AKM's Bullying Opinions
12 views | +0 today
Follow
Your new post is loading...
Your new post is loading...
Rescooped by Anna Kathleen Medlin from opinion on bullying by Logan Thomas
Scoop.it!

Real stories about bullying - STOP BULLYING-NP4H

Real stories about bullying - STOP BULLYING-NP4H | AKM's Bullying Opinions | Scoop.it
Real stories from others all over the world that had to face bullying. Do you have a story? Send it to helpRyouthNOW@live.com and we'll share it on our site.

Via Logan Thomas
more...
Logan Thomas's curator insight, January 30, 2013 9:50 AM

Dothink she handled this situation in the wrong way?If so how should she have handled it? When she said "words hurt the most," is this true in your opinion? Is Liz's opinion on bullying true to you? depending on your outlook on bullying did the bully succeed in her goal? Lastly, what might have been the bully's motivation?

Anna Kathleen Medlin's comment, January 30, 2013 7:47 PM
I do not think that Lizzie handled the situation the wrong way. She handled it perfectly, in my opinion. If I were Lizzie and bullying me, the first thing I would have done would be to tell the first responsible adult. Which, in this case, she did. If they did not listen or do anything, I would tell my parents. Knowing my parents, they would stop it right away. I think it is true. Even though most adults tell you to just let the words roll off your back, they are not always there, so they do not always know what the bully is doing or saying. Words may not seem like they can hurt you the most, but if someone keeps on saying them, eventually, they will start to ware you down. I do believe that Lizzie's bullying opinion is true! No on should EVER bully anyone for any reason. So what if you are from a different country, or that you do not practice the same religion, or your skin is a different color. Differences are what make us who we are, and NO ONE should EVER be made fun of who they are. The bully did and did not succeed her goal. She did succeed because the mean things that she said to Lizzie did get to her, personally. The bully did not succeed her goal because the things that she said got to Lizzie, but Lizzie had enough courage and enough wits to go to an adult and put a stop to the bullying problem. The bully might have been bullying Lizzie because she might have felt insecure about herself. She might have been jealous of Lizzie for some reason. Or maybe, she might have been having problems at home. Maybe, she was either being or had been bullied at school, or at home, or at the theater. For any of the reasons, she was probably not totally courageous about the way she was feeling or living.
Logan Thomas's comment, January 30, 2013 9:40 PM
I think you worded that very well. I liked how you mentioned the fact of parents not always being around. Your right people shouldn't be bullied for who they are we are all our own people. I especially agree when you said word do hurt, when hearing those words i recall the sixth grade history, "Gutta cavat lapidem" (forgive my spelling errors if any) this phrase translates to dripping carves out stone, by saying this I mean a little thing like teasing can eventually have a large effect. This phrase also means if you help a bullied person a little it could help them alot. Thanks for your insight.
Scooped by Anna Kathleen Medlin
Scoop.it!

Bullying and Teasing: No Laughing Matter | Scholastic.com

Bullying and Teasing: No Laughing Matter | Scholastic.com | AKM's Bullying Opinions | Scoop.it
Know the facts about bullying — even if you don’t think it affects your child.
more...
Emily Sheridan's comment, January 24, 2013 11:14 PM
This article is written for parents whose children were or are bullied. Most of the time parents don't feel the same pain as children do. They don't understand what it is like to be bullied.This article is very helpful for parents yet sometimes there are no solutions. This article is very helpful for parents yet sometimes there is no solution. I think it is wonderful to get bullying articles out into the world so people can read them and wont bully.
Evans McCook's comment, January 30, 2013 9:19 AM
This article is written for parents to aware them about bullying. The acrticle says the solutions for bullying and causes of bullying. I think this article is helpful for parents ,so they can get ideas on how to help there child to not be bullied .
Evans McCook's comment, January 30, 2013 8:13 PM
I think this article is very helpful for people who are being bullied, especially their parents!
Scooped by Anna Kathleen Medlin
Scoop.it!

For Bullied Bus Monitor, Karen Klein, Donations to Take Hurt Away

For Bullied Bus Monitor, Karen Klein, Donations to Take Hurt Away | AKM's Bullying Opinions | Scoop.it
An online fund-raising drive for a 68-year-old Rochester woman who was brutally taunted by a group of 12- and 13-year-old boys has proved hugely successful.
more...
Ella Thomason's curator insight, January 24, 2013 11:22 PM

In my opinion, these boys did this because they thought that they would become popular, and they would gain attention. i think that the seventh grade boys posted this to be funny. This action was a mistake! If they thought that there was any humor in this, they were just plain desprite for attention. There is nothing funny about this. The boys probably didn't have an inspiration to this horrible act. My response to this is NOT laughter. My response is anger and sadness. 

Carter Griffin's comment, January 25, 2013 7:51 AM
I believe that these boys bullied this woman to amuse their peers and gain popularity among their friends. I think they probably uploaded the video to YouTube for the same reason. They thought they would be famous for bullying this woman, and they are, but not in a good way. These kids should be ashamed for what they did. This is just plain cruel.
TrippVaughn's curator insight, January 28, 2013 8:00 PM

     I think the boys were insecure and wanted to become popular. They probably were insecure about their weight, the amount they sweat, and their hearing. They also thought that doing this would make them popular and cool. 

 

     They posted the video on youtube because the boys probably thought that doing this would make them cool and popular. If they spread the word about it the boys thought that it would make them more popular.

 

     The boys'motivation was to feel better about themselves and to gain attention by becoming popular.

