Japan Tsunami
25.4K views | +1 today
Follow
Japan Tsunami
8.8, 8.9, 9.0 and even 9.1 earthquake in Japan March 11th 2011,  <br>Earthquake & Tsunami aftermath,  <br>Fukushima
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M7.0 - 1km WSW of Kumamoto-shi, Japan

M7.0 - 1km WSW of Kumamoto-shi, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2016-04-15 16:25:06 (UTC)
  2. 2016-04-15 18:25:06 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Places
  • 1.0 km (0.6 mi) WSW of Kumamoto-shi, Japan
  • 12.0 km (7.5 mi) NNE of Uto, Japan
  • 13.0 km (8.1 mi) SSE of Ueki, Japan
  • 15.0 km (9.3 mi) NNE of Matsubase, Japan
  • 631.0 km (392.1 mi) SSE of Seoul, South Korea

 

Tectonic Summary

The April 15, 2016 M 7.0 earthquake north of Kumamoto, on the island of Kyushu in southwest Japan, occurred as the result of strike-slip faulting at shallow depth. Focal mechanisms for the earthquake indicate slip occurred on either a left-lateral fault striking to the northwest, or on a right-lateral fault striking northeast. While the earthquake occurred several hundred kilometers northwest of the Ryukyu Trench, where the Philippine Sea plate begins its northwestward subduction beneath Japan and the Eurasia plate, the shallow depth and faulting mechanism of this earthquake indicate it occurred on a crustal fault within the upper Eurasia plate. At the location of this event, the Philippine Sea plate converges with Eurasia towards the northwest at a velocity of 58 mm/yr.

The April 15, 2016, M 7.0 event (UTC 16:25:06) occurred one day after a series of foreshocks in the same region, which included M 6.2 and M 6.0 earthquakes. The April 14 events resulted in at least 9 fatalities and over 800 injuries.

In contrast to this recent sequence of shallow earthquakes, most seismicity in the Kyushu region is related to the subduction of the Philippine Sea plate at depth. Just thirteen M 5+ earthquakes have occurred at shallow depths (< 50 km) within 100 km of the April 2016 events over the preceding century. In January and April of 1975, two shallow events with magnitudes of M 5.8 and M 6.1 - 40 km and 65 km to the northwest of the April 2016 earthquake, respectively – caused injuries, but no known fatalities. A shallow M 6.6 earthquake in March 2005, just off the north coast of Kyushu and 110 km north of the April 2016 event, caused over 1000 injuries and at least one fatality.

Mapped faults in the region generally trend east-west or northeast-southwest, in agreement with the right-lateral plane of preliminary focal mechanisms, and the trend of early aftershocks. Since the April 14, M 6.2 event (12:26:36 UTC), 19 other shocks have been located, including the latest M 7.0 earthquake.

(...)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 56km SE of Shingu, Japan

M6.0 - 56km SE of Shingu, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

M6.0 - 56km SE of Shingu, Japan

 

Time
  1. 2016-04-01 02:39:07 (UTC)
  2. 2016-04-01 04:39:07 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 56km (35mi) SE of Shingu, Japan
  2. 79km (49mi) SSE of Owase, Japan
  3. 105km (65mi) ESE of Tanabe, Japan
  4. 125km (78mi) SSW of Ise, Japan
  5. 395km (245mi) SW of Tokyo, Japan

 

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 74km NW of Rumoi, Japan

M6.2 - 74km NW of Rumoi, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
44.465°N 141.076°E depth=239.9 km (149.0 mi)
Time
  1. 2016-01-11 17:08:03 (UTC)
  2. 2016-01-11 18:08:03 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 74km (46mi) NW of Rumoi, Japan
  2. 110km (68mi) W of Nayoro, Japan
  3. 114km (71mi) NW of Fukagawa, Japan
  4. 115km (71mi) SSW of Wakkanai, Japan
  5. 981km (610mi) N of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M7.8 - 189km WNW of Chichi-shima, Japan

M7.8 - 189km WNW of Chichi-shima, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2015-05-30 11:23:02 (UTC)
  2. 2015-05-30 13:23:02 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 189km (117mi) WNW of Chichi-shima, Japan
  2. 771km (479mi) SSE of Shimoda, Japan
  3. 781km (485mi) SSE of Oyama, Japan
  4. 783km (487mi) SE of Shingu, Japan
  5. 874km (543mi) S of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 130km E of Miyako, Japan

M6.0 - 130km E of Miyako, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2015-02-21 10:13:54 (UTC)
  2. 2015-02-21 11:13:54 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 130km (81mi) E of Miyako, Japan
  2. 135km (84mi) ENE of Yamada, Japan
  3. 143km (89mi) ENE of Otsuchi, Japan
  4. 149km (93mi) ENE of Kamaishi, Japan
  5. 568km (353mi) NE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.7 - 83km ENE of Miyako, Japan

