Middle School Readers
892 views | +0 today
Follow
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

I-Hated-to-Read-Til-I-Read-This Booklist for Boys | ReadKiddoRead

I-Hated-to-Read-Til-I-Read-This Booklist for Boys | ReadKiddoRead | Middle School Readers | Scoop.it

Boys Who Hate to Read,

      Check this out!

 

-Mrs. Samay

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story by R. J. Palacio - YouTube

Share your videos with friends, family, and the world
AmySamay's insight:

I can't wait to read "The Julian Chapter"!!

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by AmySamay from Book Trailers for Middle School
Scoop.it!

Wonder book trailer - R.J. Palacio (UK version)

"I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse."
August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He's about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?"


Via TimothyThomas
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by AmySamay from Book Trailers for Middle School
Scoop.it!

Heroes of Olympus: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan - YouTube

"The stakes are higher than ever in Percy Jackson's deadliest adventure yet!"


Via TimothyThomas
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by AmySamay from Book Trailers for Middle School
Scoop.it!

Just Jake and His Rules of Awesomeness - YouTube

"JUST JAKE introduces readers to sixth-grader Jake, whose life is turned upside down when his family moves from Florida to Maryland, where Jake must adapt to a new school. Jake has always ranked the kids at school in his hand-made, humorous "Kid Cards," and when he arrives at his new school, Jake starts building a new collection, befriending as many people as he can while staying under the radar from the school bully.  But what happens when the school bully decides Jake's next in line for annihilation and his Kid Cards get into the wrong hands?!! JUST JAKE is a genuine—and as Jake himself would say, AWESOME!—world of school, family, friends, and teachers; it's the product of a writer talented well beyond his years."


Via TimothyThomas
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Watch the New Trailer for Carl Hiaasen's First YA Novel - TIME

Watch the New Trailer for Carl Hiaasen's First YA Novel TIME Richard, Skink—No Surrender's teenage protagonist, meets Skink on the beach as he waits for his 14-year-old cousin Malley, whom readers soon learn has run away from home with a boy she...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

13+ Books for Teens (and tweens) - See Jamie blog

13+ Books for Teens (and tweens) - See Jamie blog | Middle School Readers | Scoop.it
It can be hard to find age-appropriate but no-boring books for teens, so Kathryn and I are sharing our latest recommendations! (I know it says its for teens but I bet I'd like them too. Has anyone read any of these?
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Amazon.com: Best of the Month: Ages 9-12: Books

Amazon.com: Best of the Month: Ages 9-12: Books | Middle School Readers | Scoop.it
Online shopping for Best of the Month: Ages 9-12 from a great selection at Books Store.
AmySamay's insight:

Amazon's best book picks for middle grades.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Waiting for Normal | Teenreads

Waiting for Normal | Teenreads | Middle School Readers | Scoop.it

I was assigned to read this book for my Young Adult Literature class and loved it.   This summary is from Teenreads.com which is a great site to look at to find books to read.  Check it out!  -Mrs. Samay

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things by Lenore Look

A book trailer we created for "Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things" by Lenore Look
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

SMILE Video Trailer

Video trailer for the dental graphic novel, SMILE, by Raina Telgemeier, published by Scholastic/Graphix. Music by Harry and the Potters. All images copyright...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi | Middle School Readers | Scoop.it
When I went to our local middle school to do class visits this May, there was one author that all the kids knew: Rick Riordan.  And, by that same token, there was one book they knew: The Fault in O...
AmySamay's insight:

If you enjoyed reading "A Fault In Our Stars", you may like some of these books.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul (book 9) teaser trailer #1 - YouTube

Share your videos with friends, family, and the world
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by AmySamay from Book Trailers for Middle School
Scoop.it!

"Hattie Big Sky" by Kirby Larson--Jenny Sawyer's Pick Of The Week - YouTube

http://www.60secondpicks.com by Jenny Sawyer

 

Hattie Big Sky is a book written by Kirby Larson. In 2007 the book was named a Newbery Honor book and an American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults. Hattie Big Sky was also an Illinois Rebecca Caudill nominee. Wikipedia"


Via TimothyThomas
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by AmySamay from Book Trailers for Middle School
Scoop.it!

The Dumbest Idea Ever! book trailer - YouTube

"Jimmy (Amelia Rules!) Gownley's graphic novel memoir about the "dumb" idea that changed his life forever!

What if the dumbest idea ever turned your life upside down?

At thirteen, Jimmy was popular, at the top of his class, and the leading scorer on his basketball team. But all that changed when chicken pox forced him to miss the championship game. Things went from bad to worse when he got pneumonia and missed even more school. Before Jimmy knew it, his grades were sinking and nothing seemed to be going right.

How did Jimmy turn things around, get back on top at school, and land a date with the cutest girl in class?

Renowned comics creator Jimmy Gownley shares his adventures as he grows from an eager-to-please boy into a teenage comic book artist. This is the real-life story of how the DUMBEST idea ever became the BEST thing that ever happened to him"


Via TimothyThomas
more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by AmySamay from Book Trailers for Middle School
Scoop.it!

"Twerp" by Mark Goldblatt | 60second Book Review - YouTube

"Julian Twerski is a 12-year-old boy, a crazy-fast runner, and possibly a twerp...depending on what it was he did to Danley Dimmel. One thing is clear at the start of this story, though: Julian is paying for his transgression, whatever it was. He's been assigned to write journal entries as penance, and as the entries progress, the story of Danley becomes a little bit clearly, but the character who really comes into focus is Julian.
"Twerp" is good reading for anyone who likes a realistic coming-of-age story, or for any kid (or parent) worried about bullying.Books for teens (of all ages)"


Via TimothyThomas
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

'365 Days of Wonder,' by RJ Palacio - New York Times

'365 Days of Wonder,' by RJ Palacio - New York Times | Middle School Readers | Scoop.it
'365 Days of Wonder,' by RJ Palacio
New York Times
“365 Days of Wonder: Mr. Browne's Book of Precepts” is a collection of the kind of inspirational sayings that Auggie's English teacher, Mr.
AmySamay's insight:

If you loved "Wonder" you may like this book.  

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Books for Middle-Schoolers (99 books)

Books for Middle-Schoolers (99 books) | Middle School Readers | Scoop.it
79 books based on 116 votes: For Animal Lovers by Kim Cano, The Dry by Rebecca Nolen, The Escape of Princess Madeline by Kirstin Pulioff, Minno by James ...
AmySamay's insight:

Good Reads list of good books for middle-schoolers.  When you see the name of a book and want to find out more about it on this site, click the book's title.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Graphic novels for middle schoolers - The Horn Book

Graphic novels for middle schoolers - The Horn Book | Middle School Readers | Scoop.it
From poignant historical fiction to introspective coming-of-age tale, hilarious space caper to action-packed superhero story, four new graphic novels for middle schoolers showcase the range of the graphic novel format. In Gaijin: American Prisoner of War, thirteen-year-old Koji Miyamoto is living in San Francisco with his (white) mother when Japan attacks Pearl Harbor. Despite being …
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by AmySamay
Scoop.it!

Drama by Raina Telgemeier: Book Trailer

From the author of Smile, Raina Telgemeier, a new full-color graphic novel about friendship, crushes, and all-around drama!
more...
No comment yet.