Salespeople love to complain that all the customer cares about is the price. When we don’t get a deal, we’re quick to point to our higher price as a major cause of defeat.
Marty Note I agree!!! One of my most popular posts on ScentTrail Marketing is how to price your product or service (http://scenttrail.blogspot.com/2011/07/how-to-price-your-product-or-service.html ; ) and I agree with this article's idea that as marketers we are often our own worst pricing enemies. We do the easy thing. We lower our head and rage at the Matador's red cape. We lower prices when our competitors do and that is letting someone else drive your car.
Value is more than price. Customers, at least the ones you want to keep, know value is more than price. Their knowledge doesn’t mean you shouldn't REMIND THEM of all the dimensions that go into making even a "simple" purchase decision such as reliability, ease or returns and the value of a relationship with a company that cares about knowing its customers (not all do).
Best way to remind you customers is to have customers speak to other customers. If you say, "We are reliable," it immediately sounds unreliable in the ironic echo chamber that is the web. I think of this feedback loop as more than "testimonials". Testimonials are non-organized praise.
If you don't use Topsy or Radian6 to mine the keyword about your brands you can't find any other way you are crazy. Friends of Friends feedback is lost to Google Analytics and where the real money is in today's customer service is inside social networks.
Don't make your magic about price since you WILL NOT win that battle. Someone is always lower.
New research out from Google, working with market analysts Ipsos and Sterling Brands, puts some hard numbers behind the often-noticed trend of how people in the U.S.
While each of these has a significant place in our consumption today, their real power lies in how they are used together — in combination, 90% of all of our media consumption, or 4.4 hours per day, is happening across all four (which doesn’t leave much room for paper-based books and publications; or for radio).
This not only has implications for how content is designed, but also for how companies like Google will continue to hedge their bets across all four screens.
Ideal solution if you have a blog is a mix of curated content and your original one. Saving you a lot of time, beside other useful things, is why is so popular among bloggers.
Uberflip have released this Infographic about the rise of content curation as a content marketing strategy, showing that curation can be used to increase visibility, boost SEO, and establish thought leadership – all in a cost-effective way and with limited resources.
- Creating original content is the biggest obstacle for 73% of content marketers.
-75% of marketers cannot justify spending the time needed to create original content for their audience.
- There are a variety of tools developed within the past 3 years that can help marketers and content curators gather the most relevant content, re-purpose it, and present it to their audience in unique ways.
- 85% of brands use content curation to establish thought leadership, and 80% say it enables them to increase brand visibility
Robin Good: Just as much as music is no longer in the hands of record companies and books are no longer in the hands of traditional book publishers, learning is not anymore in the hands of schools and other educational institutions.
Today a person can learn from a myriad of new different sources, at his own pace and time.
"The internet has democratized education and businesses should take notice.
You are in business because you have some area of expertise.
Sharing your expertise is a way to help you build your brand and provide value."
From the original article: "The Education of Millionaires, a book by Michael Ellsberg that proposes that the best investment in education is one that offers lifelong, relevant knowledge that will make you financially successful.
He urges people to find mentors and experts to teach the skills they need, rather than investing six figures in a traditional college education that is unlikely to contribute to their ability to earn a living.
I have mixed feelings about suggesting that people forgo or drop out of college, but I believe we are seeing a trend worth noting.
People are looking to non-traditional sources to learn from. Education and business are merging. "
The article is full of short, valuable insights, like these:
"As a brand, your expertise in the product you sell — in every way it affects the people who use it — sets you apart. If you sell shoes, you could teach fashion or fitness. If your product is food, teach nutrition."
"Consumers need information to choose when there are too many options."
Quick, think back to a major decision. You know, the kind that compelled you to read everything on a topic and lead you to spend hours devouring every last scrap of data. How'd that work out for you?
We like to think that more information drives smarter decisions; that the more details we absorb, the better off we'll be. It's why we subscribe to Google Alerts, cling to our iPhone, and fire up our TweetDeck.
Knowledge, we're told, is power. But what if our thirst for data is actually holding us back? What if obsessing over information actually reduces the quality of our decisions?
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Like it or not, link building has been and still is big, big business. Doing it well takes a lot of time and resources, which means that many webmasters/site owners can’t or don’t want to do it themselves. Many agencies that handle other aspects of search engine marketing want to outsource it simply because of the massive resource drain.
That’s great news for people like me who specialize in link building but the intense supply and demand nature of links coupled with the ease of promoting yourself through social media have led to a frightening increase in people who build bad links and really have no idea what they’re doing.
As link building is considered an offpage tactic, to actually sell yourself as a link builder, you don’t have to do very much. People are desperate for help.
However, it’s better to build no links than it is to embark upon a link building campaign that is full of nothing but spam that you will pay for twice: once when you put it up there, once when you have to remove it. If you’re shopping for link builders, make sure that the one you go with knows most of the following...