M6.7 - 83km ENE of Miyako, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2015-02-16 23:06:27 (UTC)
  2. 2015-02-17 00:06:27 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 83km (52mi) ENE of Miyako, Japan
  2. 90km (56mi) ENE of Yamada, Japan
  3. 99km (62mi) ENE of Otsuchi, Japan
  4. 106km (66mi) NE of Kamaishi, Japan
  5. 538km (334mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.3 - 154km ENE of Hachinohe, Japan 2014-10-11 02:35:46 UTC

M6.3 - 154km ENE of Hachinohe, Japan 2014-10-11 02:35:46 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-10-11 02:35:46 UTC
  2. 2014-10-11 12:35:46 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-10-11 04:35:46 UTC+02:00 system time
 Location

40.986°N 143.216°E depth=13.5km (8.4mi)

 Nearby Cities
  1. 154km (96mi) ENE of Hachinohe, Japan
  2. 160km (99mi) ENE of Misawa, Japan
  3. 165km (103mi) SSE of Shizunai, Japan
  4. 171km (106mi) E of Mutsu, Japan
  5. 663km (412mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.5 - 129km ESE of Namie, Japan 2014-07-11 19:22:00 UTC

M6.5 - 129km ESE of Namie, Japan 2014-07-11 19:22:00 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-07-11 19:22:00 UTC
  2. 2014-07-12 04:22:00 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-07-11 21:22:00 UTC+02:00 system time
Location

37.064°N 142.365°E depth=11.1km (6.9mi)

Nearby Cities
  1. 129km (80mi) ESE of Namie, Japan
  2. 131km (81mi) E of Iwaki, Japan
  3. 147km (91mi) ENE of Kitaibaraki, Japan
  4. 151km (94mi) ENE of Takahagi, Japan
  5. 284km (176mi) ENE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.3 - 13km N of Kunisaki-shi, Japan 2014-03-13 17:06:51 UTC

M6.3 - 13km N of Kunisaki-shi, Japan 2014-03-13 17:06:51 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

Event Time

2014-03-13 17:06:51 UTC


2014-03-14 02:06:51 UTC+09:00 at epicenter


2014-03-13 18:06:51 UTC+01:00 system time



Location

33.683°N 131.737°E depth=82.9km (51.5mi)


Nearby Cities

13km (8mi) N of Kunisaki-shi, Japan


30km (19mi) ENE of Bungo-Takada-shi, Japan


31km (19mi) NNE of Kitsuki, Japan


36km (22mi) SSW of Hikari, Japan


609km (378mi) SE of Seoul, South Korea

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

Séisme au Japon : la centrale de Fukushima évacuée, l'alerte au tsunami levée

Séisme au Japon : la centrale de Fukushima évacuée, l'alerte au tsunami levée | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

Un séisme de magnitude 7,1 [ou 7,3 sur la carte] s'est produit dans la nuit de vendredi à samedi au large de la côte est du Japon, au niveau de la ville de Fukushima. Un ordre d'évacuation a été donné aux personnels de la centrale. L'alerte au tsunami a été levée quelques heures plus tard, le tremblement de terre n'ayant entraîné que de faibles vagues d'un mètre de hauteur.

Aucune victime et aucun dégât ne sont pour l'heure à déplorer.

La compagnie Tepco qui gère la centrale du Fukushima, sérieusement accidentée par le tsunami d'il y a deux ans et demi dans la même région, a précisé qu'aucune montée des niveaux de radioactivité n'avait été constatée dans la zone. Elle a ajouté qu'aucun problème n'avait été constaté dans les autres centrales nucléaires de la région, toutes à l'arrêt par précaution depuis la catastrophe de Fukushima.

Le séisme a eu lieu à 03H10 heure locale samedi (18H10 heure française vendredi) à une profondeur de 10 kilomètres et à 320 kilomètres au large de la ville d'Ishinomaki, dans la préfecture de Miyagi. La magnitude du séisme a été évaluée à 7,5, entraînant l'émission d'une alerte verte, qui correspond à une faible probabilité de décès ou de pertes économiques.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 52km NE of Namie, Japan 2013-05-18 05:47:59 UTC

M6.0 - 52km NE of Namie, Japan 2013-05-18 05:47:59 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

Event Time

2013-05-18 05:47:59 UTC

2013-05-18 14:47:59 UTC+09:00 at epicenter

2013-05-18 07:47:59 UTC+02:00 system time

 

