LibraryLinks LiensBiblio
28.0K views | +0 today
Follow
LibraryLinks LiensBiblio
Links for library staff / Liens pour le personnel des bibliothèques
Curated by Robin Illsley
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Rescooped by Robin Illsley from Je ne suis pas un livre de vampires * Not a book of vampires
Scoop.it!

Les 15 livres à lire avant qu'ils ne soient adaptés au cinéma ! - Nina People

Les 15 livres à lire avant qu'ils ne soient adaptés au cinéma ! - Nina People | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Nina PeopleLes 15 livres à lire avant qu'ils ne soient adaptés au cinéma !Nina PeopleC'est l'été et rien ne vaut un bon livre à lire sur sa serviette de plage. Voici une liste de 15 livres à lire (ou à relire) pendant vos vacances.

Via Murielle Lucie Clément, Michelle Bourque
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Where Has All the Humor Gone in YA Books?

Where Has All the Humor Gone in YA Books? | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Teens watch and love funnymen Stephen Colbert, Jon Stewart, Conan O’Brien, and David Letterman, but there’s a real lack of funny YA books for teens.

 

-Sharon Rawlins @ The Hub, YALSA

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

#JudyBlumeForever . . . Unless You Are a Library

#JudyBlumeForever . . . Unless You Are a Library | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Sadly, students today won’t find the ebook version of Forever in the digital stacks of their libraries. Simon and Schuster refuses to sell their ebooks to libraries for lending. So along with congratulations to @JudyBlume for the e-release of her amazing book, I also have to ask if she is even aware that the electronic version of Forever is forever locked away from libraries. Maybe if Judy Blume, Jenny Han, and other authors start speaking up for their audiences, we can open up more ebook reading. So take to Twitter and share your stories, not only about #JudyBlumeForever, but also about #LibrariesForever.

 

-Christopher Harris @ American Libraries Magazine

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Turn your old iPad into a dedicated e-reader

Turn your old iPad into a dedicated e-reader | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Turning an iPad into a one-trick e-reading pony may seem counter-intuitive. Why limit yourself to just one task, even if that task is as pleasurable as sitting down with a good book?

 

Because, try as you might, you simply can’t ignore the other tantalizing distractions your iPad has to offer, and stripping those out will help you lose yourself in a good read. Because you’ve upgraded to a newer model, and you’re not ready to recycle that old iPad just yet. And—if you happen to use an original iPad—because your device’s future is about to get a lot more limited.

 

-Lex Friedman @ Macworld.com

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Reading Around - Architecture - Domus

Reading Around - Architecture - Domus | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

The lorry operates primarily as an itinerant collection of contemporary art books. However, beyond this use, every centimetre of its 20 square metre surface area is harnessed to maximum effect to achieve true functionality of space. The bookshelves have left their traditional form behind, instead being dismantlable trays floating above the library users, visually crowning the interior space.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Read-alikes: Not Your Parents' Classics, by Ian Chipman | Booklist Online

Read-alikes: Not Your Parents' Classics, by Ian  Chipman | Booklist Online | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Oh sure, the so-called classics have proven the test of time by offering unforgettable characters, story lines, and themes. But you know what? They’re all so very, very old. And on top of that, they haven’t changed a whit in the centuries since they came out. Well, in the spirit of spicing up those musty reading lists, here’s a group of books that, like China Miéville’s Railsea, put a fantastical twist on familiar stories.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Very Pinteresting!: The hot social network is taking educators by storm

Very Pinteresting!: The hot social network is taking educators by storm | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Last January, Sarah Ludwig, a tech coordinator at Hamden Hall Country Day School outside New Haven, CT, started using Pinterest to create boards for her racially and economically diverse group of about 560 preK to 12th graders.

 

Her boards include an illustrated guide to the Dewey Decimal system, examples of how to use Glogster for an assignment, a tutorial on keyboard shortcuts, and a tip sheet on correct punctuation use. She also offers Book Trailers, Programming Ideas, and Booktalking: Spring 2012, so students can have quick access to book-talked titles.

 

-Kate Messner @ The Digital Shift

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Westport Library Unveils New Maker Space

Westport Library Unveils New Maker Space | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Connecticut’s Westport Public Library (WPL) officially launched its new Maker Space with a press conference this week. Contained within a large, open metal structure modeled after early airplane hangars, the new section of the library’s great hall features cutting edge equipment such as a MakerBot 3D printer, and will host presentations and participatory workshops on topics ranging from robotics, to intellectual property rights for inventors, to arts and crafts. “It’s a national trend that you’re going to see sweeping the country, and you’re seeing here in one of the very first places ever,” said WPL director Maxine Bleiweis.

 

-Matt Enis @ The Digital Shift

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

flannel friday

flannel friday | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

What is Flannel Friday? Flannel Friday is an online event in which participating bloggers post a description of a flannelboard, puppet, or prop storytime activity on their blogs every Friday. All the participating posts are gathered into one spot in a link round-up. It is a way of sharing ideas, encouraging new techniques, and building community among children’s library staff around the country (and even around the world).

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Library service offers online information on auto and small engine repair

“New Brunswickers have asked for these resources, and we have responded,” said Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Minister Martine Coulombe. “We know these excellent products will be well received by automobile enthusiasts, as well as by those needing to maintain small engines, such as lawn mowers and chainsaws.”

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Bibliothèque municipale de Lyon - Printemps des petits lecteurs - Comptines

Bibliothèque municipale de Lyon - Printemps des petits lecteurs - Comptines | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Les comptines, les jeux de mains, l’accompagnent tout au long de cette journée et les berceuses l’aident à basculer dans la nuit ; ils sont un premier éveil à son corps, ses mains et permettent un contact corporel sécurisant et ludique, l’écoute de mots et sons nouveaux, préambule au langage et aux histoires...