 

     This article horrified and sickened me while it brightened my day at the end. it is just shocking that anybody would do such a crime, especially to a grammother. The way Max Sidorov responded is just amazing. he raised massive amounts of money for Mrs. Klein. Finnaly, raising money for Max Sidorov is a great idea. Giving kindness back to the giver is the best way to respond to anything like this.

Scooped by Anna Kathleen Medlin
Scoop.it!

Bully Official Trailer #1 - Weinstein Company Movie (2012) HD

Bully Official Trailer #1 - Weinstein Company Movie (2012) HD This year, over 5 million American kids will be bullied at school, online, on the bus, at home,...
more...
Mark Barrow's comment, January 24, 2013 2:08 PM
This story reminds me of Wonder (underlined) because both kids are bullied for being different. August is bullied for not looking "normal" and the boy in the movie is bullied for being smarter than "normal." People who join in on bullying are less likely to get bullied themselves. They can become friends with the bully and escape the torments of being a victim. In my opinion, parents are not very useful in preventing bullying. In most cases, kids don't want to tell their parents that they are being bullied, or they will sound like a snitch. The role that the kids play is much more crucialthan the parents. Obviously, your parents are going to stick up for you, but what you really need is for other kids to help you. If the bullies finds themselves out-numbered, they may back down.
Amelia Kate Foulkes's comment, January 24, 2013 10:47 PM
This movie reminds me of Wonder because it is about a boy who is getting bullied because of his physical appearance. I think join bullies because they think that the bully is cool and knows if he's on the bully's side, then he won't be the next target. Parents can do speeches and assemblies to tell kids how to prevent bullying, but, at the end of the day, if a bully wants to hurt someone physically or emotionally, they will despite actions of adults. The role of adults is smaller because bullying usually occurs when adults are not around. Also, most adults don't really understand bullying because it is different now than it was when they were growing up. Parents can prevent bullying by making sure their kid isn't the bully and helping their kid. Kids can help by being nice to kids that get bullied a lot or telling their friend if they are bullying someone, because usually the bully doesn't even realize the extent of their bullying until later.
John McMaster's comment, January 30, 2013 9:12 AM
This trailer reminds me of Wonder (underlined) because of a couple different reasons. The first one, of course, is that he was bullied at school, but it also reminds me of Wonder (underlined) because he did not want to go to school because of the mean kids, which relates to August's excuse. I think that it would be tempting to join in on bullying because the bullies are usually the cool kids, so you feel like agreeing with the cool kids will make you cool. I think that parents play a big role in bullying because a victim of bullying to tell his mom or dad, without anyone knowing. I would think, and hope, that the bullys' parents do not want the children to bully, so if the bullied child's parents told the bully's parents, the bully would most likely get into trouble. However, a common reason for bullying is a lack of a family life, so in some cases, telling the bully's parents may not stop anything. I think that a parent's role in bullying is smaller than the child's, because the child has to stand up for himself at one point, and have the parents as a backup plan. If the child can learn to be strong and stand up for himself, he will eventually be strong enough to not be to hurt by bullying. THis will let the victim be able to overcome bullying completely, and the whole problem will be solved.
Scooped by Anna Kathleen Medlin
Scoop.it!

California School Shooter Had Hit List of Bullies

California School Shooter Had Hit List of Bullies | AKM's Bullying Opinions | Scoop.it
It looks like earlier reports about bullying playing a key part in yesterday's California school shooting were right. The 16-year-old unnamed shooter allegedly composed a list of students he wanted...
Anna Kathleen Medlin's insight:

1. Read it. 2. Scoop it. 3. Answer the following questions: a.) Why did the 16- year- old shoot the kids in the school? b.) Why was the shooter bullied? c.) Why did the shooter have a list of people he wanted to kill? 

more...
Logan Thomas's comment, January 30, 2013 9:58 AM
The sixteen year old boy had apparently been bullied by the people at his school and felt he needed revenge. The shooter was bullied because he went around telling people he would kill them and also said things like, "I might not be here tomorrow." He had a list of people he wanted to kill since they made fun of him. I really feel sorry for this boy do you have any idea if he might of been mentally unstable?
Anna Kathleen Medlin's comment, January 31, 2013 1:22 PM
The shooter was probably mentally unstable. I bet he was because of the fact that he had been bullied.
Logan Thomas's comment, January 31, 2013 7:29 PM
Oh ok that makes since.
Scooped by Anna Kathleen Medlin
Scoop.it!

1:1000: baby, let's play house

1:1000: baby, let's play house | AKM's Bullying Opinions | Scoop.it
more...
Addy Hricik's comment, January 24, 2013 2:16 PM
The narrator isn't rude for not signing the card, but the narrator not signing the card shows that Billy hurt her feelings enough for her not to sign the card. It also tells you that she felt no sympathy for those who had shown none for her. I would sign the card because I would feel bad about for him losing his mother. But, a card couldn’t save his cruel personality, only he could change that. It sounds like a very realistic story because children are insensitive towards others who are obese, and often feel as if they should be bullied.
Carlin Weinberg's curator insight, January 24, 2013 4:47 PM

This story seems realistic, yet not. It is realistic beacuse of the actions of the kids. For instance, you might not sign the card if you hate someone. It is not realistic because I don't think kids would play with dead birds.

Jake Jamison's curator insight, January 24, 2013 8:42 PM

The card is for your "deepest sympathies" for Billy and his family. Dorothy pauses for a minute because Billy had been so mean to her, and then doesn't put anything. I think I would of been the same as Dorothy because he had been so mean to her. I would think this is a true story. My reasoning is that here is your usual bullying. Billy calls her names and then Dorothy doesn't do anything. Then you have Dorothy who returns the bullying when she doesn't sign the card. I would think many victims of bullying would try to bully the bully back.