Japan Tsunami
26.4K views | +39 today
Follow
Japan Tsunami
8.8, 8.9, 9.0 and even 9.1 earthquake in Japan March 11th 2011,  <br>Earthquake & Tsunami aftermath,  <br>Fukushima
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 8km S of Kurayoshi, Japan

M6.2 - 8km S of Kurayoshi, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
2016-10-21 05:07:23 UTC35.358°N   133.801°E10.0 km depth
 
Origin
CatalogMagTimeDepthReview StatusLocationSourcecheckUS6.2 mww05:07:2310.0REVIEWED35.358°N 133.801°EUS4PT6.6 Mi05:07:0011.0REVIEWED35.400°N 133.900°EPT3AT6.6 Mi05:07:2611.0REVIEWED35.400°N 133.900°EAT1
Moment Tensor
CatalogTensorMagnitudeDepth% DCSourcecheckUS 6.2 Mww13.5 km96 %US4GCMT 6.3 Mwc15.1 km85 %US4GCMT2US 6.1 Mwb7.0 km90 %US4
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M7.0 - 1km WSW of Kumamoto-shi, Japan

M7.0 - 1km WSW of Kumamoto-shi, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2016-04-15 16:25:06 (UTC)
  2. 2016-04-15 18:25:06 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Places
  • 1.0 km (0.6 mi) WSW of Kumamoto-shi, Japan
  • 12.0 km (7.5 mi) NNE of Uto, Japan
  • 13.0 km (8.1 mi) SSE of Ueki, Japan
  • 15.0 km (9.3 mi) NNE of Matsubase, Japan
  • 631.0 km (392.1 mi) SSE of Seoul, South Korea

 

Tectonic Summary

The April 15, 2016 M 7.0 earthquake north of Kumamoto, on the island of Kyushu in southwest Japan, occurred as the result of strike-slip faulting at shallow depth. Focal mechanisms for the earthquake indicate slip occurred on either a left-lateral fault striking to the northwest, or on a right-lateral fault striking northeast. While the earthquake occurred several hundred kilometers northwest of the Ryukyu Trench, where the Philippine Sea plate begins its northwestward subduction beneath Japan and the Eurasia plate, the shallow depth and faulting mechanism of this earthquake indicate it occurred on a crustal fault within the upper Eurasia plate. At the location of this event, the Philippine Sea plate converges with Eurasia towards the northwest at a velocity of 58 mm/yr.

The April 15, 2016, M 7.0 event (UTC 16:25:06) occurred one day after a series of foreshocks in the same region, which included M 6.2 and M 6.0 earthquakes. The April 14 events resulted in at least 9 fatalities and over 800 injuries.

In contrast to this recent sequence of shallow earthquakes, most seismicity in the Kyushu region is related to the subduction of the Philippine Sea plate at depth. Just thirteen M 5+ earthquakes have occurred at shallow depths (< 50 km) within 100 km of the April 2016 events over the preceding century. In January and April of 1975, two shallow events with magnitudes of M 5.8 and M 6.1 - 40 km and 65 km to the northwest of the April 2016 earthquake, respectively – caused injuries, but no known fatalities. A shallow M 6.6 earthquake in March 2005, just off the north coast of Kyushu and 110 km north of the April 2016 event, caused over 1000 injuries and at least one fatality.

Mapped faults in the region generally trend east-west or northeast-southwest, in agreement with the right-lateral plane of preliminary focal mechanisms, and the trend of early aftershocks. Since the April 14, M 6.2 event (12:26:36 UTC), 19 other shocks have been located, including the latest M 7.0 earthquake.

(...)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 56km SE of Shingu, Japan

M6.0 - 56km SE of Shingu, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

M6.0 - 56km SE of Shingu, Japan

 

Time
  1. 2016-04-01 02:39:07 (UTC)
  2. 2016-04-01 04:39:07 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 56km (35mi) SE of Shingu, Japan
  2. 79km (49mi) SSE of Owase, Japan
  3. 105km (65mi) ESE of Tanabe, Japan
  4. 125km (78mi) SSW of Ise, Japan
  5. 395km (245mi) SW of Tokyo, Japan

 

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 74km NW of Rumoi, Japan

M6.2 - 74km NW of Rumoi, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
44.465°N 141.076°E depth=239.9 km (149.0 mi)
Time
  1. 2016-01-11 17:08:03 (UTC)
  2. 2016-01-11 18:08:03 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 74km (46mi) NW of Rumoi, Japan
  2. 110km (68mi) W of Nayoro, Japan
  3. 114km (71mi) NW of Fukagawa, Japan
  4. 115km (71mi) SSW of Wakkanai, Japan
  5. 981km (610mi) N of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.1 - 70km ENE of Mutsu, Japan