Location

37.745°N 141.494°E depth=34.3km (21.3mi)

 

Nearby Cities

52km (32mi) NE of Namie, Japan

65km (40mi) ESE of Watari, Japan

66km (41mi) ESE of Marumori, Japan

67km (42mi) ESE of Kakuda, Japan

279km (173mi) NE of Tokyo, Japan

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.9 - 15km SW of Obihiro, Japan 2013-02-02 14:17:34 UTC

M6.9 - 15km SW of Obihiro, Japan 2013-02-02 14:17:34 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Parameter Value Uncertainty

Magnitude : 6.9 MwpNot Specified

Location : 42.812°N, 143.078°E± 14.6 km

Depth : 103.1 km ± 8.9 km

Number of Stations Used : 583

Number of Phases Used : 583

Minimum Distance : 89.1 km (0.80°)

Travel Time Residual : 0.67 sec

Azimuthal Gap : 40°

Review Status : REVIEWED

Event ID : usc000f03a

 

Nearby Cities :

 

15km (9mi) SW of Obihiro, Japan

22km (14mi) SSW of Otofuke, Japan

78km (48mi) NE of Shizunai, Japan

82km (51mi) SE of Shimo-furano, Japan

842km (523mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M7.3 - 245km SE of Kamaishi, Japan 2012-12-07 08:18:24 UTC

M7.3 - 245km SE of Kamaishi, Japan 2012-12-07 08:18:24 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

Preferred Location Parameters

 

Parameter Value Uncertainty

Magnitude 7.3 Mwp Not Specified

Location 37.889°N, 144.090°E ± 13.9 km

Depth 36.1 km ± 7.0 km

Number of Stations Used 421

Number of Phases Used 421

Minimum Distance 465.3 km (4.18°)

Travel Time Residual 0.94 sec

Azimuthal Gap 31° Review

Status REVIEWED

 

Event ID : usc000e5n4

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 7km SW of Ueki, Japan

M6.2 - 7km SW of Ueki, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2016-04-14 12:26:36 (UTC)
  2. 2016-04-14 14:26:36 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Places
  • 7.0 km (4.3 mi) SW of Ueki, Japan
  • 9.0 km (5.6 mi) SE of Tamana, Japan
  • 12.0 km (7.5 mi) WNW of Kumamoto-shi, Japan
  • 18.0 km (11.2 mi) N of Uto, Japan
  • 620.0 km (385.3 mi) SSE of Seoul, South Korea
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.7 - 51km SE of Shizunai, Japan

M6.7 - 51km SE of Shizunai, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

41.952°N 142.720°E depth=51.4 km (31.9 mi)

 

Time
  1. 2016-01-14 03:25:34 (UTC)
  2. 2016-01-14 04:25:34 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 51km (32mi) SE of Shizunai, Japan
  2. 114km (71mi) SSW of Obihiro, Japan
  3. 119km (74mi) SE of Tomakomai, Japan
  4. 122km (76mi) SSW of Otofuke, Japan
  5. 743km (462mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan


more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.7 - 144km WSW of Makurazaki, Japan

M6.7 - 144km WSW of Makurazaki, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2015-11-13 20:51:31 (UTC)
  2. 2015-11-13 21:51:31 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 144km (89mi) WSW of Makurazaki, Japan
  2. 148km (92mi) WSW of Kaseda, Japan
  3. 157km (98mi) WSW of Kushikino, Japan
  4. 163km (101mi) WSW of Ijuin, Japan
  5. 748km (465mi) SSE of Seoul, South Korea
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.8 - 33km SE of Ofunato, Japan

M6.8 - 33km SE of Ofunato, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2015-05-12 21:12:58 (UTC)
  2. 2015-05-12 23:12:58 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
 Nearby Cities
  1. 33km (21mi) SE of Ofunato, Japan
  2. 42km (26mi) SSE of Kamaishi, Japan
  3. 52km (32mi) SSE of Otsuchi, Japan
  4. 63km (39mi) SE of Tono, Japan
  5. 412km (256mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.3 - 140km E of Miyako, Japan

M6.3 - 140km E of Miyako, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2015-02-20 04:25:24 (UTC)
  2. 2015-02-20 05:25:24 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 140km (87mi) E of Miyako, Japan
  2. 145km (90mi) ENE of Yamada, Japan
  3. 152km (94mi) ENE of Otsuchi, Japan
  4. 158km (98mi) ENE of Kamaishi, Japan
  5. 574km (357mi) NE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 16km NNE of Omachi, Japan 2014-11-22 13:08:18 UTC

