Why YA?
Follow
Find
99 views | +0 today
 
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
onto Why YA?
Scoop.it!

If You Liked “The Hunger Games”…

If You Liked “The Hunger Games”… | Why YA? | Scoop.it
The Hunger Games has been on the Lawrence Public Library's top 10 list for months.
more...
No comment yet.

From around the web

Why YA?
Young Adult Literature in the English Classroom
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

Racial Lens Used to Cull Curriculum in Arizona

Racial Lens Used to Cull Curriculum in Arizona | Why YA? | Scoop.it
A state law targeting Mexican-American studies courses that are perceived as antiwhite has led to several books being pulled by the Tucson school district.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

Voices: Teaching controversial texts | EdNewsColorado

Voices: Teaching controversial texts | EdNewsColorado | Why YA? | Scoop.it
Janelle Charlton's insight:

It is all about teachable moments!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

Young Adult: A Book by Any Other Name . . .

An article from The Alan Review.  Defining the Young Adult Genre and providing examples of books that reflect how authors are experimenting within YA literature.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

"John Green Versus Nathaniel Hawthorne: An Argument for Inclusion of Young Adult Literature in the High School English Curriculum"

Jenifer Johnson Written for Advanced Composition at the University of North Alabama 22 November, 2011...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

Using Young Adult Literature and Literacy Theory to Teach Middle School Students How to Read through Critical Lenses.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

Nothing's Wrong With Strong Plot and Characters - Room for Debate

A lot of adult literary fiction is very focused on style: dense, lyrical, descriptive prose. By Lev Grossman.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller

The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller | Why YA? | Scoop.it

Awakening the inner reader in every child.
Teaching and encouraging children to read.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

The Y.A./Middle-Grade Book Awards, 2012 Edition

The Y.A./Middle-Grade Book Awards, 2012 Edition | Why YA? | Scoop.it
We honor the 33 books that mattered to us in this year's breakout literary genre, with a little help from some writerly and book-loving folks, including authors Eliot Schrefer, Ally Condie, Ruta Supetys, Andrea Cremer, R.L.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

6 Latest Trends in Young Adult Literature | PRLog

6 Latest Trends in Young Adult Literature | PRLog | Why YA? | Scoop.it
6 Latest Trends in Young Adult Literature. Some young adult books are so engaging that adults want to read them too. - PR12065324
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

On June 7, Join the Conversation About Summer Reading

On June 7, Join the Conversation About Summer Reading | Why YA? | Scoop.it

Join the #summerreading conversation on Twitter: June 7th.  

 

From The New York Times with The Learning Network:

 

What’s on your reading list this summer? Guilty pleasures? Assigned reading? Audiobooks? Perennially popular series about dystopian survival games, a boy wizard, or a wimpy kid?

 

Whatever you’re planning, and whatever your thoughts on the notion of “summer reading” in general, we invite you to take to Twitter on June 7 and tell the world.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

Book: From Hinton to Hamlet: Building Bridges between Young Adult Literature and the Classics

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

Young Adult Literature: From Romance to Realism (Book)

Young Adult Literature: From Romance to Realism (Book) | Why YA? | Scoop.it

Young Adult Literature: From Romance to Realism, by Michael Cart

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Janelle Charlton
Scoop.it!

Why Expect More From Teenagers Than Adults? - Room for Debate

Reading books they enjoy helps students excel. By Beth Yoke.
more...
No comment yet.