M6.1 - 70km ENE of Mutsu, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2015-06-08 06:01:08 (UTC)
  2. 2015-06-08 08:01:08 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 70km (43mi) ENE of Mutsu, Japan
  2. 94km (58mi) SSW of Shizunai, Japan
  3. 108km (67mi) ESE of Hakodate, Japan
  4. 108km (67mi) NNE of Misawa, Japan
  5. 678km (421mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.8 - 33km SE of Ofunato, Japan

M6.8 - 33km SE of Ofunato, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2015-05-12 21:12:58 (UTC)
  2. 2015-05-12 23:12:58 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
 Nearby Cities
  1. 33km (21mi) SE of Ofunato, Japan
  2. 42km (26mi) SSE of Kamaishi, Japan
  3. 52km (32mi) SSE of Otsuchi, Japan
  4. 63km (39mi) SE of Tono, Japan
  5. 412km (256mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.3 - 140km E of Miyako, Japan

M6.3 - 140km E of Miyako, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2015-02-20 04:25:24 (UTC)
  2. 2015-02-20 05:25:24 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 140km (87mi) E of Miyako, Japan
  2. 145km (90mi) ENE of Yamada, Japan
  3. 152km (94mi) ENE of Otsuchi, Japan
  4. 158km (98mi) ENE of Kamaishi, Japan
  5. 574km (357mi) NE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 16km NNE of Omachi, Japan 2014-11-22 13:08:18 UTC

M6.2 - 16km NNE of Omachi, Japan 2014-11-22 13:08:18 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-11-22 13:08:18 UTC
  2. 2014-11-22 22:08:18 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-11-22 14:08:18 UTC+01:00 system time
 Location

36.640°N 137.911°E depth=10.0km (6.2mi)

 Nearby Cities
  1. 16km (10mi) NNE of Omachi, Japan
  2. 24km (15mi) W of Nagano-shi, Japan
  3. 33km (21mi) N of Hotaka, Japan
  4. 36km (22mi) W of Suzaka, Japan
  5. 191km (119mi) NW of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 81km E of Mutsu, Japan 2014-08-10 03:43:17 UTC

M6.0 - 81km E of Mutsu, Japan 2014-08-10 03:43:17 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-08-10 03:43:17 UTC
  2. 2014-08-10 12:43:17 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-08-10 05:43:17 UTC+02:00 system time
Location

41.163°N 142.176°E depth=41.0km (25.5mi)

Nearby Cities
  1. 81km (50mi) E of Mutsu, Japan
  2. 86km (53mi) NE of Misawa, Japan
  3. 93km (58mi) NE of Hachinohe, Japan
  4. 126km (78mi) ENE of Aomori-shi, Japan
  5. 645km (401mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 23km ESE of Ito, Japan 2014-05-04 20:18:24 UTC

M6.0 - 23km ESE of Ito, Japan 2014-05-04 20:18:24 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Jacques Le Bris's insight:
Event Time
  1. 2014-05-04 20:18:24 UTC
  2. 2014-05-05 05:18:24 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-05-04 22:18:24 UTC+02:00 system time
Location

34.862°N 139.312°E depth=155.1km (96.4mi)

Nearby Cities
  1. 23km (14mi) ESE of Ito, Japan
  2. 33km (21mi) SE of Atami, Japan
  3. 38km (24mi) SE of Yugawara, Japan
  4. 39km (24mi) ENE of Shimoda, Japan
  5. 98km (61mi) SSW of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.5 - 110km NW of Nago, Japan 2014-03-02 20:11:22 UTC

M6.5 - 110km NW of Nago, Japan 2014-03-02 20:11:22 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-03-02 20:11:22 UTC
  2. 2014-03-03 04:11:22 UTC+08:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-03-02 21:11:22 UTC+01:00 system time
Location

27.405°N 127.335°E depth=111.2km (69.1mi)

Nearby Cities
  1. 110km (68mi) NW of Nago, Japan
  2. 119km (74mi) NNW of Ishikawa, Japan
  3. 127km (79mi) NNW of Okinawa, Japan
  4. 127km (79mi) NNW of Gushikawa, Japan
  5. 1127km (700mi) S of Seoul, South Korea
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 52km NE of Namie, Japan 2013-05-18 05:47:59 UTC

