Hudson HS Learnin...
Follow
Find tag "literacy"
653 views | +0 today
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Response: Helping Students Develop a Desire To Read At Home

Response: Helping Students Develop a Desire To Read At Home | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
(This is the first post in a three-part series on this topic) Elizabeth W. Rivero asked: If teachers assign reading as homework and the students are not completing the reading at home, what do you do to get them to do it, other than assign questions?
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

NCLE Report: Remodeling Literacy Learning | Literacy in Learning Exchange

NCLE Report: Remodeling Literacy Learning | Literacy in Learning Exchange | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Deborah Owen's insight:

Some great observations in this report, and terrific suggestions, focusing on collaboration among educators.

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Deborah Owen from School libraries for information literacy and learning!
Scoop.it!

The Reading Brain in the Digital Age: The Science of Paper versus Screens: Scientific American

The Reading Brain in the Digital Age: The Science of Paper versus Screens: Scientific American | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
reading, neuroscience, literature, psychology, cognitive science, engineering, iPad, Kindle, e-reader, tablet, user interface, fiction, nonfiction, journalism

Via Anu Ojaranta
Deborah Owen's insight:

As we head more and more toward all-digital, we need to ask ourselves what difference it makes in learning.

more...
Anu Ojaranta's curator insight, April 15, 2013 2:27 AM

An interesting article about how the devices change our reading.

Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

A Non-Freaked Out, Focused Approach to the Common Core -- Part 1 | Teaching the Core

A Non-Freaked Out, Focused Approach to the Common Core -- Part 1 | Teaching the Core | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
What are the most important Common Core State Standards? In this post, Dave explains his top picks from the CCSS.
Deborah Owen's insight:

Great intro to a promising series.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Common Core: What Is A "Complex Text" Anyway?

Common Core: What Is A "Complex Text" Anyway? | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Last month I attended a training focused on teaching "complex texts" to address the Common Core Standards.
Deborah Owen's insight:

There three aspects of a text that the Common Core measures to determine its “complexity” are:

Quantitative QualitativeReader and Task
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Five ways to get kids to want to read and write

Five ways to get kids to want to read and write | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Here's a book excerpt from veteran educator Larry Ferlazzo's new book on how to get students to warn to learn.
Deborah Owen's insight:

Concrete classroom ideas for literacy. Based on Dan Pink's "Drive".

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Deborah Owen from iGeneration - 21st Century Education
Scoop.it!

4 Principals Of Digital Literacy

4 Principals Of Digital Literacy | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
4 Principals Of Digital Literacy

Via Tom D'Amico (@TDOttawa)
Deborah Owen's insight:

Four factors: comprehension; interdependence; social factors; curation. Read this to learn more.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

2013_The NCTE Definition of 21st Century Literacies

Deborah Owen's insight:

Great definition. Allows for change over time, and focuses on behaviors and skills.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Educational Leadership: Reading: The Core Skill: Taming the Wild Text

From ASCD.

 

Deborah Owen's insight:

"A top-10 list of strategies to help the struggling reader become fierce, unafraid, and strong."

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

How to do a close reading | Writing Center, Harvard University

Writing Center, Harvard University
Deborah Owen's insight:

Annotate; look for patterns; ask questions, especially "how" and "why".

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

4 Ways High School Makes You Hate Reading

4 Ways High School Makes You Hate Reading | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Let me be clear, I still love reading good books. But thanks to school, everything else is a pain.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Home

Home | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Orca Book Publishers brings you Reaching Reluctant Readers, a site devoted to materials, research and resources for educators who work with reluctant readers.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Readers of literary fiction are more creative and exercise better judgment, claim scientists

Readers of literary fiction are more creative and exercise better judgment, claim scientists | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Reading literature may result in greater creativity and less rigid thinking, according to new study by University of Toronto scholars.
Deborah Owen's insight:

Some more great reasons to read fiction!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

A Non-Freaked Out Approach to Close Reading & the Common Core | Teaching the Core

A Non-Freaked Out Approach to Close Reading & the Common Core | Teaching the Core | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Here, Dave Stuart and Erica Beaton share their approach to close reading (R.CCR.1) and a non-freaked out approach to the Common Core State Standards.
Deborah Owen's insight:
close reading slows us down and allows us to interpret difficult passages;it keeps us focused on our purpose for reading (e.g., finding a claim to argue with);it leaves us “bread crumbs” with which we can find our way back to our thinking later on, like when we’ve got to write a paper or prepare for a discussion.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Blogging in the 21st-Century Classroom

Blogging in the 21st-Century Classroom | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
This year, I admitted a hard truth to myself. I wasn't having my students write enough. In an attempt to follow Kelly Gallagher’s advice that students should write more than we can assess, I decided
Deborah Owen's insight:

