LibraryLinks LiensBiblio
31.0K views | +10 today
Follow
 
Scooped by Robin Illsley
onto LibraryLinks LiensBiblio
Scoop.it!

George RR Martin's Reading Recommendations - 32 Books Like 'Game Of Thrones'

George RR Martin's Reading Recommendations - 32 Books Like 'Game Of Thrones' | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

On Martin's blog, he noted that he gets emails from fans all the time asking for book recommendations to tide them over until Martin's next book comes out. Martin writes that he is "always glad to recommend good books. There is so many of them out there that do not get half the attention that they deserve." Here are some of the authors he recommends. The first part of the list is for those who haven't tackled the classic fantasy books yet. The second third is for those who have already consumed the fantasy canon, and are looking for contemporaries. The last portion is a mix of historical fiction and other genres.

more...
No comment yet.
LibraryLinks LiensBiblio
Links for library staff / Liens pour le personnel des bibliothèques
Curated by Robin Illsley
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

102 Books Recommended by Stephen King

102 Books Recommended by Stephen King | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
What books does Stephen King recommend? You don't become one of the most prolific writers of all time without reading a few books. In his book, On Writing, Stephen Kin
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

The Diversity List: Picture, Easy, and Early Chapter Books of 2016 — @fuseeight A Fuse #8 Production

The Diversity List: Picture, Easy, and Early Chapter Books of 2016 — @fuseeight A Fuse #8 Production | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Since January of 2016 I’ve kept track of all picture books, easy books, and early chapter books published in ’16 that contain diversity on their pages. They are placed here in order of publication date.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Google Launches Toontastic 3D, an App for Telling Animated Stories

Google Launches Toontastic 3D, an App for Telling Animated Stories | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Unlike other tools that focus on the technical aspects of filmmaking, Toontastic 3D emphasizes storytelling, according to Google, which released the free app for Android and iOS devices today.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Where Families Play: Dynamic Early Learning Spaces

Where Families Play: Dynamic Early Learning Spaces | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

These innovative public library destinations for young children and their caregivers are places for reading, romping, and learning.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Saskatoon Library Launches Read for Reconciliation Space

Saskatoon Library Launches Read for Reconciliation Space | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Since the last of Canada’s Indian residential schools closed in 1996, the nation has been attempting to shape a response to the legacy of abuse that the residential school system—which removed native children from their homes and families—inflicted on its Indigenous Peoples. Saskatoon Public Library (SPL), Saskatchewan, has become the first public library to incorporate a space permanently dedicated to truth and reconciliation. On November 21 SPL’s Frances Morrison Central Library opened the Read for Reconciliation reading area, which includes a full set of the reports compiled by the TRC over five years, plus a variety of books about Canada’s history of residential schools, as well as an extensive reading list on the history and legacy of residential schools in Canada on its homepage.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

The Smell Test: Educators can counter fake news with information literacy. Here’s how.

The Smell Test: Educators can counter fake news with information literacy. Here’s how. | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
In the era of fake news, librarians are our best hope for educating kids about bogus reporting, biased points of view, and more.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

KU Libraries offering buttons for employees, visitors to display preferred gender pronouns

KU Libraries offering buttons for employees, visitors to display preferred gender pronouns | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

A number of University of Kansas Libraries employees now wear buttons showing their preferred gender pronouns. Extra buttons are offered for students who want one, too. “Because gender is, itself, fluid and up to the individual,” a posted sign at the libraries explains.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Support Math Readiness Through Music

Support Math Readiness Through Music | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Music is one of the first ways children experience math. Without thinking, our bodies react to music. When we hear music, we rock our babies, clap along, and even look toward the source of the sound. These responses are reactions to musical elements such as steady beat, rhythm, and melody, all of which reflect mathematical concepts.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Cool New Tech Tools & Gadgets for Your Library Wishlist

Cool New Tech Tools & Gadgets for Your Library Wishlist | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Robots that teach coding, DIY computer kits, virtual reality, and more. There’s something here to satisfy every budding techie.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day 13 – 2016 Books with a Message — @fuseeight A Fuse #8 Production