M6.0 - 52km NE of Namie, Japan 2013-05-18 05:47:59 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

Event Time

2013-05-18 05:47:59 UTC

2013-05-18 14:47:59 UTC+09:00 at epicenter

2013-05-18 07:47:59 UTC+02:00 system time

 

Location

37.745°N 141.494°E depth=34.3km (21.3mi)

 

Nearby Cities

52km (32mi) NE of Namie, Japan

65km (40mi) ESE of Watari, Japan

66km (41mi) ESE of Marumori, Japan

67km (42mi) ESE of Kakuda, Japan

279km (173mi) NE of Tokyo, Japan

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 24km ENE of Ishinomaki, Japan

M6.2 - 24km ENE of Ishinomaki, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it


2016-11-11 21:42:59 UTC

38.499°N   141.561°E

44.8 km depth

 

Un séisme de magnitude 6,2 s'est produit samedi dans l'est du Japon, où aucun dommage ni victime n'était signalé pour le moment, selon l'Institut de géophysique américain (USGS).

Ce tremblement de terre, d'une profondeur de 44 km, est survenu à 06H42 (21H42 GMT) au large de la côte nord-est de l'île principale de Honshu, soit à environ 350 km de Tokyo.

 

Aucune alerte au tsunami n'a été déclenchée.

Le Japon, situé à la jonction de quatre plaques tectoniques, connaît chaque année un grand nombre de tremblements de terre relativement violents.

Mais les normes de construction y sont très strictes et des exercices d'entraînement aux comportements à adopter en cas de catastrophe sont régulièrement menés, réduisant les pertes humaines et les dommages.

 

18'000 morts en 2011

Les Japonais sont encore plus sensibles aux risques depuis le tsunami de mars 2011, consécutif à un séisme de magnitude 9. Celui-ci avait tué quelque 18'000 personnes et provoqué une catastrophe à la centrale nucléaire de Fukushima, où les coeurs de trois réacteurs (sur six au total) étaient entrés en fusion, provoquant le déplacement de dizaines de milliers de personnes.

 

L'archipel nippon a connu en avril deux forts tremblements de terre dans la région de Kumamoto (sud-ouest), suivi de plus de 1'700 répliques, qui avaient fait une cinquantaine de morts et causé d'importants dommages.

 

(afp/nxp)

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 143km ESE of Katsuura, Japan

M6.2 - 143km ESE of Katsuura, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

2016-09-23 00:14:34 UTC34.488°N   141.659°E10.0 km depth

 
Origin
Catalog Mag Time         Depth Review Status  Location       Source
US    6.2 mww 00:14:34 10.0  REVIEWED 34.488°N 141.659°E US2
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.2 - 7km SW of Ueki, Japan

M6.2 - 7km SW of Ueki, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2016-04-14 12:26:36 (UTC)
  2. 2016-04-14 14:26:36 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Places
  • 7.0 km (4.3 mi) SW of Ueki, Japan
  • 9.0 km (5.6 mi) SE of Tamana, Japan
  • 12.0 km (7.5 mi) WNW of Kumamoto-shi, Japan
  • 18.0 km (11.2 mi) N of Uto, Japan
  • 620.0 km (385.3 mi) SSE of Seoul, South Korea
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.7 - 51km SE of Shizunai, Japan

M6.7 - 51km SE of Shizunai, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

41.952°N 142.720°E depth=51.4 km (31.9 mi)

 

Time
  1. 2016-01-14 03:25:34 (UTC)
  2. 2016-01-14 04:25:34 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 51km (32mi) SE of Shizunai, Japan
  2. 114km (71mi) SSW of Obihiro, Japan
  3. 119km (74mi) SE of Tomakomai, Japan
  4. 122km (76mi) SSW of Otofuke, Japan
  5. 743km (462mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan


more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.7 - 144km WSW of Makurazaki, Japan

M6.7 - 144km WSW of Makurazaki, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2015-11-13 20:51:31 (UTC)
  2. 2015-11-13 21:51:31 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 144km (89mi) WSW of Makurazaki, Japan
  2. 148km (92mi) WSW of Kaseda, Japan
  3. 157km (98mi) WSW of Kushikino, Japan
  4. 163km (101mi) WSW of Ijuin, Japan
  5. 748km (465mi) SSE of Seoul, South Korea
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M7.8 - 189km WNW of Chichi-shima, Japan