Terrific, authentic means of having students write regularly! ALL of our students should be blogging, for lots of reasons. This particular assignment not only gets them writing every week, and reading their peers' posts (collaboration), but it also validates their personal interests and boosts their intrinsic motivation to learn. Let's do this!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Complex Texts and a Non-Freaked Out Approach to the Common Core, Part 2 | Teaching the Core

Complex Texts and a Non-Freaked Out Approach to the Common Core, Part 2 | Teaching the Core | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
How do we incorporate the Common Core's complex texts in a way that students will read, engage with, debate, and discuss? Join us as we explore non-freaked implementation.
Deborah Owen's insight:

"the average complexity of assigned reading in high school has been decreasing over the years, while the average complexity of required reading in college/career settings has been increasing)."

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Deborah Owen from Common Core Across Disciplines
Scoop.it!

The Exchange - Newsletter 2013, April - Teaching Literacy for the CCSS and Cultivating Curiosity

Deborah Owen's insight:

Do NOT miss reading these articles! All about teaching literacy, and cultivating curiosity. From the International Reading Assoc. Secondary Reading Interest Group.

more...
Deborah Owen's curator insight, April 3, 2013 8:01 AM

Do NOT miss reading these articles!

Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

IRA Books : Developing Readers in the Academic Disciplines

IRA Books : Developing Readers in the Academic Disciplines | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Book description, bibliographic details, and ordering information
Deborah Owen's insight:

Our book group has been reading this at school. GREAT ideas here. See also the link to Buehl's PD guide to integrating the Common Core.

more...
Deborah Owen's curator insight, March 8, 2013 10:59 AM

Our book group has been reading this at school. GREAT ideas here. See also the link to Buehl's PD guide to integrating the Common Core.

Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Beyond the Book Report: Ten Alternatives

Beyond the Book Report: Ten Alternatives | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
In my last post I described 10 ways to cultivate a love of reading in kids. I want to expand on that theme by suggesting 10 alternatives to the book report.
Deborah Owen's insight:

Some really great, creative ideas here!

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Library InfoZone | Why do we read? Why do we learn?

Deborah Owen's insight:

Don't forget to check out our library blog/website for good information!

more...
No comment yet.
Rescooped by Deborah Owen from InformationFluencyTransliteracyResearchTools
Scoop.it!

New Report Highlights School Libraries' Promotion of Digital Literacy

New Report Highlights School Libraries' Promotion of Digital Literacy | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it

“School libraries always have been interdisciplinary spaces deeply connected to the curriculum, instrumental in developing students' research and information literacy skills, and committed to creating an environment of free reading that supports lifelong learning and curiosity. These traditional roles and strengths are increasingly critical as society faces a deluge of digital information, and the lines between content user and content creator are blurred and even actively deconstructed.”

 


Via Karen Bonanno, L2_S2S, Joyce Valenza
Deborah Owen's insight:

“School libraries always have been interdisciplinary spaces deeply connected to the curriculum, instrumental in developing students’ research and information literacy skills, and committed to creating an environment of free reading that supports lifelong learning and curiosity. These traditional roles and strengths are increasingly critical as society faces a deluge of digital information, and the lines between content user and content creator are blurred and even actively
deconstructed.”

more...
Audrey Nay's comment, February 8, 2013 3:53 PM
Great description of SL's role
Christine Margocs's curator insight, February 10, 2013 2:37 PM

Libraries are great resources when teaching digital literacy.

Jeni Mawter's curator insight, February 11, 2013 8:16 PM

Libraries are digital platforms serving the needs of schools and communities. 

Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Education Week: Rethinking Literacy:Reading in the Common-Core Era

Education Week: Rethinking Literacy:Reading in the Common-Core Era | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
This special report focuses on the shifts in literacy instruction envisioned by the Common Core State Standards.
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

Read-alikes: Not Your Parents' Classics, by Ian Chipman | Booklist Online

Read-alikes: Not Your Parents' Classics, by Ian  Chipman | Booklist Online | Hudson HS Learning Commons | Scoop.it
Booklist Online Book Review: Read-alikes: Not Your Parents' Classics.Chipman, Ian (author).FEATURE.First published May 15, 2012 (Booklist).Books For Youth - Fiction - Fantasy...
more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by Deborah Owen
Scoop.it!

People-for-Education-report-on-students-reading-enjoyment-Reading-for-Joy.pdf

Report shows decline in students who enjoy reading (in Ontario). I was going just to send this to the Literacy Action Team, but then thought that all of us could learn a thing or two from this report.

more...
No comment yet.