31 Days, 31 Lists: Day 13 – 2016 Books with a Message — @fuseeight A Fuse #8 Production | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Today we’re highlighting books that do something inordinately difficult, and do it well. There are few things worse to read than preachy children’s books that thwap young readers over the heads with whatever message it is that they’re trying to impart. Picture books teach and inspire, but to do so they must be smart and subtle and, above all, well-written. All the more reason to highlight and celebrate those 2016 books that have done just that.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Fiches d’activités sur l’identité et citoyenneté numérique – TacTIC

Fiches d’activités sur l’identité et citoyenneté numérique – TacTIC | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Voici trois séries d’activités pédagogiques accompagnant les Modules de jeux-questionnaires iCN récemment mis à la disposition des conseils scolaires. Ces activités sont prévues pour les élèves de la 3e à la 10e année, ainsi que pour les parents.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Why we still need public libraries in the digital age

Why we still need public libraries in the digital age | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

The CEO of the Thunder Bay Public Library, John Pateman, calls himself an unrepentant revolutionary. He says information is power, and that libraries are needed now more than ever as vibrant, exciting centres for learning, development, connection and community.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Les bibliothèques les plus ouvertes (et fermées) du Québec

Les bibliothèques les plus ouvertes (et fermées) du Québec | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Toutes les bibliothèques du Québec sont loin, bien loin d'être égales.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Snowman Progression Animation

Snowman Progression Animation | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

I was first introduced to the progression animation idea when I saw the work of Andy Martin and his plasticine rhythm workshop...

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Post It Note Art (Guest Post by Stacey Costabile) — @TLT16 Teen Librarian Toolbox

Post It Note Art (Guest Post by Stacey Costabile) — @TLT16 Teen Librarian Toolbox | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Empty description
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Library Extension Finds Books At Your Local Library While You Shop On Amazon

Library Extension Finds Books At Your Local Library While You Shop On Amazon | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Chrome: Amazon may be convenient, but nothing beats free. So, when you’re shopping for books on the site, Library Extension will find those same books at your local library. You can even drive to pick them up faster than Amazon can ship them.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Love Literacy in Libraries | Programs That Pop

Love Literacy in Libraries | Programs That Pop | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Cassandra Black met her husband online, inspiring her and colleague Mary Frances Frayne to put on an online dating workshop in February 2016 at the Belmont Library, CA. At the time, Black served as teen services librarian and Frayne as community services librarian. The program was geared mostly to seniors, who dominate Belmont’s classes.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

How to Be More Accessible on Social Media

How to Be More Accessible on Social Media | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
While there is only so much you can do to be accessible on social media, it is still an important and there are several ways to improve accessibility.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Librarian Creates #BlackLivesMatter Booklist for Teens

Librarian Creates #BlackLivesMatter Booklist for Teens | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Chelsea Couillard-Smith, a librarian at Hennepin County (MN) Library, created a #blacklivesmatter booklist for teens.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Raising the Curtain on Nosy Crow’s “Fairytale Theater”

Raising the Curtain on Nosy Crow’s “Fairytale Theater” | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Fans of Nosy Crow apps can now create stories—and fractured fairytales—featuring the developer's characters.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

The Queer Library: A New Home for LGBT Literature

The brainchild of Change Project founder Steven Romeo, every book is written by an LGBT author or contains LGBT content.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

NYPL Mannequin Challenge!

We froze a moment in time in The New York Public Library's Rose Main Reading Room for the #MannequinChallenge

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

How a British Library is Fighting Loneliness with a Public Living Room

How a British Library is Fighting Loneliness with a Public Living Room | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it
Public libraries are home to a lot of things besides books these days: makerspaces, cultural programs, art events, coworking spaces, teen centers, Libraries of Things,
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Robin Illsley
Scoop.it!

Ma bibliothèque est plus ouverte que la tienne

Ma bibliothèque est plus ouverte que la tienne | LibraryLinks LiensBiblio | Scoop.it

Certaines bibliothèques de Montréal et de ses environs seront ouvertes moins d’une vingtaine d’heures entre le 23 décembre et le 4 janvier prochain.

more...
No comment yet.