M7.8 - 189km WNW of Chichi-shima, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Time
  1. 2015-05-30 11:23:02 (UTC)
  2. 2015-05-30 13:23:02 (UTC+02:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 189km (117mi) WNW of Chichi-shima, Japan
  2. 771km (479mi) SSE of Shimoda, Japan
  3. 781km (485mi) SSE of Oyama, Japan
  4. 783km (487mi) SE of Shingu, Japan
  5. 874km (543mi) S of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.0 - 130km E of Miyako, Japan

M6.0 - 130km E of Miyako, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2015-02-21 10:13:54 (UTC)
  2. 2015-02-21 11:13:54 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 130km (81mi) E of Miyako, Japan
  2. 135km (84mi) ENE of Yamada, Japan
  3. 143km (89mi) ENE of Otsuchi, Japan
  4. 149km (93mi) ENE of Kamaishi, Japan
  5. 568km (353mi) NE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.7 - 83km ENE of Miyako, Japan

M6.7 - 83km ENE of Miyako, Japan | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2015-02-16 23:06:27 (UTC)
  2. 2015-02-17 00:06:27 (UTC+01:00) in your timezone
  3. Times in other timezones
Nearby Cities
  1. 83km (52mi) ENE of Miyako, Japan
  2. 90km (56mi) ENE of Yamada, Japan
  3. 99km (62mi) ENE of Otsuchi, Japan
  4. 106km (66mi) NE of Kamaishi, Japan
  5. 538km (334mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.3 - 154km ENE of Hachinohe, Japan 2014-10-11 02:35:46 UTC

M6.3 - 154km ENE of Hachinohe, Japan 2014-10-11 02:35:46 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-10-11 02:35:46 UTC
  2. 2014-10-11 12:35:46 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-10-11 04:35:46 UTC+02:00 system time
 Location

40.986°N 143.216°E depth=13.5km (8.4mi)

 Nearby Cities
  1. 154km (96mi) ENE of Hachinohe, Japan
  2. 160km (99mi) ENE of Misawa, Japan
  3. 165km (103mi) SSE of Shizunai, Japan
  4. 171km (106mi) E of Mutsu, Japan
  5. 663km (412mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.5 - 129km ESE of Namie, Japan 2014-07-11 19:22:00 UTC

M6.5 - 129km ESE of Namie, Japan 2014-07-11 19:22:00 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time
  1. 2014-07-11 19:22:00 UTC
  2. 2014-07-12 04:22:00 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-07-11 21:22:00 UTC+02:00 system time
Location

37.064°N 142.365°E depth=11.1km (6.9mi)

Nearby Cities
  1. 129km (80mi) ESE of Namie, Japan
  2. 131km (81mi) E of Iwaki, Japan
  3. 147km (91mi) ENE of Kitaibaraki, Japan
  4. 151km (94mi) ENE of Takahagi, Japan
  5. 284km (176mi) ENE of Tokyo, Japan
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M6.3 - 13km N of Kunisaki-shi, Japan 2014-03-13 17:06:51 UTC

M6.3 - 13km N of Kunisaki-shi, Japan 2014-03-13 17:06:51 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it

Event Time

2014-03-13 17:06:51 UTC


2014-03-14 02:06:51 UTC+09:00 at epicenter


2014-03-13 18:06:51 UTC+01:00 system time



Location

33.683°N 131.737°E depth=82.9km (51.5mi)


Nearby Cities

13km (8mi) N of Kunisaki-shi, Japan


30km (19mi) ENE of Bungo-Takada-shi, Japan


31km (19mi) NNE of Kitsuki, Japan


36km (22mi) SSW of Hikari, Japan


609km (378mi) SE of Seoul, South Korea

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Jacques Le Bris
Scoop.it!

M7.3 - Off the east coast of Honshu, Japan 2013-10-25 17:10:16 UTC

M7.3 - Off the east coast of Honshu, Japan 2013-10-25 17:10:16 UTC | Japan Tsunami | Scoop.it
Event Time

2013-10-25 17:10:16 UTC

2013-10-26 03:10:16 UTC+10:00 at epicenter

2013-10-25 19:10:16 UTC+02:00 system time

 

Location

37.194°N 144.663°E depth=10.0km (6.2mi)

 

Nearby Cities

325km (202mi) ESE of Ishinomaki, Japan

326km (203mi) E of Namie, Japan

331km (206mi) SE of Ofunato, Japan

333km (207mi) ESE of Yamoto, Japan

475km (295mi) ENE of Tokyo, Japan

more...
No comment yet.