Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15
874 views | +32 today
Follow
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

About BES | Maryland Association of School Librarians

About BES | Maryland Association of School Librarians | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
What is the Black-Eyed Susan Book Award? The Black-Eyed Susan Book Award is a children's choice award for the state of Maryland. Each year since 1992, the
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Learn about the MASL Black-Eyed Susan Book Award.

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

This Is the Rope

This Is the Rope | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Jacqueline Woodson Author Website http://www.jacquelinewoodson.com/

James Ransome Illustrator Website http://www.jamesransome.com/index.htm

TeachingBooks http://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=36725

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Stuck

Stuck | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Author Website http://www.oliverjeffers.com/

Book Trailer https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2nOvBPJTwo

Teaching Ideas Blog (includes list of stuck items) http://www.teachingideas.co.uk/library/books/stuck.htm

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Miracle Mud

Miracle Mud | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
By David A. Kelly Published by Lerner Available in Hardcover **Winner of the Maryland Library Association's 2014 Blue Crab Award for transitional non-fiction!** Miracle Mud: Lena Blackburne and Sec...
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

David A. Kelly Author Website http://davidakellybooks.com/books/miracle-mud/

Oliver Dominguez Illustrator Blog http://oliverdominguez.blogspot.com/

Baseball's Dirty Secret (Rubbing Mud) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRSe7okTnSI

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

SPIKE, THE MIXED-UP MONSTER

SPIKE, THE MIXED-UP MONSTER | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Susan Hood Author Website http://www.susanhoodbooks.com/home

Melissa Sweet Illustrator Website http://melissasweet.net/

Book Guide http://goo.gl/Npnsih

Classroom Bookshelf Blog http://classroombookshelf.blogspot.com/2013/04/spike-mixed-up-monster.html

Short Axolotl Video (no narration) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRpxvJ2ZYtw

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

The Day The Crayons Quit

The Day The Crayons Quit | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
Oliver Jeffers The Day The Crayons Quit
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Drew Daywalt Nerdy Book Club Blog http://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/what-if-by-drew-daywalt/

Oliver Jeffers Illustrator Website http://www.oliverjeffers.com/

TeachingBooks http://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=36005&a=1

Reading Today Teaching Suggestions http://www.reading.org/reading-today/post/engage/2013/08/20/putting-books-to-work-daywalt-and-jeffers-the-day-the-crayons-quit#.uh5h7lud9bk

Classroom Bookshelf http://classroombookshelf.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/the-day-crayons-quit.html

How Stuff Works - Making Crayons http://science.howstuffworks.com/innovation/4269-assembly-line-crayola-crayons-video.htm

 

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Flight of the Honey Bee

BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Raymond Huber Author Website http://www.raymondhuber.co.nz/

Candlewick Press Classroom Ideas http://goo.gl/8F1jr5

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Hoop Genius

Hoop Genius | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Joy Coy Author Website http://www.johncoy.com/

Joe Morse Illustrator Website http://joemorse.com/books/

Research Project https://www.lernerbooks.com/digitalassets/Assets/Title%20Assets/11692/9780761366171/Research%20Project.pdf

TeachingBooks http://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=34820

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Trailers - Chapter Books

Trailers - Chapter Books

BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyK_uYNG9lw

Buddy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLGgPIV1070

James Patterson Kids YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4mcz-euTCW1Rw8896ISyDQ

Prince Puggly of Spud and the Kingdom of Spif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6zpbSkCkWs

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

The Beatles Were Fab (and They Were Funny)

The Beatles Were Fab (and They Were Funny) | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Kathleen Krull Author Website http://www.kathleenkrull.com/

Paul Brewer Author Website http://www.paulbrewer.com/

Illustrator Website http://www.stacyinnerst.com/stacyinnerst.com/Stacy_Innerst.html

TeachingBooks http://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=37385&a=1

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

LIFETIME: The Amazing Numbers in Animal Lives

LIFETIME: The Amazing Numbers in Animal Lives | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Lola Schaefer Author Website http://www.lolaschaefer.com/

TeachingBooks http://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=36704

Unpacking the Power of Picture Books Blog with Interview http://unpackingpicturebookpower.blogspot.com/2013/09/countdown-to-lifetime-with-author-lola.html

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

What If You Had Animal Teeth?

What If You Had Animal Teeth? | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
This title takes children on a fun, informative, and imaginative journey as they explore what it would be like if their own front teeth were replaced by those of a different animal. Featuring a dozen animals, this book explores how different teeth are especially adapted for an animal's survival.
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Sandra Markle Author Blog http://sandra-markle.blogspot.com/

Howard McWilliam Illustrator Blog http://mcbillhow.wordpress.com/

Classy Teeth from Author Blog http://sandra-markle.blogspot.com/2013/05/classy-teeth.html

Science for Kids Blog (1st Grade) http://scienceforkidsblog.blogspot.com/2013/03/what-if-you-had-animal-teeth.html

Animal Teeth (3rd Grade) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vo7Bixowpjg

First Grade Windows on Wonder (with link to lesson materials) http://firstgradewow.blogspot.com/2013/03/up-close-and-personal-with-animal-teeth.html 

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Martin and Mahalia

Martin and Mahalia

BES-Picture-Book's insight:

TeachingBooks http://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?tid=35839&a=1

Brian Pinkney Illustrator Website http://www.brianpinkney.net/

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Lion vs Rabbit

Lion vs Rabbit

 

BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Alex Latimer Author Website http://www.alexlatimer.co.za/

Peachtree Publishers http://peachtree-online.com/index.php/book/lion-vs-rabbit.html

 

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Helen’s Big World | Doreen Rappaport

Helen’s Big World | Doreen Rappaport | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Doreen Rappaport Author Website http://doreenrappaport.com/

Matt Tavares Illustrator Website http://matttavares.com/index.html

Classroom Bookshelf Blog (includes excellent selection of online resources) http://classroombookshelf.blogspot.com/2012/10/helens-big-world-and-annie-and-helen.html

Big Words Books Hyperion Teacher's Guide http://www.teachingbooks.net/media/pdf/SingleBGs/BigWordsGuide.pdf

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

Trudy Ludwig Books

Trudy Ludwig Books | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Trudy Lugwig Author Website http://www.trudyludwig.com/

Patrice Barton Illustrator Website http://patricebarton.com/

Random House Bullying Book Discuss Guide https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwNidKQSmgyrN2FNN2pGeEpEQzQ/edit?usp=sharing

The Corner on Character Guided Lesson Example http://corneroncharacter.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-invisible-boy-by-trudy-ludwig.html

 

more...
No comment yet.
Scooped by BES-Picture-Book
Scoop.it!

THE MAGIC BOJABI TREE

THE MAGIC BOJABI TREE | Black-Eyed Susan Picture Books 2014-15 | Scoop.it
BES-Picture-Book's insight:

Author website http://www.diannehofmeyr.com/

Author discusses writing her book http://awfullybigblogadventure.blogspot.com/2013/04/the-magic-bojabi-tree-telling-stories.html

Illustrator Website http://www.pietgrobler.com/

 

 

more...
No comment yet.