M6.2 - 16km NNE of Omachi, Japan 2014-11-22 13:08:18 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-11-22 13:08:18 UTC
  2. 2014-11-22 22:08:18 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-11-22 14:08:18 UTC+01:00 system time
 Location

36.640°N 137.911°E depth=10.0km (6.2mi)

 Nearby Cities
  1. 16km (10mi) NNE of Omachi, Japan
  2. 24km (15mi) W of Nagano-shi, Japan
  3. 33km (21mi) N of Hotaka, Japan
  4. 36km (22mi) W of Suzaka, Japan
  5. 191km (119mi) NW of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 81km E of Mutsu, Japan 2014-08-10 03:43:17 UTC

M6.0 - 81km E of Mutsu, Japan 2014-08-10 03:43:17 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-08-10 03:43:17 UTC
  2. 2014-08-10 12:43:17 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-08-10 05:43:17 UTC+02:00 system time
Location

41.163°N 142.176°E depth=41.0km (25.5mi)

Nearby Cities
  1. 81km (50mi) E of Mutsu, Japan
  2. 86km (53mi) NE of Misawa, Japan
  3. 93km (58mi) NE of Hachinohe, Japan
  4. 126km (78mi) ENE of Aomori-shi, Japan
  5. 645km (401mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 23km ESE of Ito, Japan 2014-05-04 20:18:24 UTC

M6.0 - 23km ESE of Ito, Japan 2014-05-04 20:18:24 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Jacques Le Bris's insight:
Event Time
  1. 2014-05-04 20:18:24 UTC
  2. 2014-05-05 05:18:24 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-05-04 22:18:24 UTC+02:00 system time
Location

34.862°N 139.312°E depth=155.1km (96.4mi)

Nearby Cities
  1. 23km (14mi) ESE of Ito, Japan
  2. 33km (21mi) SE of Atami, Japan
  3. 38km (24mi) SE of Yugawara, Japan
  4. 39km (24mi) ENE of Shimoda, Japan
  5. 98km (61mi) SSW of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.5 - 110km NW of Nago, Japan 2014-03-02 20:11:22 UTC

M6.5 - 110km NW of Nago, Japan 2014-03-02 20:11:22 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-03-02 20:11:22 UTC
  2. 2014-03-03 04:11:22 UTC+08:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-03-02 21:11:22 UTC+01:00 system time
Location

27.405°N 127.335°E depth=111.2km (69.1mi)

Nearby Cities
  1. 110km (68mi) NW of Nago, Japan
  2. 119km (74mi) NNW of Ishikawa, Japan
  3. 127km (79mi) NNW of Okinawa, Japan
  4. 127km (79mi) NNW of Gushikawa, Japan
  5. 1127km (700mi) S of Seoul, South Korea
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M7.3 - Off the east coast of Honshu, Japan 2013-10-25 17:10:16 UTC

M7.3 - Off the east coast of Honshu, Japan 2013-10-25 17:10:16 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time

2013-10-25 17:10:16 UTC

2013-10-26 03:10:16 UTC+10:00 at epicenter

2013-10-25 19:10:16 UTC+02:00 system time

 

Location

37.194°N 144.663°E depth=10.0km (6.2mi)

 

Nearby Cities

325km (202mi) ESE of Ishinomaki, Japan

326km (203mi) E of Namie, Japan

331km (206mi) SE of Ofunato, Japan

333km (207mi) ESE of Yamoto, Japan

475km (295mi) ENE of Tokyo, Japan

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 107km E of Miyako, Japan 2013-04-01 18:53:17 UTC

M6.0 - 107km E of Miyako, Japan 2013-04-01 18:53:17 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Preferred Location Parameters

Parameter Value Uncertainty

Magnitude 6.0 Mwc ± 0.06

Location 39.528°N, 143.196°E ± 16.9 km

Depth 12.5 km ± 5.6 km

Number of Stations Used137

Number of Phases Used137

Minimum Distance 277.2 km (2.49°)

Travel Time Residual 0.73 sec

Azimuthal Gap 87°

Review Status REVIEWED

Event ID usb000fxh7

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 218km SE of Ofunato, Japan 2012-12-07 08:31:14 UTC

M6.2 - 218km SE of Ofunato, Japan 2012-12-07 08:31:14 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

Preferred Location Parameters

Parameter Value Uncertainty

Magnitude 6.2 mb ± 0.03

Location 37.939°N, 143.763°E ± 14.4 km

Depth 29.2 km ± 6.9 km

Number of Stations Used 528

Number of Phases Used 532

Minimum Distance 456.4 km (4.10°)

Travel Time Residual 0.77 sec

Azimuthal Gap 29°

Review Status REVIEWED

Event ID usc000e5n9

more...
No comment yet.