What a great idea!!!! Also elevates hashtags to the secret weapons I've always felt they are. Think of the mobile possibilities here. Very cool. Video wasn't on Amax site or YouTube Channel. I found it deep in their Facebook page (epic fail there).
"American Express is turning Twitter content into commerce by connecting Cardmembers to merchants and delivering real world value to both," said Ed Gilligan, Vice Chairman, American Express. "With the continued convergence of online and offline commerce, our closed loop continues to enable us to bring seamless, relevant ways to connect our cardmembers and merchants on the most powerful social and digital platforms"...
Google is planning to take actions on website which try to manipulate the organic rankings by doing changes on their website or building links within a specified time period.
This time period is measured and compared using a method which is more appropriately known as ranking documents.
Now Google would not fall prey to the tactics used by the webmasters in manipulating the rankings, instead it would use the power of ranking documents to measure correctly the kind of changes that a webmaster did for his/her site and the reactions in ranking correspondingly. This technique confuses a spammer and helps the genuinely popular websites to rank well.
This is a strict warning to those webmasters who constantly change the on page elements on their website. Google would be able to find those elements which had remained unidentified by Google’s spam prevention algorithm.
The Three Ranks
There are three types of ranks associated with this Patent. These are given below:-
It happens when you make first changes to your website (Remember it may happen through both on page and off page optimization). Google gives you its first rank which can be positive or negative.
This can be called as the target rank or the final rank that your website would get after the transition period is over. This rank would come after the transition period is over. You can think of transition period as the time period where Google keeps an eye on your tactics.
This is the rank which confuses the webmasters and forces them to review their tactics, ultimately allowing Google to detect the methods used to manipulate Google rankings. Hence, the webmasters should be careful with their strategy during this time period.
What changes are expected?
Be ready for some awkward behavior by Google. You might gain rankings, lose rankings, or remain stable in rankings for an unspecified period of time after doing changes on your site. If you recently made some changes on the website but do not see improvement or see a negative rankings happening then do not panic. This is bound to happen because of this patent.
What to do next?
Forget about keyword stuffing, title keyword stuffing, keyword stuffed description or search engine focused content.
Create website only for the users. Create titles that are user friendly, give appropriate descriptions assuming a user is reading them, do not stuff keywords on H1 tags or other areas.
Be straight in your link building approach; find authoritative sources of links, no need to follow a particular strategy, change your link building strategy time to time.
Remember one good link is better than hundreds of bad links.
Quality of links matters more than quantity.
The truth is if you are maintaining a quality site focused on users and if the users are loving you then no such patents can stop your website from showing up on the search results.
Just remain focused on following search engine guidelines, avoid spamming, build backlinks but revise your strategy, do not make on page changes so often and add fresh content to your website regularly.
These things would surely help your website to achieve good rankings.
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SocialPics lets you create a physical scrapbook of your Facebook timeline.
For many of us, Facebook is one of the few places our pictures are stored and shared. Sure, we have digital photos in various folders on our computers, but chances are, they haven’t yet been organized into albums.
SocialPics, a new app from Snapfish by HP, wants to help you do just that. It connects with Facebook to scan your Timeline, and creates a physical 20-page book of your most popular photos, comments and status updates.
For the uninitiated, Snapfish is a photo-sharing site that lets users upload, store, share their digital pictures, as well as organize them into virtual albums and keepsake photobooks.
With SocialPics, Snapfish is helping users bring their Facebook photos and memories from the digital world to the pages of a physical book...
The Power of Bloggers is amzing when it comes to sales and conversions.Meet Top 100 Mommy Bloggers right here
I’m going to introduce you to the most powerful people on earth. No. It’s not the Illuminati. It’s not the Knights Templar. It’s Mommy Bloggers (whether they have kids in the house or not). They control the world.
They control the world.
Mommy bloggers / women not only control the 97% of the purchasing power in any given household (58% of all online buys are done by women.
The rest are men buying what their women told them to buy), they talk, they network, they ally, they are influencing every social media outlet from Facebook to Twitter to Pinterest to Quora. most importantly, they are influencing their children.
In 5 years, an 11 year old can get a work permit and spend as they wish.
How to Reach Out to Amateur Bloggers
If you’re opening a new boutique hotel and spa, announce a contest where 1 in 20 amateur mommy bloggers who write about you will win an all expenses paid weekend getaway.
How to Reach Out to The Professional Bloggers On This List
First, block out your biggest conference room. You might need a warehouse if it’s not big enough. Print out the last 30 days of blog posts from the bloggers below and tile your walls and floor with all the pages you’ll be getting.
