Lucy's Opinions and Concerns About Bullying
3 views | +0 today
Follow
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Lucy Jenkins
Scoop.it!

My bullying experience : Real Stories : ReachOut.com USA

My bullying experience : Real Stories : ReachOut.com USA | Lucy's Opinions and Concerns About Bullying | Scoop.it
ReachOut.com provides youth with information and support to overcome issues like low self esteem, being bullied, committing suicide and cutting yourself.
Lucy Jenkins's insight:

Add your insight by answering thse three questions. 1. Why do you think his friends felt the need to make fun of him? 2. Why do you think suicide wasn't an option for him? 3. Why did it take them a year to stop?

more...
Ellie M.'s comment, January 30, 2013 9:05 AM
I think his friends wanted to be popular. They didn't care about him or his feelings. I think he didn't commit or even think about suicide because he knew things would get better and there was always another way out. It took a year to stop the bullying because that was when the victim got help freom an SOS, student offering support.
Ellie M.'s comment, January 30, 2013 9:10 AM
Sorry in the last sentence, it's supposed to be from not freom.
Lucy Jenkins's comment, January 30, 2013 9:18 AM
Yes, I do think that they wanted to be popular but they also thought he look different because of his race. I think suicide wasn't an option because he believed that things would get better and there would always be better days. I took them a year to stop because that was when he got help from SOS, student offering support.
Scooped by Lucy Jenkins
Scoop.it!

1:1000: baby, let's play house

1:1000: baby, let's play house | Lucy's Opinions and Concerns About Bullying | Scoop.it
more...
Addy Hricik's comment, January 24, 2013 2:16 PM
The narrator isn't rude for not signing the card, but the narrator not signing the card shows that Billy hurt her feelings enough for her not to sign the card. It also tells you that she felt no sympathy for those who had shown none for her. I would sign the card because I would feel bad about for him losing his mother. But, a card couldn’t save his cruel personality, only he could change that. It sounds like a very realistic story because children are insensitive towards others who are obese, and often feel as if they should be bullied.
Carlin Weinberg's curator insight, January 24, 2013 4:47 PM

This story seems realistic, yet not. It is realistic beacuse of the actions of the kids. For instance, you might not sign the card if you hate someone. It is not realistic because I don't think kids would play with dead birds.

Jake Jamison's curator insight, January 24, 2013 8:42 PM

The card is for your "deepest sympathies" for Billy and his family. Dorothy pauses for a minute because Billy had been so mean to her, and then doesn't put anything. I think I would of been the same as Dorothy because he had been so mean to her. I would think this is a true story. My reasoning is that here is your usual bullying. Billy calls her names and then Dorothy doesn't do anything. Then you have Dorothy who returns the bullying when she doesn't sign the card. I would think many victims of bullying would try to bully the bully back.

Scooped by Lucy Jenkins
Scoop.it!

For Bullied Bus Monitor, Karen Klein, Donations to Take Hurt Away

For Bullied Bus Monitor, Karen Klein, Donations to Take Hurt Away | Lucy's Opinions and Concerns About Bullying | Scoop.it
An online fund-raising drive for a 68-year-old Rochester woman who was brutally taunted by a group of 12- and 13-year-old boys has proved hugely successful.
more...
Ella Thomason's curator insight, January 24, 2013 11:22 PM

In my opinion, these boys did this because they thought that they would become popular, and they would gain attention. i think that the seventh grade boys posted this to be funny. This action was a mistake! If they thought that there was any humor in this, they were just plain desprite for attention. There is nothing funny about this. The boys probably didn't have an inspiration to this horrible act. My response to this is NOT laughter. My response is anger and sadness. 

Carter Griffin's comment, January 25, 2013 7:51 AM
I believe that these boys bullied this woman to amuse their peers and gain popularity among their friends. I think they probably uploaded the video to YouTube for the same reason. They thought they would be famous for bullying this woman, and they are, but not in a good way. These kids should be ashamed for what they did. This is just plain cruel.
TrippVaughn's curator insight, January 28, 2013 8:00 PM

     I think the boys were insecure and wanted to become popular. They probably were insecure about their weight, the amount they sweat, and their hearing. They also thought that doing this would make them popular and cool. 

 

     They posted the video on youtube because the boys probably thought that doing this would make them cool and popular. If they spread the word about it the boys thought that it would make them more popular.

 

     The boys'motivation was to feel better about themselves and to gain attention by becoming popular.

 

     This article horrified and sickened me while it brightened my day at the end. it is just shocking that anybody would do such a crime, especially to a grammother. The way Max Sidorov responded is just amazing. he raised massive amounts of money for Mrs. Klein. Finnaly, raising money for Max Sidorov is a great idea. Giving kindness back to the giver is the best way to respond to anything like this.