Metaglossia: The Translation World
325.2K views | +18 today
Metaglossia: The Translation World
News about translation, interpreting, intercultural communication, terminology and lexicography - as it happens
Curated by Charles Tiayon
Your new post is loading...

Readorama: Boston writer tracks Chiefs’ Pioli -

Translator honored

The Mexican Consulate in Kansas City provided an appropriate venue. That’s where Margaret Sayers Peden, professor emerita of Spanish at the University of Missouri in Columbia, was scheduled to be honored this past Friday during a reception. The event was part of the 34th annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association, held in Kansas City last week.

Over her career Peden has translated about 65 books from Spanish to English, among them works by Isabel Allende, Carlos Fuentes and others. Last year, Peden’s translation of “Celestina,” by 15th century Spanish author Fernando de Rojas, received the 2010 Lewis Galantiere Translation Prize.!
No comment yet.

Perrine Leblanc remporte le «G.G.» du roman avec L'homme blanc | Daniel Lemay | Livres

En remportant, mardi, le Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général avec L'homme blanc, Perrine Leblanc a complété un prestigieux et rare doublé, son ...!
No comment yet.

UWAP translated book longlisted for international literary award - UWAP translated book longlisted for international literary award - UWA Publishing

UWA Publishing book Counterpoint, by Anna Enquist and translated from Dutch by Jeannette K. Ringold, has been longlisted for the 2012 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

The award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English, and is the largest and most international prize of its kind. The winner receives €100,000 prize money if the book is written in English and a trophy provided by Dublin City Council, and if the winning book is in an English translation, the author receives €75,000 and the translator, €25,000.!
No comment yet. - The tie that binds Wilfrid Laurier University

On Nov. 15, the winners of the Governor General’s Literary Award were announced in Toronto. 2011 marks the 75th year of the prestigious awards. The prizes, administered by the Canada Council for the Arts, honour English-language and French-language winners in seven categories.

Finalists in the fiction....!
No comment yet.

Award recipients celebrated for contributions to local culture

A Rock Hill playwright and photographer, a community volunteer and a former Historic Brattonsville slave interpreter are recipients of this year's Keepers of the Culture award.!
No comment yet.

Les lauréats des 75e Prix littéraires du Gouverneur général ont été annoncés – Livres –

Plus tôt aujourd’hui, le Conseil des Arts du Canada a dévoilé les noms des 14 lauréats des 75e Prix littéraires [...]...!
No comment yet.

Foran, deWitt add GGs to literary accolades | Quillblog | Quill & Quire

Two of the most high-profile winners of the 2011 Governor General's Literary Awards have already won major literary prizes this season.!
No comment yet.

The 2011 South African Literary Award (SALA) Winners

The K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award: Dan Sleigh for Afstande and EDM Sibiya for Ngiyolibala Ngifile
Literary Journalism Award: Sabata Mpho Mokae (w00t)
Literary Translators Award: Leon de Kock for Intimately Absent (the original being Intieme Afwesige by Cas Vos)
Posthumous Literary Award: Jan Rabie for his oeuvre
Lifetime Achievement Literary Award: Chris Barnard for his oeuvre
Poetry Award: Phillippa Yaa de Villiers for The Everyday Wife
First-time Published Author Award: Sifiso Mzobe for Young Blood (which also won the Sunday Times Ficiton Prize and the Herman Charles Bosman award)!
No comment yet.

Mordecai Richler bio wins GG Literary Award - Arts & Entertainment - CBC News

Charles Foran and Patrick deWitt are among the 14 winners of the Governor General's Literary Awards, Canada's oldest prize for English- and French-language literature.!
No comment yet.

GG’s Literary Awards winners announced

The English and French awards, given by the Canada Council for the Arts, celebrate Canadian authors in seven categories: fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, children’s literature (text and illustration) and translation.!
No comment yet.

Literary gold rush: Patrick deWitt's 'Sisters Brothers' wins Gov-Gen prize | - Canada - Features

Vancouver Island native Patrick deWitt says he was plagued with doubt about his comic western novel "The Sisters Brothers" when it first entered the wild world of publishing.

But that feeling is gone now that the story has struck book-prize gold, winning a $25,000 Governor General's Literary Award for fiction on Tuesday — two weeks after it landed the $25,000 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.

"You don't really know what something is worth when you've been looking at it every day for so many months, so there are certainly periods of doubt throughout," deWitt, 36, said after taking the Governor General's honour at a Toronto news conference.!
No comment yet.

Chinua Achebe rejects an honor from Nigeria

Writer Chinua Achebe refuses to accept an award from Nigeria, saying his concerns with the country's political situation "have not been addressed, let alone solved."...!
No comment yet.

Les lauréats 2011 des Grands Prix Littéraires de Strasbourg

Les Jurys ont dévoilé samedi 12 novembre les trois lauréats suivants : Drago JANCAR (Prix Européen), Valère NOVARINA (Prix Francophone Jean Arp) et Jörk WICKRAM (Prix du Patrimoine Nathan Katz).
Le lecteur trouvera ci-dessous le communiqué de presse diffusé à l'issue de la réunion plénière des trois Jurys. Sont attachés en pièces jointes les dossiers de presse concernant les trois prix littéraires ainsi que les deux bourses de traduction qui vont à Andrée Lück-Gaye pour ses traductions de Drago Jancar et à Catherine Fouquet pour la première traduction d'une oeuvre majeure de Wickram.!
No comment yet.

GG Literary Awards celebrate 75th year; 2011 winners to be announced Tuesday | - Canada - Features

The annual Governor General's Literary Awards — administered by the Canada Council for the Arts — have been giving similar boosts to Canadian authors for 75 years now, with the 2011 winners to be announced on Tuesday.

Established in 1936 by the Canadian Authors Association, the awards are said to be Canada's oldest prizes for English-language and French-language Canadian literature.

Up until 1994, when the Scotiabank Giller Prize was founded, the GG fiction award was the only honour of its kind in Canada.!
No comment yet.