Not every blogger covers “Baby Bjorn.” In fact, some of the bloggers here don’t even have kids (at home or ever). The pattern you’ll notice is that your stereo types don’t fit. Each blogger has their own niche. They have their own suite of manufacturers they are giving feedback to. And they each have a content dispersal pattern that might lean more toward health or dining or housewares.
If 200,000 : 500 : 1 Google Adwords gives you 200,000 impressions on search : 500 Clicks : one conversion (You’ve Got Money!)
1,700,000 : 3000/210 : 0.15 Facebook Ads give you 1,700,000 impressions : 3000 Clicks (70% are bots so you’re left with) 210 real human Clicks : 0.15 conversion
X : Y : Z And Mommy Blogger gives you X impressions (with full branding that Google and FB can’t give you) : Y clicks (endorsed and recommended) : Z sales,
The math becomes easy.
Google @ $1.5 CPC = $750 per conversion
Facebook @ $1 CPC = 3,000 x 1/0.15 (that’s a LOT)
Mommy Blogger : …
Introducing the Global Top 100 Mommy Bloggers to Treat and Pamper of 2012 ...
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Traditional outbound marketing can end up being a poor investment. You have to rely on channels like cold-calling, paid branding and print advertising.All of those channels can get really expensive really fast.
Inbound marketing, on other hand, will help you capture attention, generate leads, convert customers and keep those customers…all at a lower cost to you than your competition.
Let’s look at a few steps to get you there.
Step #1 – Ignore Sales And Focus On Marketing
It’s much better to create a marketing strategy that feeds that team qualified, warm leads…instead of cold, and possibly dead leads.
Instead, focus your efforts on building a marketing team with excellent marketing skills.
Hire brilliant marketers – Focus on tightly targeted markets – Close qualified leads –
It comes down to the answer of these three questions:
Do they have the authority to buy? Do they have the budget to buy? When do they plan on buying?
A Leads (ready to buy in 3 months or less), some B leads (is ready to buy in three to twelve months). C leads marketing can keep.
Step #2. Focus On Multiple Inbound Channels
The key behind an effective inbound marketing strategy is to create and deliver valuable content.
Here is a template to use for your inbound marketing strategy:
Your team should focus on publishing quality content two to five times a week. Quality means search-engine friendly, highly-researched and compelling. Engage in comment marketing – Someone on your team should focus on visiting sites within your industry to interact with bloggers and readers in the comment section. Publish guest blog posts – Guest blogging is one of the fastest ways to grow your subscriber base.
Produce online video
Video can help improve your search rankings, raise the amount of time people stay on your page and even boost conversion rates on your landings pages. Interact in the social bookmarking world – While this isn’t one of the most popular ways to generate leads, it is definitely one you shouldn’t ignore.
Establish authority on Q+A sites
Quora has really established itself as a place for professional exchange of ideas.
Design brilliant Infographics
Visual.ly, is a one-stop shop for Infographic creation, has this inbound marketing technique nailed.
Build a social media audience on the big four – Focus your audience-building efforts on Facebook, LinkedIn,
Twitter and Google+.
If your target audience is on Pinterest or Tumblr, then use those sites as well. Keep in mind—don’t spread yourself too thin. Pick two or three that you can maximize your exposure.
Implement a solid startup SEO plan – If you run a startup, then you are in an excellent position to take advantage of everything that SEO has to offer.
All of the efforts behind a good inbound marketing plan won’t cost you a dime except for the sweat equity you invest. This means you can compete with bigger competition that is better funded.
For each of the inbound marketing efforts above you’ll want to break them down into steps.
Step #3. Dominate LinkedIn Groups
While the big three social media sites get all the attention, LinkedIn is quietly becoming a powerhouse. With over 150 million users, you have a lot of opportunity to generate some serious attention.
The specific strategy I want to focus on is with Groups. Contribute and engage with LinkedIn Groups with this quick 5-step strategy and you’ll generate some high-quality leads.
Find the best Group to join – LinkedIn has lots of groups that are divided into categories. Find three to five small groups that most accurately represent your target demographic. Target popular discussions – You’ll waste your time if you simply try to join every discussion. Instead, search for the most popular discussions—these will have the most visibility.
Start a new discussion – Before you start your own discussion, make sure you spend some time in other discussions. Get a feel for the culture of the group and find out what is important to them. Follow up – It’s not easy keeping track of discussions, so you’ll have to be proactively visit your groups and monitor the discussions—especially the ones you started. Start a Group – This is a perfect way to establish your authority. But you have to be strategic here. Make this group center on your brand and how your message is different than the competition. Brands That Defy Gravity is a great example of a group that stands out in a crowded market.
Step #4. Never Attend A Trade Show Again
Trade shows can be very expensive.
There is a more effective—and cheaper—way to leverage the power of trade shows.