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Maker Station in Library Parking Lot = All Kinds of Awesome

Maker Station in Library Parking Lot = All Kinds of Awesome | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
A collaboration between the Allen County Public Library in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and a local nonprofit called TekVenture has created a hub of awesome for local makers called the TekVenture Maker Station.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Read It! Loved It!: Aussie Librarian Curates List of Great Kids, Teen Books

Australian librarian Gavin Jones's website offers age-specific book recommendations for people aged 10 to 16. It's recipe for success? Simplicity.

 

-Dennis Abrams @ Publishing Perspectives

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Austrian city builds public library with nothing but QR codes, NFC and stickers

Austrian city builds public library with nothing but QR codes, NFC and stickers | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Strangely, the Austrian city of Klagenfurt doesn't have a public library, even though it hosts the Festival of German-Language Literature. However, an initiative dubbed Project Ingeborg is turning the municipality into a book repository of sorts with 70 QR code and NFC chip-equipped stickers. Plastered throughout town, they direct users to web pages where they can download public domain works, largely from Project Gutenberg. Oftentimes, e-books will be located in relevant locations -- so you'll be sure to find Arthur Schnitzler's The Killer near the police station, for example.

 

-Alexis Santos @ Engadget.com

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Codex Calixtinus Recovered - The Fine Books Blog

Codex Calixtinus Recovered - The Fine Books Blog | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

The Codex Calixtinus, an illuminated 12th century manuscript considered the world's first guidebook, was recovered Tuesday by Spanish police a year after it was stolen from the library of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela. The presumed thief, Manuel Fernandez Castineiras, a disgruntled former employee of the Cathedral, housed the priceless manuscript in a garbage bag in his garage along with a variety of other stolen books from the Cathedral's library and 1.2 million euros in cash.

 

-Nate Pedersen @ Fine Books Magazine

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

From Lisle to Libertyville, libraries are striving to make the best possible use of technology

From Lisle to Libertyville, libraries are striving to make the best possible use of technology | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Shannon Halikias, director of Lisle Public Library, holds a buzzer used for computer reservations. The restaurant-style buzzers were introduced at the beginning of June.

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Robin Illsley from Bibliothèque et Techno
Scoop.it!

Le livre numérique québécois menacé

Le livre numérique québécois menacé | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

L'adoption d'une version modernisée et controversée de la Loi canadienne sur le droit d'auteur (C-11) met en péril l'industrie naissante du livre numérique tant au Québec qu'au Canada.

Alors que le livre prend de l'ampleur partout dans le monde, au Québec, ce sont 25 millions de dollars investis en cinq ans qui sont pratiquement jetés à l'eau...


Via Bruno Essard-Budail, Patrick Provencher
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Story Sailboat Takes Books to the Bay

Story Sailboat Takes Books to the Bay | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Librarian Patrick “P.C.” Sweeney has found a way to combine his ruling passions: books and boats. By day he manages the East Palo Alto and Portola Valley Libraries for the San Mateo County Library; by night (and weekend) he and partner Joey Elle Lehnhard live on one sailboat and sail another.

 

Sweeney said he got the idea to turn the Santana into the Story Sailboat from a confluence of conversations. He’d discussed the idea of bookmobiles by water with fellow librarian and 2012 LJ Mover & Shaker Andrea Davis a couple of years ago. He liked the idea of “guerilla libraries and libraries in unexpected places” which has been popping up all over the place, and then he read about the Urban Libraries Unite doing a book seeding. “I put all those things together,” he said, and the project was born.

 

-Meredith Schwartz @ LJ

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Reining In the Clutter of Library Signage | Backtalk

Reining In the Clutter of Library Signage | Backtalk | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

I don’t mean to single out libraries as the only offender here: we see this kind of visual clutter in most public buildings. But my tour got me wondering why the staff immediately felt the need to post these bills all over their brand new buildings, upon which the architect had otherwise lavished considerable attention to the design and details. What went wrong there?

 

As architects, we are obligated to make sure that required way-finding signage is part of the project. We often are involved in room identification and donor signage, too. But clearly there is another distinct layer of changeable signage that’s needed in many kinds of buildings, a layer that is largely ignored until after the building is in use.

 

-Charles Meuller @ LJ

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

The Big Tease: Trailers are a terrific way to hook kids on books

The Big Tease: Trailers are a terrific way to hook kids on books | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

So what makes a great trailer? “You want it to have a little bit of a narrative so the audience gets a taste of what the book is about but not everything you can know,” says Heidi Spencer, accounts manager for Dirty Robber, which makes 60-second trailers for books such as Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Prince (S & S, 2011). “It’s not a summary. It’s a teaser.”

 

-Karen Springen @ SLJ

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

ValleyStorytime

ValleyStorytime | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Summer is a very busy time here at the library, and new books are coming in every day! Here are my choices for some summertime storytime fun!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Le Service des bibliothèques publiques offre des renseignements en ligne relatifs à la réparation des automobiles et des petits moteurs

« Les Néo-Brunswickois ont demandé ces ressources et nous les avons écoutés », a déclaré la ministre de l'Éducation postsecondaire, de la Formation et du Travail, Martine Coulombe. « Nous savons que ces excellents produits seront bien reçus par les enthousiastes de l'automobile ainsi que par ceux et celles qui doivent entretenir de petits moteurs, comme ceux des tondeuses et des scies à chaîne. »

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

A Taste of TED Books

Shorter than a novel, but longer than an article -- a TED Book is a great way to feed your craving for ideas anytime.

more...
No comment yet.