping Those Who Hurt - Book Review

This book is on dealing with grief. I reviewed this book more than 5 years ago.
Angela Watkins's insight:

I reviewed this book more than 5 years ago I think am shared it online.

 

H. Norman Wright writes this book as a person who knows first hand about helping others through trauma. He is a licensced therapist and certified trauma specialist, he also suffered loss with the death of his son at a young age.

 

After forty years of counseling the author is convinced that as many as one-third to one-half of all people he has seen didn't need to come and see him. That is, they wouldn't have needed to see him if they'd had a trained pastor, lay caregiver, or knowledgeable friend to meet with. He is all for professional counseling when it's needed, but many issues can be resolved with the help of a friend who is willing to learn how to minister to others. And as Christians it is not an option to help or not help others. This is what the Christian life is all about - ministering to others.

 

Helping others includes experiencing genuine interest and love for the individual. We can listen and rely upon the power of God for knowing how to respond, but we must also have a genuine interest and love. If it is not there, you can't fake it, and your friend will know if you are. Proverbs 27:9 "Oil and perfume rejoice the heart; so does the sweetness of a friend's counsel that comes from the heart." (AMP)

 

Timing is another principle. Proverbs 15:23 "A man has joy in making an apt answer, and a word spoken at the right moment - how good it is." (AMP). The correct answer spoken at the right moment is needed.

 

Hebrews 10:25 says, "Let us encourage one another." Your encouragement serves like the concrete pilings of a structural support.

 

IF YOU WANT TO HELP ANOTHER PERSON, just be there. If you want to help another person, just listen. One of the greatest gifts one person can give to another is the gift of listening.

 

It has been suggested that successful communication consists of seven percent content, thirty-eight percent tone of voice, and fifty-five percent nonverbal communication.

 

But some listen because they care, and this kind of listening provides unlimited opportunities for real ministry in people's lives.

 

When someone loses a parent, he loses a person who for many years has been the most influential person in his life. For most of us, it means losing someone who loved us and cared for us in a way no one else does or ever will again.

 

What is experienced as a crisis by your friend may not be a crisis to you. You have to see it through her eyes.

 

Develop a Support System: Over the years the author came in contact with more and more churches that have developed an ongoing ministry for those who have experienced the loss of a loved one.

 

First in 1993 at the World Trade Center, next in 1995 in Oklahoma City, then in 1996 during the Olympics, and finally in 2001 at the World Trade Center - again. We experienced a twenty-first century "Day of Infamy" - and life in the United States has been altered radically.

 

Early examples of trauma are recorded in the Bible. Consider Job, who lost his family, farm, and health suddenly and by violent means (Job 1:13-19). David had several close (and no doubt traumatic) encounters with death that involved animals, soldiers, King Saul and giants (I Samuel 17:1-52; 18:10-11, 27; 19:8). These events affected his personaltiy and altered his immediate family.

 

The word trauma comes from a Greek word that means "wound."

 

How many people are exposed to traumatic events such as natural and technological disasters, accidents, crime, abuse, or war?

 

Three Stages of Recovery: thinking emotional mastery

 

The final stage is the mastery stage. This is when your friend finds new meaning through what she's experienced, and her perspective becomes that of a survivor rather than a victim. Who has the greatest potential to become a survivor? A person who has a relationship with Jesus Christ and a biblical worldview.

 

If the loss was traumatic in some way, you may struggle with what to say. Grief is intensified if there was no opportunity to say good-bye, like in the case of accidents, fatal heart attacks, homicide, suicide, etc. Often when a death occurs in this way there is an intensity of feelings that can include regrets, guilt, shame, anger or rejection.

 

The core of helping others is prayer. But too little is said about prayer in counseling and too little is written about its use during the session and between sessions. What the author wants to address is the use of prayer as a means of healing in the process of counseling.

 

There are five kinds of prayers that your friends need as an intervention during their time of difficulty: Prayer of encouragement Prayer of restoration Prayer of affirmation Prayer of blessing Prayer of intercession

 

GriefShare is a program established in churches across the United States. A church is equipped with a video session for each meeting, a leader's guide, a leader-equipping video, and workbooks for group participants. Qualified lay people can lead this program.

 

GriefShare videos feature interviews with thirty
authors, speakers, counselors, and pastors with broad expertise in grief recovery from a biblical, Christian perspective.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Russia Pushing for Extensive Control of Internet | Business

Russia Pushing for Extensive Control of Internet | Business | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Reviews of Make Your SHIFT:: The Five Most Powerful Moves... by Beverly Flaxington

Reviews of Make Your SHIFT:: The Five Most Powerful Moves... by Beverly Flaxington | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Reviews of Make Your SHIFT:: The Five Most Powerful Moves You Can Make to Get Where YOU Want to Go (Volume 1) by Beverly Flaxington. More book information, what your friends think and Shelfari member reviews.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Angela Watkins
Scoop.it!

Reviews of The Heart Of Financial Matters: Seeking a... by Eddie Hedges

Reviews of The Heart Of Financial Matters: Seeking a... by Eddie Hedges | Writer, Book Reviewer, Researcher, Sunday School Teacher | Scoop.it
Reviews of The Heart Of Financial Matters: Seeking a Servant's Heart by Eddie Hedges. More book information, what your friends think and Shelfari member reviews.
more...
No comment yet.