Here’s what you could do also:
Blog about the main points of each speaker – Summarize the conference –
Inbound marketing is truly a gift to startups who are strapped for cash. Depending upon how big your team is, you will all probably end up working like a slave to get it all done…but it will be worth the effort.
Marty Note - This is an amazing Ultimate Social Media Marketing Guide from my friend Michele (maxOz). I would only add don't just BLOG a trade show LIVEBLOG it. I've been able to take Google #1 listings from the site's of people who were running the shows I was LiveBlogging because they are busy running the show while I'm busy talking about what is happening. BTW, for those trade shows that hold presentations for a day or a week I say get with it. You better liveblog your show or someone like me will steal your juice :). Internet marketing happens in real time now so dont make me pay for presentations tomorrow I've already paid for today.
If you want to quit visit the original website, if not stay and join me here with your comments.
Ok it might be a little bit funny but I simply do not want to quit with those Two beautiful Vices, Coffee and Cigarettes.
I scooped this post only because nice and meaningful image.
It will serve my purpose to say what I really think about coffee and cigarettes.
Before 10 or 15 years nobody care who is smoking and who is not .Coffee was poured in hectoliters, everywhere in the city you could sit down and smoke one while drinking your favorite black hot drink.
Nobody give a damn.
Through mass media last couple of years smokers are equalized with the worst scum of the earth.
Now all of the sudden everybody is bothered if someone smoking next to him.
"Oh no don't smoke here it bothers me, smoke from your cigarette is awful", you can here everyday.
The worst's are ex smokers.They act like they forgot that not so long ago they were smokers too and now, they eager to lead you too on a rightful path, healthier living and all that bullshit.
Who was ever hurt from secondary smoke?
We will be all sick and ruined if this is true.My parents were smoking and their parents too and we are all healthy as a horses.
I remember my younger days while I was still going out in disco and bars.They were full with smoke and you could almost cut that smoke with the knife
I don't remember anybody was complaining.
Nobody even think about that.People were dancing, drinking, kissing, and having fun.
Some people say that your clothes is stinky if you are smoker.
How is that possible if you change your clothes every day like you should and you taking care on your everyday hygiene.
Stinky are those who don't take showers or don't washing their teeth regardless of being smokers or not.
Tom ford issued a fragrance based on tobacco called "Tobacco Vanilla" in 2007.
Tobacco is actually smells good.
I have vanilla stick in my car and I smoke in my car so I have natural combination of that fragrance while driving.
It is two past midnight and I'm writhing this post with coffee on my table and cigarette in my mouth and having a great fun doing it.
The same is with every post I make.
I don't want to be a slave in this modern society and behave like they telling you to behave.
will not quit smoking because some MF on TV tell it is bad. I LIKE IT, period.
People are dying no matter what.
Wars reigns around globe,people are starving, depleted uranium killing soldiers from their own weapons, nuclear disaster hits in Ukraine, now in Japan , they filling us with poisoned food, GMO aspartame,fluoride in water etc., and I should be worried about a pack of cigarettes?
Nobody talking about these things, oh no, they are concerned with smokers!
They want to kill all your pleasures, just go to work and don't ask anything.
Did you ask yourself what is really behind that antismoker campaign?
Did you know that some revolutions were started in coffee bars where people were meeting.
Do they want to kill our social habits and make us not to gather in real life?
Put us in the back of PC where we have just a feeling that we are social beings.
Come on people wake up!
People are smoking more than 2000 years back in history. And NOW it is forbidden in public.
What is the next thing that will be forbidden?
Please make comments on this! I'm going to smoke one!
We’ve all been talking a lot about how messy the web has become in recent years. And it’s only getting messier.
So much so that simple words will not suffice to describe just how much content is created and uploaded to the internet every minute of the day.
This Infographic was created to depict how “full” the internet is.
While it’s technically impossible for the web to fill up, it is very clear that web surfers are well past our limits of time and patience it takes to find the best information on the topics that interest us.
With a desperate search for tools to help us gather and consume only the best information on any topic, nothing has presented itself as an ideal solution. Except for one thing: the human curated information hub. Looking at the graphic, it becomes clear very quickly why it is impossible for a single algorithm-driven source, such as a search engine, to supply us with everything that is relevant (and of high quality) on a certain topic without all the noise that comes with it.
It is also a great way to demonstrate just how important human curated content has become.
Curation is truly a valuable service to web surfers who have neither the time nor the patience to sift through mountains of links and data to find what they’re looking for and make sense of it.
Follow these Google+ circles for insights about marketing, technology, digital branding, social media, and blogging.
It’s true that marketers tend to rely on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to remain at the forefront of industry news, but they also tend to neglect the full potential that Google+offers as a news source.
Adding key people to your circle and following the shared circles others have curated on Google+ can help fill your feed with relevant content that’s worth reading.
To get started, follow these Google+ circles for insights about marketing, technology, digital branding, social media, and blogging...